MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#16
Billy Butler
AVG HR RBI
.286 4 30
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-0 / 260 NFBC ADP: 451.49
Position: DHBorn: 4/18/1986 Birthplace: Orange Park, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Royals (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 22 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Butler was placed on the 7-day concussion list Monday, an injury he reportedly suffered in a clubhouse altercation with teammate Danny Valencia.
Analysis: Butler is hitting .286 with four homers and 30 RBIs in 79 games this season.
Aug. 21 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Butler, who sat out the team's Saturday and Sunday games against the White Sox, was reportedly sidelined with an injury he sustained in an altercation with teammate Danny Valencia. According to the newspaper, no one with the team would confirm or deny the report. Valencia told the Chronicle after Sunday's 4-2 loss to the White Sox, "No comment. What happens in the clubhouse stays in the clubhouse."
Analysis: Manager Bob Melvin said Butler was out because of nausea and vomiting, adding that the player did not have the flu. In 79 games this season, Butler is hitting .286 with four homers and 30 RBIs.
Aug. 14 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Butler doubled twice and finished 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Saturday's loss to Seattle.
Analysis: Though he hasn't been playing every day, Butler is 18 for 38 (.474) over his last 11 games to raise his season average to .293. The veteran DH is hitting just .259 at home, though, compared to a .337 mark on the road.
Aug. 4 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-Butler's recent tear continued Wednesday as he went 2 for 4.
Analysis: He's gone 10 for 18 with two homers, a double and five RBIs in his last five games.
July 29 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-Butler had two hits with a RBI on Friday.
Analysis: Though this has been a rough season for the veteran slugger, Butler is 7 for 11 with four RBIs in his last three games.
July 26 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Butler's bat was alive again in Monday's loss at Texas, where he went 3 for 4 with an RBI double.
Analysis: Butler is starting to salvage his disappointing season by hitting .367 with a 1.008 OPS over his last 10 games. He finished 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs against Tampa Bay the previous day.
July 25 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE10:34 AM CT-Butler hit a tiebreaking solo homer in the eighth inning Sunday as part of his two-hit game.
Analysis: He's 4 for 12 with three runs scored over his last four games.
June 20 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Butler stayed hot by going 2 for 3 in Sunday's loss to the Angels.
Analysis: Butler is 8 for 16 over a five-game stretch that's raised his average from .228 to .269, though he still isn't contributing much in the power and run-producing categories.
June 13 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE12:21 PM CT-Butler matched a season high with three hits - including a double - in Sunday's 6-1 win at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Butler had been 1 for 11 over his previous six games. He's been limited to part-time duty, hitting just .253 with two home runs and 16 RBIs on the season.
June 7 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Zach Davies took a no-hitter into the seventh before allowing a two-out home run to Butler on Tuesday.
Analysis: Though no longer any everyday staple, Butler is 4 for 10 with five RBIs in his last five games.
May 11 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Butler ended an extended slump by going 3 for 5 and driving in a run in a 13-5 loss to Boston on Tuesday.
Analysis: Butler, now batting .229, was 5 for 33 (.152) in his previous 15 games.
Feb. 20 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Butler means business after a disappointing first season with the A's during which the veteran designated hitter batted .251 with 15 home runs and 65 RBIs.
Analysis: The 29-year-old Butler is confident his intense regimen all winter in Arizona will only benefit him early in spring after he was limited last year at this time because of wrist injuries that didn't allow him to swing a bat right away.

w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.