MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#57
Francisco Rodríguez
ERA S K
3.24 44 52
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-0 / 180 NFBC ADP: 134.20
Position: RPBorn: 1/7/1982 Birthplace: Caracas, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (1998)


Latest News
Sep. 12 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-K-Rod moved back into a tie for the AL lead in saves with his 41st Monday in a 4-2 win over lowly Minnesota.
Analysis: He is 2-0 with a 0.77 ERA and nine saves in his last 11 appearances, allowing six hits in 11 2/3 innings.
Sep. 9 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Rodriguez pitched a perfect ninth Friday against the Orioles for his 40th save in 44 chances. He is tied with Baltimore's Zach Britton for the AL lead in saves.
Analysis: Rodriguez has allowed one run over 10 2/3 innings in his past 10 outings.
Sep. 6 7:17 AM PT8:17 AM MT9:17 AM CT10:17 AM ET10:17 ET14:17 GMT22:17 7:17 AM MST9:17 AM EST9:47 AM VEN18:17 UAE9:17 AM CT-Rodriguez allowed a run in the 11th before securing his 39th save in Monday's win over the White Sox.
Analysis: He moved past John Franco for fourth on the saves list with 425.
Aug. 30 6:52 AM PT7:52 AM MT8:52 AM CT9:52 AM ET9:52 ET13:52 GMT21:52 6:52 AM MST8:52 AM EST9:22 AM VEN17:52 UAE8:52 AM CT-Rodriguez pitched a perfect ninth Monday for his 37th save in 40 chances.
Analysis: Rodriguez earned his 423rd save, moving one ahead of Billy Wagner for fifth on the career list. He's second in the AL this season behind Zach Britton's 38 saves.
Aug. 25 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Rodriguez picked up his 35th save Thursday.
Analysis: Rodriguez, second in the AL in saves, is 35 for 38 in save chances this season.
Aug. 14 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Rodriguez bounced back with a scoreless ninth inning to record the save in Saturday's win at Texas.
Analysis: The veteran closer had allowed four runs over an inning of work in taking the loss in each of his last two appearances. Rodriguez has been quite reliable overall, having converted 33 of 36 save opportunities to rank second in the AL in that category.
Aug. 10 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Rodriguez allowed two runs in the 15th inning in Tuesday's 6-5 loss to the Mariners.
Analysis: Rodriguez converted 32 of his previous 33 save opportunities.
Aug. 5 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Rodriguez allowed one run but picked up his 31st save in Friday's 4-3 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Rodriguez has been sharp with a 1.13 ERA while converting 12 straight saves over his last 16 appearances.
July 22 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Rodriguez earned his 27th save with a perfect ninth in Friday's 7-5 win at Chicago.
Analysis: The save was the 413th of his career, leaving him nine shy of tying Billy Wagner for fifth on the all-time list.
June 1 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Rodriguez says he contracted the Zika virus over the offseason in his home country of Venezuela and advises potential Olympic athletes to educate themselves on the virus before heading to Rio de Janeiro.
Analysis: Rodriguez told ESPN.com on Tuesday that he wouldn't blame athletes for skipping the Olympics, and that "if they have plans to have kids in the future, you've got to think about it." Zika is a mosquito-borne virus linked to severe birth defects and possible neurological problems in adults. Rodriguez says he was bedridden for about two weeks with head and body aches, sore joints and other symptoms.
Apr. 24 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Detroit activated Rodriguez from the family medical emergency list.
Analysis: The reason for his absence was not disclosed.

w11 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.