MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
John Lackey
ERA W-L K
4.74 5-8 81
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-6 / 235 NFBC ADP: 162.50
Position: SPBorn: 10/23/1978 Birthplace: Abilene, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Angels (1999)


Latest News
June 23 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Lackey fell to 5-8, allowing two runs - one earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Friday. Lackey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The home run to Giancarlo Stanton was the 21st allowed by Lackey this season, two shy of his 2016 total. Eighteen have been solo. He matched a career-worst by allowing at least one home run in eight consecutive starts, something he also did while with the Angels in 2008.
June 18 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-John Lackey improved to 5-7, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1 on Sunday. Lackey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This was a long time coming for Lackey, who entered Sunday's matchup 0-4 with a 6.75 ERA over his previous five starts. The 38-year-old hasn't put together consecutive quality starts since April 6-12, so he'll be a questionable play when he next faces a Marlins team that reached him for five runs across six innings earlier this month.
June 12 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-John Lackey fell to 4-7, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 6-1 on Monday. Lackey struck out one, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey is 0-4 with a 6.75 ERA in his last five starts. He's allowed nine homers in 28 innings over those outings and a total of 19 on the season to rank among the major league leaders.
June 8 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-John Lackey fell to 4-6, allowing five runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Wednesday. Lackey struck out six, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey was once again hurt by the long ball. The 38-year-old right-hander has allowed 16 home runs.
June 2 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-John Lackey allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Lackey struck out six, ending the game with a 4.90 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey bounced back after dropping his previous two starts behind a 9.00 ERA.
May 28 7:49 AM PT8:49 AM MT9:49 AM CT10:49 AM ET10:49 ET14:49 GMT22:49 7:49 AM MST9:49 AM EST10:19 AM VEN18:49 UAE9:49 AM CT-John Lackey fell to 4-5, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Saturday. Lackey struck out five, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:24 AM PT8:24 AM MT9:24 AM CT10:24 AM ET10:24 ET14:24 GMT22:24 7:24 AM MST9:24 AM EST9:54 AM VEN18:24 UAE9:24 AM CT-Lackey fell to 4-4, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Monday. Lackey struck out six, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey is still inconsistent and frustrating for Chicago fans.
May 17 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-John Lackey improved to 4-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Tuesday. Lackey struck out three, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey earned his third win in his last four starts after pitching 5 1/3 innings, his second-shortest outing of the season.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-John Lackey improved to 3-3, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-1 on Tuesday. Lackey struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lacked had been struggling to keep the ball in the ball park, but he was fantastic in an outing where the Cubs really needed him to be.
May 4 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-John Lackey allowed three runs on nine hits in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Thursday. Lackey struck out six, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 5:36 PM PT6:36 PM MT7:36 PM CT8:36 PM ET20:36 ET0:36 GMT8:36 5:36 PM MST7:36 PM EST8:06 PM VEN4:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-John Lackey improved to 2-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Lackey struck out four, ending the game with a 5.10 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Lackey snapped his string of losses in three straight starts, though his ERA continued to climb. It's at 6.50 over his last three outings.
Apr. 23 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Lackey recorded seven strikeouts in six innings Sunday in Cincinnati, but lost his third straight start after permitting seven runs, five of which were earned.
Analysis: Lackey owns a 6.75 ERA over a string of two straight shaky starts but has fanned 26 in 24 innings thus far, so there is some good to take with the bad. The 38-year-old next faces one of his former teams, the Red Sox, Saturday in Fenway Park in a potentially challenging matchup.
Apr. 13 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Lackey allowed a leadoff homer, three other hits and struck out 10 in six innings of a 2-0 loss to the Dodgers on Wednesday.
Analysis: He has a 3.00 ERA through two starts.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.