MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#7
René Rivera
AVG HR RBI
.252 10 35
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 5-10 / 215 NFBC ADP: 666.23
Position: CBorn: 7/31/1983 Birthplace: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Mariners (2001)


Latest News
Sep. 30 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 2 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 9-0. The homer was his 10th of the season. Rivera scored twice. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Sep. 29 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 5-4. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Sep. 28 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Sep. 28 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Sep. 20 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 2 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-1. He ended the game with a .251 batting average.
Sep. 16 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
Sep. 14 7:03 AM PT8:03 AM MT9:03 AM CT10:03 AM ET10:03 ET14:03 GMT22:03 7:03 AM MST9:03 AM EST9:33 AM VEN18:03 UAE9:03 AM CT-Rivera went 2 for 2 with two doubles and two RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the New York Mets 17-5. Rivera scored twice. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: He's 11 for 26 with nine RBIs in nine games.
Sep. 10 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 3 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Sep. 8 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 with an RBI Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-2. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Sep. 5 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Sep. 3 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Sep. 2 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 5 with a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Atlanta Braves 14-12. The homer was his ninth of the season. Rivera scored twice. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera has started three of the last four games and gone 6 for 12 with five RBIs and three runs scored.
Aug. 31 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 3 for 5 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 17-3. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Aug. 27 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Aug. 24 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-2. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
Aug. 19 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-The Chicago Cubs have claimed veteran catcher Rene Rivera off waivers from the New York Mets. The 34-year-old Rivera is known for his defensive skills. He has thrown out 10 of 31 runners attempting to steal this season. He is batting .230 with eight homers and 23 RBIs in 54 games.
Analysis: The Cubs lost catcher Willson Contreras to a hamstring injury on Aug. 9. They got Alex Avila in a trade with Detroit last month and rookie Victor Caratini was promoted from the minors after Contreras went down, but the acquisition of Rivera gives them more insurance at the position.
Aug. 17 9:10 AM PT10:10 AM MT11:10 AM CT12:10 PM ET12:10 ET16:10 GMT0:10 9:10 AM MST11:10 AM EST11:40 AM VEN20:10 UAE11:10 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 5-3. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Aug. 11 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets topped the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Aug. 9 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the New York Mets lost to the Texas Rangers 5-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Aug. 5 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET20:52 ET0:52 GMT8:52 5:52 PM MST7:52 PM EST8:22 PM VEN4:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the New York Mets lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Aug. 3 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 2 with an RBI Thursday as the New York Mets fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-4. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera also walked and was hit by a pitch.
July 29 10:45 PM PT11:45 PM MT12:45 AM CT1:45 AM ET1:45 ET5:45 GMT13:45 10:45 PM MST12:45 AM EST1:15 AM VEN9:45 UAE12:45 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets beat the Seattle Mariners 7-5. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
July 23 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
July 20 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Mets topped the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
July 19 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
July 16 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Colorado Rockies 13-4. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
July 9 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
July 4 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE2:57 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Washington Nationals 11-4. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera has five hits in his last nine games, but four of them have left the yard.
July 2 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 2 Sunday as the New York Mets fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-1. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
June 30 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 4 Thursday as the New York Mets beat the Miami Marlins 6-3. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
June 26 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 5 with two home runs and three RBIs Sunday as the New York Mets beat the San Francisco Giants 8-2. The homers were his fourth and fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
June 23 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Mets lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
June 18 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Mets fell to the Washington Nationals 7-4. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
June 15 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 8-3. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
June 11 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 4 Sunday as the New York Mets beat the Atlanta Braves 2-1. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
June 10 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 Saturday as the New York Mets topped the Atlanta Braves 6-1. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 4 9:18 PM PT10:18 PM MT11:18 PM CT12:18 AM ET0:18 ET4:18 GMT12:18 9:18 PM MST11:18 PM EST11:48 PM VEN8:18 UAE11:18 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Saturday as the New York Mets beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 31 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-1. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 30 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 2 with a double and an RBI Monday as the New York Mets beat the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
May 27 10:05 AM PT11:05 AM MT12:05 PM CT1:05 PM ET13:05 ET17:05 GMT1:05 10:05 AM MST12:05 PM EST12:35 PM VEN21:05 UAE12:05 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 5 Friday as the New York Mets topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
May 25 8:21 AM PT9:21 AM MT10:21 AM CT11:21 AM ET11:21 ET15:21 GMT23:21 8:21 AM MST10:21 AM EST10:51 AM VEN19:21 UAE10:21 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the New York Mets fell to the San Diego Padres 6-5. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
May 23 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the San Diego Padres 9-3. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .305 batting average.
May 21 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 0 for 3 Saturday as the New York Mets topped the Los Angeles Angels 7-5. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 19 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the New York Mets topped the Los Angeles Angels 3-0. He ended the game with a .320 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera has hit safely in his last 11 games, batting .395 with two homers, 12 RBIs and five runs.
May 17 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the New York Mets fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera has taken advantage of more playing time due to Travis d'Arnaud's absence, hitting safely in 10 straight games while batting .410 with 11 RBIs. His prowess at the plate could mean d'Arnaud doesn't get back the everyday catching duties even when he's ready to return from a wrist injury.
May 16 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 with an RBI Monday as the New York Mets lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Analysis: The veteran catcher extended his hitting streak to nine games, a stretch in which he's batting .417 (15 for 36) with a home run and nine RBIs. With the way he's been swinging the bat, Rivera has a chance to remain the Mets' No. 1 catcher even when Travis d'Arnaud returns from a wrist injury.
May 14 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-9. He ended the game with a .323 batting average.
Analysis: In eight games since April 30, Rivera is batting .424 and his 14 hits are tied for sixth-most among catchers.
May 13 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 4 Friday as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4. He ended the game with a .328 batting average.
May 10 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Mets topped the San Francisco Giants 6-1. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera has been on a roll, batting .480 with six RBIs in his last six games.
May 8 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 4 Monday as the New York Mets topped the San Francisco Giants 4-3. He ended the game with a .321 batting average.
Analysis: Rivera is 10 for 21 with a homer, five RBIs and four runs during a five-game hitting streak.
May 7 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 1 for 3 Sunday as the New York Mets fell to the Miami Marlins 7-0. He ended the game with a .306 batting average.
May 6 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the New York Mets topped the Miami Marlins 8-7. Rivera scored once. He ended the game with a .304 batting average.
May 4 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Rene Rivera went 3 for 6 with three RBIs Wednesday as the New York Mets topped the Atlanta Braves 16-5. Rivera scored twice. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Apr. 30 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Rene Rivera went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 23-5. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.