MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#55
Russell Martin
AVG HR RBI
.284 5 36
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 5-10 / 205 NFBC ADP: 263.70
Position: CBorn: 2/15/1983 Birthplace: East York, Canada
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 17th Round by Dodgers (2002)


Latest News
July 24 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Martin was 2 for 3 and drove in a run in Wednesday's 6-1 win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Martin is batting .333 over his last 18 games and has 12 RBIs in his last 14.
July 11 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Martin went 3 for 4 with a homer and two RBIs in Thursday's 9-1 win at St. Louis.
Analysis: Martin is batting .288 with seven homers and 16 RBIs in 21 games against the Cardinals since the start of last year.
June 7 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Martin broke out of his slump with three hits and four RBIs in a 15-5 win over Milwaukee on Friday.
Analysis: Martin had been 4 for 25 with two RBIs over his previous eight games.
May 22 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates have designated struggling left-handed pitcher Wandy Rodriguez for assignment and activated Martin from the disabled list.
Analysis: Martin hasn't played since straining his left hamstring against St. Louis on April 25. He will have to serve a one-game suspension for his role in a brawl against the Milwaukee Brewers last month.
Apr. 26 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET14:48 ET18:48 GMT2:48 11:48 AM MST1:48 PM EST2:18 PM VEN22:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates placed Martin on the 15-day disabled list with a strained left hamstring and were successful in a second attempt at putting closer Jason Grilli on the DL with a left oblique strain.
Analysis: Martin was injured in the sixth inning of Friday's 1-0 loss to the Cardinals. He complained about hip pain and was sent back to Pittsburgh for an MRI exam Saturday to see if the two ailments are connected.
Apr. 22 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Major League Baseball has suspended four players involved in last Sunday's brawl between the Pittsburgh Pirates and the Milwaukee Brewers, including Martin.
Analysis: Martin will be banned one game for the Bucs, but he will appeal.
Apr. 10 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Martin and Pedro Alvarez each homered twice Wednesday but the Pittsburgh Pirates fell 7-5 at the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: It was the first two homers of the season for Martin, who is batting .292 and has six RBIs during a four-game streak.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 LAD 121 415 65 117 26 4 10 65 45 57 10 5 .282 .355 .436
2007 LAD 151 540 87 158 32 3 19 87 67 89 21 9 .293 .374 .469
2008 LAD 155 553 87 155 25 0 13 69 90 83 18 6 .280 .385 .396
2009 LAD 143 505 63 126 19 0 7 53 69 80 11 6 .250 .352 .329
2010 LAD 97 331 45 82 13 0 5 26 48 61 6 2 .248 .347 .332
2011 NYY 125 417 57 99 17 0 18 65 50 81 8 2 .237 .324 .408
2012 NYY 133 422 50 89 18 0 21 53 53 95 6 1 .211 .311 .403
2013 Pit 127 438 51 99 21 0 15 55 58 108 9 5 .226 .327 .377
2014 Pit 64 215 26 61 8 0 5 36 38 53 3 4 .284 .416 .391
Career 1116 3836 531 986 179 7 113 509 518 707 92 40 .257 .353 .396

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 LAD Total 3 12 2 4 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .333 .385 .333
    LDS 3 12 2 4 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .333 .385 .333
2008 LAD Total 8 30 5 6 3 0 1 6 4 10 1 0 .200 .333 .400
    LDS 3 13 2 4 3 0 1 5 1 3 0 0 .308 .357 .769
    LCS 5 17 3 2 0 0 0 1 3 7 1 0 .118 .318 .118
2009 LAD Total 8 25 2 5 1 0 0 3 4 4 0 0 .200 .355 .240
    LDS 3 9 0 1 0 0 0 1 3 1 0 0 .111 .385 .111
    LCS 5 16 2 4 1 0 0 2 1 3 0 0 .250 .333 .313
2011 NYY Total 5 17 3 3 1 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .176 .333 .235
    LDS 5 17 3 3 1 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .176 .333 .235
2012 NYY Total 9 31 3 5 1 0 1 1 3 5 0 0 .161 .235 .290
    LDS 5 17 2 3 1 0 1 1 3 2 0 0 .176 .300 .412
    LCS 4 14 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2013 Pit Total 6 17 2 5 0 0 2 6 3 5 0 0 .294 .364 .647
    LDS 5 13 0 2 0 0 0 4 3 5 0 0 .154 .278 .154
    WC 1 4 2 3 0 0 2 2 0 0 0 0 .750 .750 2.250
Career 39 132 17 28 6 0 4 16 17 30 1 0 .212 .325 .348


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.