MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#10
Edwin Encarnación
AVG HR RBI
.267 36 106
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 230 NFBC ADP: 24.67
Position: 1BBorn: 1/7/1983 Birthplace: La Romana, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Rangers (2000)


Latest News
Aug. 27 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 36th home run and upped his AL-best RBI total to 105 with three Saturday in an 8-7 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: He is 22 for 65 (.338) with six homers and 14 RBIs in his last 17 games. Encarnacion has a chance to surpass his career highs in both homers (42 in 2012) and RBIs (111 in 2015).
Aug. 20 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 35th home run in Saturday's win at Cleveland to move within one of Baltimore's Mark Trumbo for the major league lead.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 15 for 45 (.333) with five homers and 10 RBIs in his last 11 games. He leads the majors with 101 RBIs.
Aug. 16 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 34th homer and drove in three runs Tuesday to give him 100 RBIs on the season.
Analysis: He's batting .387 with four homers and nine RBIs in his last eight games, recording at least two hits five times in that stretch.
Aug. 14 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 33rd homer and raised his major league-leading RBIs total to 97 with a pair in Sunday's rout of Houston.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 10 for 22 with three home runs and six RBIs in his last six games. He's about to reach 100 RBIs for the fourth time in five seasons after failing to do so in his first seven in the majors.
Aug. 12 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Encarnacion's 32nd homer Friday gave him 300 for his career.
Analysis: He now has 95 RBIs on the season and is 6 for 16 with two homers and four RBIs in his last four games.
Aug. 8 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Encarnacion hit his 299th career home run for one of his three hits as the Blue Jays snapped a three-game losing streak against the Rays on the Monday.
Analysis: The Toronto slugger was just 6 for 32 over his previous eight contests.
Aug. 5 12:04 PM PT1:04 PM MT2:04 PM CT3:04 PM ET15:04 ET19:04 GMT3:04 12:04 PM MST2:04 PM EST2:34 PM VEN23:04 UAE2:04 PM CT-Encarnacion reached 30 home runs for the fifth straight season and the Blue Jays beat the Astros 4-1 on Thursday night for their eighth win in 11 games. Since the start of the 2012 season, his 181 homers are tied with Chris Davis for the most in baseball.
Analysis: Encarnacion has homered three times and has three doubles during a seven-game hitting streak. The Jays begin a series with the Royals on Friday, a team he is batting .309 with a .972 OPS in 22 games against since 2014, including last season's ALCS.
Aug. 3 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Encarnacion hit a mammoth home run Tuesday, his 29th of the season in a 2-1 win in Houston.
Analysis: Encarnacion, whose 90 RBIs lead the majors, is one home run shy of his fifth straight 30-homer season. He has six homers and 15 RBIs in his last 12 road games, and Toronto has five games left on its current trip.
July 30 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Encarnacion had two hits with a RBI on Saturday.
Analysis: He is 6 for 16 over a four-game stretch.
July 29 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Encarnacion homered in the first inning Friday, during which he reached base three times and scored twice in the 6-5 win over Baltimore.
Analysis: Encarnacion has split his 28 home runs between home and the road.
July 24 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Encarnacion continued his power surge with his 27th home run Sunday in an 2-0 win over Seattle.
Analysis: Encarnacion, the major league leader with 87 RBIs, hit the 224th home run as a member of the Blue Jays to move him into third place on the club's all-time list. He has six homers and 17 RBIs in 17 games this month.
July 21 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Encarnacion maintained his power stroke in the desert Wednesday with a two-run shot, his 26th home run of the season.
Analysis: He homered in both games of the Arizona series and has gone deep nine times in his last eight games at Chase Field while batting .448. Encarnacion has four homers in his past seven games overall while collecting nine RBIs, pushing his MLB-best total to 86.
July 20 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Encarnacion hit a three-run homer in the Blue Jays' 5-1 victory in Arizona on Tuesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has eight homers and 15 RBIs in his last seven games in Arizona. He's gone deep three times in his last six overall to reach 25 homers, and his 84 RBIs lead the majors by a wide margin.
July 17 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 4 with his 24th home run in Saturday's 5-4 loss at Oakland.
Analysis: Encarnacion had gone 2 for 15 with a homer in his previous four games.
July 10 10:02 AM PT11:02 AM MT12:02 PM CT1:02 PM ET13:02 ET17:02 GMT1:02 10:02 AM MST12:02 PM EST12:32 PM VEN21:02 UAE12:02 PM CT-Encarnacion will serve his one-game suspension for making contact with umpire Vic Carapazza, sitting out Toronto's final game before the All-Star break, Sunday against Detroit.
