MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Matt Cain
ERA W-L K
6.15 2-4 38
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230 NFBC ADP: 240.04
Position: SPBorn: 10/1/1984 Birthplace: Dothan, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Giants (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 28 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Cain was placed on the 15-day disabled list with irritation in his pitching elbow and received a cortisone injection to help it calm down.
Analysis: The move was made Friday and was retroactive to Wednesday. This marks Cain's second stint on the DL this season after he began the year with an elbow injury and missed 79 games.
July 8 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Cain bounced back nicely from a rough first outing Tuesday. He gave up two hits and struck out seven over six innings in a 3-0 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Cain allowed five runs and walked four in five innings in a 5-4 loss at Miami on July 2 in his first outing off the disabled list.
July 3 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Cain was shelled in his first start in nearly a year Thursday, giving up five runs over five innings in a 5-4 loss to the Marlins
Analysis: Cain allowed seven hits - including two homers - and walked four in his return from elbow surgery.
Apr. 7 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Manager Bruce Bochy said Tuesday that Cain is scheduled to start Thursday against the Miami Marlins.
Analysis: Cain hasn't pitched since July 2014. He underwent elbow surgery last year and has been sidelined this season with a strained flexor tendon.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.