MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Robinson Cano
.287 21 79
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-0 / 212 NFBC ADP: 19.73
Position: 2BBorn: 10/22/1982 Birthplace: San Pedro de Macoris, DR
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2001)

Latest News
Oct. 13 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Cano has undergone surgery to repair core muscle injuries and is expected to be OK for spring training.
Analysis: Seattle general manager Jerry Dipoto made the announcement Tuesday after Cano's surgery was complete. The surgery was done in Philadelphia to fix injuries on Cano's left and right sides. The recovery time is expected to be six weeks. The 32-year-old Cano was diagnosed with a core muscle injury on his right side in late September. A later MRI showed the injury on the left side.
Oct. 4 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Cano pushed his hitting streak to 15 games Saturday.
Analysis: Cano homered and is batting .361 in the run.
Oct. 2 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Cano will undergo surgery to repair a sports hernia in two weeks and expects to be fully recovered by spring training.
Analysis: The Mariners' star second baseman, who will turn 33 on Oct. 22, plans to play in the final three games of the season before having surgery on Oct. 13.
Sep. 30 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Cano hit his 20th home run of the season in Tuesday's win over Houston.
Analysis: Cano has hit four in his last nine games and six more this year than his first season in Seattle. The problem is his average and on-base percentage are at their lowest since 2008.
Sep. 29 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Cano extended his hitting streak to 11 games with a 2-for-4 showing on Monday.
Analysis: Cano, who is hitting .318 during his streak, is tied with Ryan Zimmerman for the longest active hitting streak in baseball.
Sep. 23 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Cano homered twice and drove in four runs as the Seattle Mariners romped past the slumping Kansas City Royals, 11-2 Tuesday night.
Analysis: Cano hit a three-run shot in a seven-run third inning for his 15th career multihomer game. Cano's next hit will be the 2,000th of his career.
Sep. 21 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Cano went 2 for 4 with a homer and four RBIs to lead the way in Sunday's win over Texas.
Analysis: Eleven of Cano's 17 homers have come after the All-Star break and he's hit .326 with 39 RBIs in 59 games in the second half.
Aug. 31 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Cano went 2 for 4 Sunday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Cano is batting .429 with eight runs in his last 11 games.
Aug. 30 11:42 AM PT12:42 PM MT1:42 PM CT2:42 PM ET14:42 ET18:42 GMT2:42 11:42 AM MST1:42 PM EST2:12 PM VEN22:42 UAE1:42 PM CT-Cano was 4 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cano is sizzling with a 1.041 OPS in his last 10 games.
Aug. 24 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Cano had a two-run homer in Sunday's win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Cano continues to rake during this season's second half, as he's now hitting .333 with eight homers and 26 RBIs in 32 games since the All-Star break.
Aug. 23 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Cano was 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: The one-time fantasy bust has found his groove with a .926 OPS in his last 43 games.
Aug. 17 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Cano had a fun day Sunday at Fenway.
Analysis: Cano had five hits with a homer and three RBIs.
July 29 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Cano is out of the Mariners lineup Wednesday with an abdominal strain.
Analysis: Cano was scheduled to have an MRI on Wednesday, but was expected to travel with the team to Minnesota after the game. Brad Miller started at second base.
July 28 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-The Mariners hope Cano can stay hot after he went 2 for 3 with his 11th home run in Monday's loss to the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Cano has hit .410 with five homers and 12 RBIs over his last 10 games. He appears to be getting back to his career numbers after a slow start and should be in your lineup.
July 22 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Cano went 3 for 4 with a double and an RBI in Tuesday's win in Detroit.
Analysis: Cano is 8 for 15 in four games, and he's boosted his average from .238 at the end of June to .260 with a 25-for-71 mark in 17 games this month.
July 19 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Cano was 3 for 4 with two home runs in Saturday's win over the Yankees.
Analysis: It was the second baseman's first multi-homer game with Seattle.
July 8 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Cano went 2 for 6 with a home run in Tuesday's 7-6 win over Detroit.
Analysis: He's swinging the bat well so far this month, going 12 for 30 (.400) with two homers and five RBIs.
July 4 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Cano was surprisingly 3 for 5 on Friday.
Analysis: Cano is one of the biggest fantasy busts in recent memory so this was a surprising effort.
July 3 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Cano was 0 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Cano is at .143/.194/.179 against Oakland this year so he has been particularly awful against one of baseball's worst teams.
July 2 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Cano had his first four-hit game of the season Wednesday at San Diego, hitting his fifth homer and third in eight games.
Analysis: He's not setting the world on fire, but Cano's .311/.333/.600 line over his last 12 games dwarfs the .236/.277/.323 slash he posted previously.
June 27 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Cano was hit in the head by a stray ball while the Los Angeles Angels were warming up in between innings Saturday and left the game because of dizziness.
Analysis: Cano was taken to the clubhouse after being struck as the Angels' infield loosened up before the seventh inning.
June 27 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Cano hit his fourth home run and second in four games Friday against the Angels.
Analysis: Cano is 10 for 30 over his last eight games, but still batting a career-low .246 on the year.
June 23 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Cano stunningly homered for the third time Monday.
Analysis: Cano ended a 19-game homerless drought to raise his slugging percentage to .343 - the 17th-worst in the majors.
June 20 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Cano was 3 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Cano had one double and two singles as the fantasy bust looks to turn around his pathetic season.
June 12 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Cano doubled again Thursday.
Analysis: Cano has three doubles in his last three games after totaling one extra-base hit over his previous 80 at-bats. The fantasy bust is starting to show signs of life.
June 7 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Cano was terrible once again Saturday.
Analysis: Cano's struggles continued as he grounded into a double play to end the fourth inning and went 0 for 4. The former Yankees great has developed into an all-time fantasy bust and is not in Sunday's lineup.
June 6 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Cano was predictably awful once again Friday.
Analysis: Cano went 0 for 4 and has one extra-base hit in his last 76 at-bats. He's one of the biggest fantasy busts in recent memory.
May 31 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Cano was 2 for 4 and finally went deep for the second time this year Saturday against Cleveland.
Analysis: Cano has been a big disappointment this season, recording a paltry .653 OPS with 15 RBIs in 48 games. He's striking out a career-worst once every 6.41 plate appearances.
May 28 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Cano wasn't in the Seattle Mariners' lineup for the first time this season because of flu-like symptoms.
Analysis: Cano's first day off came Thursday night with the Mariners opening a four-game series against Cleveland. Manager Lloyd McClendon said the symptoms popped up overnight after the team had concluded its trip against Tampa Bay and returned to Seattle.
May 27 8:35 AM PT9:35 AM MT10:35 AM CT11:35 AM ET11:35 ET15:35 GMT23:35 8:35 AM MST10:35 AM EST11:05 AM VEN19:35 UAE10:35 AM CT-Cano was 2 for 5 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Cano's lowly .636 OPS and 37-game homerless streak have been much talked about in the sabermetrics' world. His WAR is still at plus-0.5 so he is not quite a complete lost cause, though another month or so of this glaring lack of power could make him one.
May 10 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Cano went 3 for 5 with an RBI in Saturday's 7-2 win over Oakland.
Analysis: Cano has gone 8 for 17 over his last four games.
May 6 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Cano went 3 for 5 with a double in Tuesday's 5-4 loss at the Angels.
Analysis: Cano had been 5 for 37 (.135) over his previous nine games.
Apr. 9 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Cano had two doubles Wednesday.
Analysis: Cano faces Oakland next and batted .333 against Billy Beane's pitchers in 2014.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.