Analysis: An All-Star for the third time this season, Encarnacion is hitting .267 with a team-high 23 home runs. He leads the majors with 80 RBIs. He was suspended for bumping Carapazza's shoulder after being ejected after the first inning in Toronto's 19-inning loss to Cleveland on July 1.
July 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Encarnacion hit a three-run homer Friday to extend his major league-leading RBI total to 80.
Analysis: It was the 23rd homer of the season for Encarnacion, who is batting .360 with four home runs and 18 RBIs in his last 14 games.
July 7 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Encarnacion came up big again with two hits - including a double - in Wednesday's 4-2 loss at Toronto.
Analysis: Encarnacion has gone 9 for 22 with a home run, three doubles and seven RBIs over his last five games.
July 6 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 4 and increased his major league-leading RBI total to 77 in Tuesday's win over the Royals.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 7 for 18 with seven RBIs in his last four games.
July 5 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Encarnacion was named an All-Star for the third time Tuesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion leads the majors with 76 RBIs and is batting .264 with 22 homers - third in the AL - in 84 games.
July 4 6:52 AM PT7:52 AM MT8:52 AM CT9:52 AM ET9:52 ET13:52 GMT21:52 6:52 AM MST8:52 AM EST9:22 AM VEN17:52 UAE8:52 AM CT-Encarnacion had a big day while he appeals his one-game suspension for making contact with an umpire. He had two doubles and three RBIs in Sunday's 17-1 win over the Indians.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 4 for 10 with six RBIs in his last two games.
July 3 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Encarnacion has been suspended one game for making contact with umpire Vic Carapazza during an argument Friday. Encarnacion, who leads baseball with 73 RBIs, is eligible to play while he appeals the penalty.
Analysis: Encarnacion was ejected for the first time this season for arguing with Carapazza after being called out on strikes to end the first inning of Friday's 19-inning, 2-1 loss to Cleveland. Encarnacion made contact with Carapazza's left shoulder after being ejected.
July 2 6:14 PM PT7:14 PM MT8:14 PM CT9:14 PM ET21:14 ET1:14 GMT9:14 6:14 PM MST8:14 PM EST8:44 PM VEN5:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Encarnacion belted a three-run homer and finished 2 for 5 in Saturday's win over Cleveland.
Analysis: The major league leader with 73 RBIs, Encarnacion has 11 with three homers over an eight-game tear in which he's batting .385.
June 30 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Encarnacion chipped in with two hits - including a double - and an RBI in Wednesday's 5-3 win at Colorado.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .393 with eight home runs and 22 RBIs over his last 16 games.
June 28 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Encarnacion homered twice in the Blue Jays' 9-5 loss to the Rockies on Monday night.
Analysis: It's been quite a recent stretch for one of the game's best sluggers, who has nine homers and an absurd 1.438 OPS in his last 15 games.
June 25 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Encarnacion went 3 for 4 with four RBIs and two runs scored in Toronto's 10-8 win over the White Sox on Saturday.
Analysis: He entered in a 1-for-15 slump and had been limited to one RBI in his previous six games.
June 23 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE11:45 AM CT-Encarnacion belted his 19th home run in Wednesday's 5-2 victory over visiting Arizona.
Analysis: Encarnacion is batting .385 with seven homers and 15 RBIs over his last 11 games.
June 17 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Encarnacion failed to homer for the first time in four games but had another big offensive night Friday for the red-hot Blue Jays with two hits and three runs scored.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 13 for 27 (.481) with six home runs, 14 RBIs and 15 runs scored in his last seven games - all wins.
June 17 11:18 AM PT12:18 PM MT1:18 PM CT2:18 PM ET14:18 ET18:18 GMT2:18 11:18 AM MST1:18 PM EST1:48 PM VEN22:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-The scorching-hot Encarnacion homered for the third straight game Thursday in a win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Encarnacion has six home runs in his last six games with 14 RBIs and 12 runs scored. He's 11 for 24 (.458) with six walks in that span.
June 16 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Encarnacion continued his torrid stretch Wednesday, clubbing his 17th home run of the year and scoring three times in Wednesday's 7-2 win in Philadelphia.
Analysis: The veteran slugger has five homers and 10 RBIs over his last five games while batting .450 with five walks. He's scored 10 runs and even stolen two bases in that span.
June 14 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Encarnacion returned with a bang Tuesday after missing one game for a sore right index finger, contributing a two-run homer and a double in an 11-3 win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Encarnacion remains on fire, collecting four home runs, three doubles and nine RBIs in his last four games.
June 13 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Encarnacion is not in the lineup Monday after jamming his right index finger on a slide into third base on Sunday.
Analysis: Encarnacion homered three times in six plate appearances on Friday and Saturday. We don't expect him to miss much more time.
