MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Matt Cain
ERA W-L K
4.18 2-7 70
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230 NFBC ADP: 91.14
Position: SPBorn: 10/1/1984 Birthplace: Dothan, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Giants (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 1 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Cain says he needs surgery to remove bone chips from his elbow.
Analysis: Cain said Friday before the San Francisco Giants played the New York Mets that he's still assessing whether he will be able to pitch this season. But manager Bruce Bochy said odds are Cain will not pitch again in 2014. Cain has not pitched since July 9. He's been checked by Dr. James Andrews, Giants orthopedist Dr. Ken Akizuki and Mets orthopedist Dr. David Altchek. All three doctors were in agreement: the chips have to come out.
July 21 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Cain plans to meet with specialist Dr. James Andrews this week to get a second opinion on his injured elbow.
Analysis: Cain flew to Florida on Tuesday where he will be examined by Andrews. Cain, who has been on the disabled list since July 21 due to inflammation in his pitching elbow, will rejoin the team in New York on Friday. The one-time ace has a 4.18 ERA and has not pitched since July 9 when he went six innings to beat the Oakland Athletics.
July 10 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Cain allowed two runs over six innings to beat Oakland 5-2 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cain snapped a seven-start winless stretch, improving to 2-7 with a 4.18 ERA on the season. While he isn't nearly as dominant as in years past, he can still be useful in most fantasy formats.
July 5 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Cain lost for the fourth time in five starts Friday, allowing two runs over 6 1-3 innings in a 2-0 defeat at San Diego.
Analysis: Cain is 0-4 with a 4.65 ERA over his last seven outings.
June 29 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Cain had one of his best outings of the season Saturday against Cincinnati but could not pick up his first win since May 15.
Analysis: Cain (1-6, 4.38 ERA) tossed seven scoreless innings in a 7-3 defeat in 11. He was 0-3 with an 8.83 ERA in his prior three starts.
June 24 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Cain struggled again Monday in his third straight loss, surrendering six runs over 7 1-3 innings in a 6-0 defeat to the Padres.
Analysis: Cain owns an 8.83 ERA over his last three starts, giving up 20 hits in 17 1-3 innings.
June 6 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-The San Francisco Giants have activated right-hander Matt Cain from the 15-day disabled list.
Analysis: Cain was activated in time to start Friday's series opener against the New York Mets. Cain had been sidelined since May 22 with a strained right hamstring. He is 1-3 with a 3.66 ERA in eight starts this season.
May 30 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Cain has been placed on the 15-day disabled list with a strained right hamstring, one day ahead of his scheduled start against the St. Louis Cardinals. The move was made Friday, retroactive to May 22.
Analysis: Manager Bruce Bochy says Cain was willing to pitch but admitted he was still feeling something in the hamstring. Bochy says if it was mid-September and the Giants were in a tight race, Cain would have pitched.
May 25 11:11 PM PT12:11 AM MT1:11 AM CT2:11 AM ET2:11 ET6:11 GMT14:11 11:11 PM MST1:11 AM EST1:41 AM VEN10:11 UAE1:11 AM CT-Cain will miss at least one start because of a strained right hamstring.
Analysis: Cain left his previous start against Colorado last Wednesday when he felt a twinge in his hamstring on the last pitch of the third inning. Cain tested the hamstring out in a bullpen session Saturday, but manager Bruce Bochy said after the game that Cain will not start make his scheduled start on Monday against the Chicago Cubs. Yusmeiro Petit will start in Cain's place.
May 21 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Cain left the game after three innings Wednesday night against the Colorado Rockies with a strained right hamstring.
Analysis: The right-hander didn't surrender a hit before being replaced by Yusmeiro Petit. Cain also struck out three and hit Justin Morneau with a sailing fastball. Cain missed 13 games earlier this season after he cut his right index finger as he made a ham-and-cheese sandwich in the Giants clubhouse. The cut didn't require stitches.
May 12 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Cain didn't record a decision in Saturday's loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Cain surrendered two runs and three hits over five innings of work, slightly dropping his ERA from 4.35 to 4.25.
Apr. 29 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-The San Francisco Giants have reinstated Cain from the 15-day disabled list to start Saturday's game against the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: Cain missed two turns in the rotation. He last pitched on April 23 because of a cut on the tip of his index finger, which occurred in the clubhouse kitchen at AT&T Park when he tried to catch a knife that fell out of his hand.
Apr. 24 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Finally staked with some run support, Cain accordingly was shelled on Wednesday against Colorado, yielding seven runs and 10 hits over six innings.
Analysis: Of course, Cain had limited his previous two opponents to one earned run over 14 innings but wasn't provided with a single run of support. The Giants scored seven runs for him Wednesday but he didn't receive a decision.
Apr. 19 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Cain fell to 0-3 on Friday.
Analysis: The luckless Cain allowed four hits and one unearned run in seven innings while striking out eight and walking two. "It's tough," Cain said. "Any way you lose, it's not fun." His ERA is 2.88 so fantasy owners need to hang in there and hope for better results next week in Colorado for Cain.
Apr. 13 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Cain suffered a tough-luck loss Saturday against Colorado, falling to 0-2 on the season.
Analysis: Though he limited the Rockies to one run and four hits over seven innings while striking out eight, the Giants were shut out, leading to his defeat.
Apr. 7 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Cain received the loss after yielding five runs and six hits over six innings of Sunday's loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Cain surrendered three homers, which could be a concern for owners after he allowed a career-high 1.12 home runs per nine innings in 2013.

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.