MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#38
Michael Morse
AVG HR RBI
.219 2 7
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-5 / 245 NFBC ADP: 248.85
Position: 1BBorn: 3/22/1982 Birthplace: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by White Sox (2000)


Latest News
Dec. 17 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Morse and the Miami Marlins have finalized a $16 million, two-year contract. Morse gets a $1 million signing bonus and salaries of $7 million next season and $8 million in 2016 under the agreement announced Wednesday.
Analysis: Morse hit .279 with 16 homers and 61 RBI in 131 games for the World Series champion San Francisco Giants this year. He batted .300 in the postseason and had four RBIs in the World Series. The Marlins expect the Broward County native to replace Garrett Jones as their first baseman and to bat cleanup.
Dec. 16 8:06 AM PT9:06 AM MT10:06 AM CT11:06 AM ET11:06 ET16:06 GMT0:06 9:06 AM MST11:06 AM EST11:36 AM VEN20:06 UAE10:06 AM CT-A person familiar with the negotiations says Morse has agreed to a two-year contract with the Miami Marlins pending a physical. The person confirmed the deal to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because it had not been finalized.
Analysis: Last season Morse hit .279 with 16 homers and 61 RBIs in 131 games for the World Series champion San Francisco Giants. He batted .300 in the postseason and had four RBIs in the World Series. The deal is the latest in a busy offseason for the Marlins. They signed Giancarlo Stanton to a record $325 million contract, and then traded for All-Star second baseman Dee Gordon, right-hander Mat Latos and right-hander Dan Haren, who has indicated he might retire.
Oct. 10 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-The San Francisco Giants expect to add Michael Morse to the roster for the NL Championship Series.
Analysis: Giants manager Bruce Bochy said Friday that Morse looked good playing in the instructional league, saying that he had homered. Morse was en route to St. Louis, where the best-of-seven series starts Saturday night.
Oct. 3 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Morse, who played for Washington from 2009-12, was not on the Giants' roster for the NLDS.
Analysis: He hit .279 with 16 homers and 61 RBIs this season, but he's taken only two at-bats since Aug. 31, because of a strained oblique muscle.
July 19 11:14 AM PT12:14 PM MT1:14 PM CT2:14 PM ET14:14 ET18:14 GMT2:14 11:14 AM MST1:14 PM EST1:44 PM VEN22:14 UAE1:14 PM CT-Morse rocked the fantasy world Friday.
Analysis: Morse had three of San Francisco's 13 hits with two runs scored.
June 24 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Morse was 1 for 3 in Monday's loss to San Diego, staying hot.
Analysis: Morse is batting .350 over his last 11 games.
June 22 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET20:50 ET0:50 GMT8:50 5:50 PM MST7:50 PM EST8:20 PM VEN4:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Morse left Saturday's game in the bottom of the fifth inning with back tightness after an awkward swing at the plate.
Analysis: Morse said it was nothing serious, though he received the day off Sunday.
June 1 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET19:22 GMT3:22 12:22 PM MST2:22 PM EST2:52 PM VEN23:22 UAE2:22 PM CT-Morse has been scratched from the lineup Sunday against St. Louis after fouling a ball off his left foot during batting practice.
Analysis: Morse was replaced in Sunday's lineup against St. Louis by Joaquin Arias. Morse is hitting .295 with 11 home runs and 38 RBIs.
May 30 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Morse went 2 for 4 with a home run, double and four RBIs in Thursday's win in St. Louis.
Analysis: After seeing his average drop to .263, Morse has responded with a 9-for-16 stretch with seven extra-base hits and eight RBIs over five games.
May 26 10:57 AM PT11:57 AM MT12:57 PM CT1:57 PM ET13:57 ET17:57 GMT1:57 10:57 AM MST12:57 PM EST1:27 PM VEN21:57 UAE12:57 PM CT-Morse went 3 for 3 with three doubles and four RBIs in Sunday's win over Minnesota.
Analysis: He's batting .375 in his last 10 games.
May 4 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Morse went deep again in Saturday's 3-2 win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Morse, who also homered Friday, is tied with Brandon Belt for the team lead with eight.
May 3 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Morse went 2 for 4 with a homer in Friday's 2-1 win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Morse now has seven homers, five of which have come on the road. He's been a pleasant surprise for fantasy owners thus far.
Apr. 29 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Morse had three hits, including a two-run single, in a 6-4 loss to San Diego on Monday.
Analysis: Morse, now batting .300, is 8 for 20 with three homers and eight RBIs in his last six games.
Apr. 26 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Morse connected on his sixth homer of the year and third in two games Friday against Cleveland.
Analysis: Morse has seven RBIs over his last six games including six in the last two.
Apr. 24 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Morse went deep twice on Wednesday against Colorado for his seventh career multihomer game.
Analysis: Morse has seemingly rejuvenated his career in San Francisco, boast a .897 OPS and 15 RBIs through 22 games.
Apr. 12 11:05 AM PT12:05 PM MT1:05 PM CT2:05 PM ET14:05 ET18:05 GMT2:05 11:05 AM MST1:05 PM EST1:35 PM VEN22:05 UAE1:05 PM CT-Morse extended his hit streak to nine games with a single in a 6-5 win over Colorado on Friday.
Analysis: The San Francisco outfielder is 12 for 27 (.444) with six extra-base hits and 10 RBIs during his run. He also has an OPS of 1.315. He's batting .394 in 11 games this season.
Apr. 11 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Morse hit a pair of doubles and drove in two runs in a 6-5 loss in 10 innings to Arizona on Thursday, extending his hit streak to eight games.
Analysis: Morse is 11 for 24 (.458) with four doubles, two homers and 10 RBIs during his streak. He also has an OPS of 1.375.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.