June 12 8:27 AM PT9:27 AM MT10:27 AM CT11:27 AM ET11:27 ET15:27 GMT23:27 8:27 AM MST10:27 AM EST10:57 AM VEN19:27 UAE10:27 AM CT-Encarnacion jacked more two home runs and added a double in Toronto's 11-6 home win over Baltimore on Saturday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has three home runs and six RBIs over his last two games.
June 11 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Encarnacion halted an 0-for-19 slump with a walk-off homer in the 10th inning of the Blue Jays' 4-3 win over the Orioles on Friday.
Analysis: It was the 13th home run for Encarnacion and 48th RBI, which is tied for fourth in the majors, but his batting average is at a season-low .233.
June 4 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Encarnacion finished 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in Friday's win at Boston.
Analysis: The Toronto slugger has now knocked in 12 runs over his last nine games. Encarnacion is also riding a six-game hitting streak in which he's 8 for 22 with a pair of homers.
May 20 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 4 with a two-run homer Thursday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has hit safely in five straight with jacks in the last two.
May 6 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Encarnacion homered, doubled twice and drove in six runs, powering the Toronto Blue Jays past the Texas Rangers 12-2 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Encarnacion's three-run shot with two outs in the third was his 202nd home run for the Blue Jays, tying former AL MVP George Bell for fifth on the club's career list. The six RBIs were the most in a game by a Toronto player since Encarnacion had nine against Detroit last Aug. 29.
May 5 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Encarnacion had two hits, including a key two-run homer in the sixth inning that helped spark Wednesday's 4-3 comeback victory over Texas.
Analysis: The long ball was just Encarnacion's fourth this season and he hasn't been hitting well of late, owning a .152 average over his past 13 games.
Apr. 16 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 4 with two home runs in Friday's loss in Boston.
Analysis: Encarnacion finally left the yard after going without a home run in his first 10 games.
Apr. 4 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Encarnacion had two hits and two RBIs in a 5-3 win over Tampa Bay in Toronto's season opener Sunday.
Analysis: Because of injuries, Encarnacion did not have an at-bat in a major league exhibition game during spring training. He drove in a career-best 111 runs last season while hitting 39 homers.
Mar. 17 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Encarnacion (strained oblique) participated in pregame warmup exercises Thursday.
Analysis: No timeline has been set for his return.
Mar. 15 7:52 AM PT8:52 AM MT9:52 AM CT10:52 AM ET10:52 ET14:52 GMT22:52 7:52 AM MST9:52 AM EST10:22 AM VEN18:52 UAE8:52 AM CT-Encarnacion will be sidelined for at least a week because of a strained side.
Analysis: Manager John Gibbons calls it a "minor oblique problem" and expects Encarnacion to be ready for the April 3 opener at Tampa Bay. The two-time All-Star first baseman-designated hitter was expected to make his spring training debut this week. Encarnacion already has missed more than two weeks recovering from an abscessed tooth that was pulled Feb. 28.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 Cin 69 211 25 49 16 0 9 31 20 60 3 0 .232 .308 .436
2006 Cin 117 406 60 112 33 1 15 72 41 78 6 3 .276 .359 .473
2007 Cin 139 502 66 145 25 1 16 76 39 86 8 1 .289 .356 .438
2008 Cin 146 506 75 127 29 1 26 68 61 102 1 0 .251 .340 .466
2009 Cin 43 139 10 29 6 1 5 16 24 38 1 1 .209 .333 .374
2009 Tor 42 154 25 37 5 1 8 23 13 29 1 0 .240 .306 .442
2009 Tot 85 293 35 66 11 2 13 39 37 67 2 1 .225 .320 .410
2010 Tor 96 332 47 81 16 0 21 51 29 60 1 0 .244 .305 .482
2011 Tor 134 481 70 131 36 0 17 55 43 77 8 2 .272 .334 .453
2012 Tor 151 542 93 152 24 0 42 110 84 94 13 3 .280 .384 .557
2013 Tor 142 530 90 144 29 1 36 104 82 62 7 1 .272 .370 .534
2014 Tor 128 477 75 128 27 2 34 98 62 82 2 0 .268 .354 .547
2015 Tor 146 528 94 146 31 0 39 111 77 98 3 2 .277 .372 .557
2016 Tor 130 487 83 130 29 0 36 106 69 115 2 0 .267 .360 .548
Career 1483 5295 813 1411 306 8 304 921 644 981 56 13 .266 .352 .500

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Tor Total 11 40 5 11 2 0 1 5 7 8 0 0 .275 .383 .400
    LDS 5 18 3 6 1 0 1 3 5 1 0 0 .333 .478 .556
    LCS 6 22 2 5 1 0 0 2 2 7 0 0 .227 .292 .273
Career 11 40 5 11 2 0 1 5 7 8 0 0 .275 .383 .400


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.