MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#56
J.P. Howell
ERA S K
8.31 0 5
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 180
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1983 Birthplace: Modesto, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Royals (2004)


Latest News
June 5 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Howell has been placed on the 10-day disabled list due to a sore left shoulder.
Analysis: It's the second DL stint this season for the lefty reliever, who was sidelined a little over two weeks in April with a similar issue. With an 8.31 ERA and a 2.19 WHIP over 13 appearances, Howell's absence carries no fantasy significance.
June 3 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 7-0 on Saturday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 2.19 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-J.P. Howell allowed three runs on three hits in 1.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 12-2 on Thursday. Howell struck out three, ending the game with an 8.64 ERA and 2.28 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cincinnati Reds 17-2 on Monday. Howell struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
May 28 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Sunday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 2.65 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed two runs on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-6 on Monday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-0 on Tuesday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.67 WHIP on the season.
May 6 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-1 on Saturday. Howell struck out one, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-J.P. Howell did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Friday. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 20.25 ERA and 3.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-J.P. Howell allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Thursday in the opener of a doubleheader. Howell did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 81.00 ERA and 15.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Howell (sore left shoulder) was taken off the 10-day disabled list Tuesday.
Analysis: Howell was placed on the DL two days after failing to retire any of the four batters he faced while taking the loss at Tampa Bay on April 7 in his second appearance of the season.
Feb. 9 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Howell and the Toronto Blue Jays have finalized a $3 million, one-year contract.
Analysis: The 33-year-old pitched for the Blue Jays from 2006-12, then spent the last four seasons with the Los Angeles Dodgers. He was 1-1 last year with a 4.09 ERA, his highest since 2011. He struck out 44 and walked 15 in 50 2/3 innings. Howell started his big league career with Kansas City in 2005 and has a 35-29 record with a 3.77 ERA in 33 starts and 498 relief appearances.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.