MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Cole Hamels
ERA W-L K
2.59 7-6 158
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 192 NFBC ADP: 100.33
Position: SPBorn: 12/27/1983 Birthplace: San Diego, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Phillies (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 4 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Hamels lost for the first time in six starts Sunday despite giving up only an unearned run and four hits over seven innings in a 4-0 defeat at Washington.
Analysis: Hamels has been lights out in his last four starts, allowing just two earned runs in 30 innings, though the Philadelphia offense didn't provide any help on Sunday.
July 30 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Hamels turned in another gem Tuesday against the Mets.
Analysis: Hamels allowed six hits and struck out eight in the 6-0 win. He's 4-0 with a 1.47 ERA in his last five outings.
July 25 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Hamels won for the third time in four starts Thursday, limiting San Francisco to a run in eight innings in a 2-1 victory.
Analysis: Hamels owns a 1.88 ERA over his last four games, striking out 31 in 28 2-3 innings.
July 20 11:53 AM PT12:53 PM MT1:53 PM CT2:53 PM ET14:53 ET18:53 GMT2:53 11:53 AM MST1:53 PM EST2:23 PM VEN22:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Hamels may have increased his trade value Saturday.
Analysis: Hamels held the Braves to four hits through seven innings. He won for the second time in three starts, giving up one run, striking out nine and walking none. He threw 71 of 95 pitches for strikes.
July 8 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Hamels won for the first time in six starts Monday, yielding one earned run and seven hits over 6 2-3 innings of a 3-2 victory at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Hamels had been 0-2 in his previous five starts despite a 2.10 ERA with a run-support average of 1.31.
June 27 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Hamels gave up three runs and six hits over seven innings in Thursday's 5-3 win against Miami, but came away without a decision.
Analysis: Hamels owns a 1.23 ERA over his last six outings but is just 1-1.
June 7 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Hamels gave up five hits with seven strikeouts over 7 2-3 innings in an 8-0 win at Cincinnati on Friday.
Analysis: Hamels has gone 2-1 with a 2.11 ERA in his last six starts.
May 18 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Hamels allowed one run and three hits with 10 strikeouts over seven innings in a 12-1 win over Cincinnati on Saturday.
Analysis: Hamels has given up just two runs with 20 strikeouts over 14 innings in his last two outings.
May 7 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Hamels was mediocre again in Tuesday's loss to Toronto.
Analysis: The southpaw was charged with five runs and 10 hits over six innings of work and owns a 7.02 ERA over three starts.
Apr. 30 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Hamels fell to 0-2 following a rough outing against the Mets on Tuesday.
Analysis: Hamels yielded six runs and eight hits while lasting just 4 2-3 innings and walking five. He's been hit or miss in two starts thus far, allowing two runs and six hits over six innings in a loss to the Dodgers in his season debut six days earlier.
Apr. 24 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Making his season debut, Hamels allowed two runs and six hits in six innings in Wednesday's 5-2 loss at Chavez Ravine.
Analysis: Hamels struck out five and walked just one in what has to be considered a solid performance after an injury-filled spring. He'll try to take another step forward against the Mets next week.
Mar. 28 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-The Philadelphia Phillies have activated Hamels from the disabled list to make his season debut against the Los Angeles Dodgers. The 30-year-old left-hander, sidelined for the first three weeks because of biceps tendinitis, attempted to get his 100th regular-season victory on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Hamels, the 2008 World Series MVP, entered 1-4 with a 9.55 ERA in his last five opening starts.
Feb. 26 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Hamels says he is encouraged and that his arm "feels really good" after he threw a bullpen session on Wednesday.
Analysis: The Phillies' ace had slowed down his rehab from biceps tendinitis after feeling discomfort earlier in spring. Hamels entered camp behind the rest of the pitchers after battling biceps tendinitis in November. Since he's roughly a month behind the other members of the Phillies staff, Hamels is likely to begin the season on the disabled list and could miss the majority of April, too.
Feb. 12 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET17:48 GMT1:48 10:48 AM MST12:48 PM EST1:18 PM VEN21:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Hamels said he won't be able to make his second straight opening day start after feeling discomfort in his pitching arm during the offseason.
Analysis: Hamels said he no longer is feeling any pain or discomfort, but is "eight to 10 days" behind the rest of the pitchers in camp. Phillies pitchers and catchers reported to camp on Wednesday; they hold their first official workout on Thursday.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.