MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
Víctor Martínez
AVG HR RBI
.291 26 82
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210 NFBC ADP: 267.22
Position: DHBorn: 12/23/1978 Birthplace: Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (1996)


Latest News
Sep. 23 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Martinez belted a pinch-hit, three-run homer in the opener of Thursday's doubleheader at Minnesota, then went 1 for 3 with a run scored to help the Tigers sweep the twin-bill.
Analysis: The homer was only Martinez's second in his last 26 games. He's hitting just .192 over his last 22.
Sep. 20 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Martinez was out of the lineup Wednesday for the second straight game after being hit by a pitch Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez is 5 for 28 (.179) with one RBI over his last eight games. He's batting .190 with two RBIs in his past 22 contests.
Sep. 18 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET20:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Martinez went 0 for 4 with an RBI in Sunday's 9-5 win at Cleveland as he continued to struggle offensively.
Analysis: Martinez is 5 for 28 (.179) with one RBI over his last eight games. He's batting .190 with two RBIs in his past 22 contests.
Sep. 17 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Martinez's recent struggles continued Saturday in a 1-0 loss at Cleveland as he went 0 for 3 with a walk and a strikeout.
Analysis: Martinez is 5 for 24 (.208) with no RBI over his last seven games, with Detroit going 2-5 in that span. He's batting .200 with just one RBI in his past 21 contests.
Sep. 10 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Martinez doubled in Saturaday's 11-3 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: Martinez, who homered in Friday's series opener, is 5 for 15 with a double lifetime against Sunday’s scheduled starter Chris Tillman.
Sep. 9 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Martinez hit a tiebreaking homer in the eighth inning as the Tigers beat Baltimore 4-3 on Friday night to pull even with the Orioles for the AL's second wild card.
Analysis: He's 5 for 16 over his last four games after going 4 for 32 in his previous nine contests. Martinez hadn't homered in his previous 14 games and had just two RBIs over that span.
Sep. 7 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Martinez singled twice and scored Wednesday. He stayed in despite limping off after he was thrown out at second base in the fourth inning.
Analysis: He's 4 for 12 over his last three games after going 4 for 32 in his previous nine contests. Martinez hasn't homered in his last 14 games and has just two RBIs over that span.
Aug. 31 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Martinez was 1 for 4 with two strikeouts in Wednesday's 3-2 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez is 2 for 16 in his last two games but is 10 for 31 lifetime against Danny Duffy, Kansas City's scheduled starter for Friday's opener. He is batting .121 in his last eight games versus the Royals.
Aug. 27 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Martinez threw his helmet onto the field from the dugout after being ejected from a game Saturday night. The Tigers designated hitter took strike one in the third inning from Angels left-hander Brett Oberholtzer, then turned to discuss the call with plate umpire Mike Everitt. After arguing for about 30 seconds, Everitt tossed Martinez, who then put his hands behind his back and continued to argue.
Analysis: Martinez eventually became more animated, and manager Brad Ausmus and teammate J.D. Martinez had to help him off the field. Martinez kept arguing from the dugout and flipped his helmet onto the field before voicing a final tirade at Everitt.
Aug. 25 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Martinez went 3 for 4 with two doubles and two RBIs on Thursday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 13 with a homer, four RBIs and five runs scored in his last three games.
Aug. 23 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Martinez homered for one of his three hits Tuesday.
Analysis: He was 0 for 7 in his previous two contests.
Aug. 15 8:21 AM PT9:21 AM MT10:21 AM CT11:21 AM ET11:21 ET15:21 GMT23:21 8:21 AM MST10:21 AM EST10:51 AM VEN19:21 UAE10:21 AM CT-Martinez went 3 for 5 with a two-run homer to help the Tigers to a key win at Texas on Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez went through an extended midseason slump, but he's clearly back on track. The veteran slugger has homered in four of his last 11 games and is batting .390 through his past 15.
Aug. 11 11:01 AM PT12:01 PM MT1:01 PM CT2:01 PM ET14:01 ET18:01 GMT2:01 11:01 AM MST1:01 PM EST1:31 PM VEN22:01 UAE1:01 PM CT-Martinez's hot streak continued Wednesday as he reached base in all four plate appearances with two singles and two walks.
