MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#2
Melvin Upton Jr.
AVG HR RBI
.152 1 2
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 185 NFBC ADP: 385.99
Position: CFBorn: 8/21/1984 Birthplace: Norfolk, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Devil Rays (2002)


Latest News
June 11 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Upton Jr. was 0 for 4 and was booed before every at-bat Wednesday.
Analysis: Upton was making his first start since coming off the disabled list Monday.
Apr. 5 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-The San Diego Padres pulled off another blockbuster trade on the eve of opening day, acquiring All-Star closer Craig Kimbrel and outfielder Melvin Upton from the Atlanta Braves for outfielders Carlos Quentin and Cameron Maybin, plus two minor leaguers and a draft pick.
Analysis: The trade announced Sunday reunites Upton with his younger brother, Justin, who was obtained by the Padres in one of several trades general manager A.J. Preller made in a dramatic December makeover. Justin Upton is San Diego's starting left fielder. Melvin Upton was placed on the disabled list Saturday with a left foot injury.
Feb. 27 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-The San Diego Padres activated outfielder Melvin Upton Jr. from the 15-day disabled list and sent outfielder Abraham Almonte to Triple-A El Paso after Sunday's loss to Cincinnati.
Analysis: Upton will join brother Justin on the Padres. He'll be ready to play Monday night in Atlanta - he was traded by the Braves to San Diego for closer Craig Kimbrel in a multiplayer deal on April 5. Upton has been sidelined by an injured left foot. He hit .280 with one home run and six RBIs in 50 at-bats over 13 games during a medical rehab stint with El Paso.
Feb. 23 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET17:39 GMT1:39 10:39 AM MST12:39 PM EST1:09 PM VEN21:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-The centerfielder known as B.J. Upton through his first 11 major league seasons with Tampa Bay and Atlanta is now listed as Melvin Upton Jr. on the Atlanta Braves' roster.
Analysis: Upton's old initials stood for Bossman Junior, from his father Manny's nickname "Bossman." Upton's full name is Melvin Emanuel Upton. The 30-year-old has struggled in two seasons since signing a $75.25 million, five-year contract with the Braves. He hit .184 in 2013 and .208 last year.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.