Analysis: Martinez has reached safely in 20 consecutive games and is batting .422 in the last 12.
Aug. 7 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 in Sunday's 3-1 loss to the Mets.
Analysis: Martinez has reached base safely in 15 straight games, batting .373 with two homers and nine RBIs.
Aug. 5 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Martinez belted his 19th home run in Friday's 4-3 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Martinez has gone 11 for 24 with two homers and six RBIs over his last seven games.
Aug. 2 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Martinez had two hits, including a homer, and two RBIs in Tuesday's 11-5 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez has hit safely in eight of his last nine games, batting .412 with six RBIs.
July 28 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Martinez broke out by going 4 for 4 and contributing a two-run single to Wednesday's win at Boston.
Analysis: It's Martinez's first multihit effort since July 1. After enduring a 4-for-41 rut over his previous 12 games, the veteran slugger is 8 for 19 over his last 5.
July 18 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Martinez is searching for answers after an 0-for-3 effort in Monday's win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Martinez is 0 for his last 11 and in a 2-for-30 slump. His average is down to .294, its lowest since late April.
July 15 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Martinez drove in two runs with a tiebreaking infield single in the seventh inning as the Tigers beat Kansas City 4-2 victory Friday night.
Analysis: That was one of Martinez's two hits in 19 at-bats over his last five games.
July 9 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Martinez's solo homer in the eighth inning provided the difference in Saturday's 3-2 win at Toronto.
Analysis: The veteran entered the game in a 3-for-22 slump and was due for a breakout. Martinez still has amassed four homers and 13 RBIs over his last 12 games.
July 2 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-Martinez contributed three-run home runs from both sides of the plate in a 10-2 romp over the Tampa Bay Rays on Friday night.
Analysis: Martinez is 9 for 22 with four home runs and 11 RBIs in his last five games.
June 29 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Martinez had two hits and drove in two runs for the Tigers in their 10-3 win over the Marlins on Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez has had three straight multihit games, raising his average to .323. On Thursday, the Tigers begin a series with the Rays at Tropicana Field, where in 40 games Martinez is batting .370 - his highest average for any ballpark he has played in more than five times.
June 27 7:54 AM PT8:54 AM MT9:54 AM CT10:54 AM ET10:54 ET14:54 GMT22:54 7:54 AM MST9:54 AM EST10:24 AM VEN18:54 UAE9:54 AM CT-Martinez got back on track with a pair of home runs in Sunday's 9-3 loss to the surging Indians.
Analysis: Martinez had been struggling with a .176 average and no extra-base hits over his previous nine games.
June 17 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Martinez hit three home runs, the Tigers pounded out six as a team and Detroit rallied from an early hole to beat the Kansas City Royals 10-4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Martinez's average is up to a sterling .338 and he has a .945 OPS.
June 14 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Martinez, who does not have any major structural issues with his balky knee, did not start any of the three games this week against the White Sox, but pinch-hit in two of them.
Analysis: "We need Victor for the entire season," manager Brad Ausmus said.
June 13 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Martinez is out of the Tigers' starting lineup against the White Sox because of irritation in his right knee.
Analysis: Martinez had an MRI on Monday morning, and manager Brad Ausmus says it showed "no major structural issues." The 37-year-old Martinez says he isn't concerned and joked he is just "getting old." Martinez is hitting .333 with nine homers and 35 RBIs in 60 games.
June 5 8:27 AM PT9:27 AM MT10:27 AM CT11:27 AM ET11:27 ET15:27 GMT23:27 8:27 AM MST10:27 AM EST10:57 AM VEN19:27 UAE10:27 AM CT-Martinez delivered another multi-hit game Saturday, going 2 for 3 with a run scored in a win over the White Sox.
Analysis: V-Mart remains an absolute hitting machine at age 37. He's third in the majors with a .349 average and batting a torrid .412 with four homers and 12 RBIs over his last 13 games.
June 4 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Martinez had another big day at the plate Friday, finishing 3 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs in a win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Tops in the AL with a .344 average, Martinez is hitting a scorching .393 with three homers and seven RBIs over his last seven games.
May 30 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Martinez went 3 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez leads the AL batting race at .351 along with Boston's Xander Bogaerts.
May 29 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-Martinez had another productive game in Saturday's loss at Oakland, smashing a two-run homer and finishing 2 for 3.
Analysis: The 37-year-old hitting machine is 10 for 23 with two homers and seven RBIs over a six-game hitting streak that's raised his average to .341, second-best in the American League.
May 24 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Martinez had three hits, including the go-ahead single, in a 5-4 win against Philadelphia on Monday.
Analysis: Martinez, fourth in the AL with a .340 average, has five hits in his past two games after going 2 for 20 in his previous five contests.
May 13 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Martinez kept on raking in Thursday's loss at Baltimore, recording three hits and a pair of RBIs.
Analysis: Tied with teammate Nick Castellanos for the AL lead with a .362 average, Martinez is now a scorching 10 for 13 on Detroit's current road trip.
May 12 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Martinez had three more hits in Wednesday's loss at Washington.
Analysis: Martinez, third in the AL with a .348 average, was coming off a 4-for-5 effort on Tuesday. Perhaps more impressive was that he wasn't one of Max Scherzer's 20 strikeout victims Wednesday.
May 11 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Martinez had four hits and scored two runs in a 5-4 win against Washington on Tuesday.
Analysis: Martinez, third in the AL with a .333 average, was 1 for 11 in his previous four games.
May 2 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-A red-hot Martinez finished 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Sunday's win at Minnesota.
Analysis: The veteran slugger torched Twins pitching over the weekend, going 9 for 13 with five extra-base hits and six runs scored in the three-game series. Martinez is hitting a torrid .516 with three homers and nine RBIs over his last eight games.
May 1 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Martinez is sizzling with a.481 average and nine RBIs in his last seven games.
Apr. 30 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET19:22 GMT3:22 12:22 PM MST2:22 PM EST2:52 PM VEN23:22 UAE2:22 PM CT-Martinez went 4 for 5 with a solo homer and drove in two runs in a 9-2 victory in Minnesota on Friday night.
Analysis: It was the first four-hit game this season for Martinez, who is 11 for 23 (.478) in his last six contests. He has three homers, three doubles and eight RBIs during that stretch.
Apr. 28 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Martinez drilled a three-run jack Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez went 0 for 4 the next day in a bad effort.
Apr. 27 8:47 AM PT9:47 AM MT10:47 AM CT11:47 AM ET11:47 ET15:47 GMT23:47 8:47 AM MST10:47 AM EST11:17 AM VEN19:47 UAE10:47 AM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 with an RBI double in Tuesday's loss to Oakland.
Analysis: It's the third straight multi-hit game for V-Mart, who's 6 for 12 with a home run and three RBIs over that stretch.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2002 Cle 12 32 2 9 1 0 1 5 3 2 0 0 .281 .333 .406
2003 Cle 49 159 15 46 4 0 1 16 13 21 1 1 .289 .345 .333
2004 Cle 141 520 77 147 38 1 23 108 60 69 0 1 .283 .359 .492
2005 Cle 147 547 73 167 33 0 20 80 63 78 0 1 .305 .378 .475
2006 Cle 153 572 82 181 37 0 16 93 71 78 0 0 .316 .391 .465
2007 Cle 147 562 78 169 40 0 25 114 62 76 0 0 .301 .374 .505
2008 Cle 73 266 30 74 17 0 2 35 24 32 0 0 .278 .337 .365
2009 Cle 99 377 56 107 21 1 15 67 51 51 0 0 .284 .368 .464
2009 Bos 56 211 32 71 12 0 8 41 24 23 1 0 .336 .405 .507
2009 Tot 155 588 88 178 33 1 23 108 75 74 1 0 .303 .381 .480
2010 Bos 127 493 64 149 32 1 20 79 40 52 1 0 .302 .351 .493
2011 Det 145 540 76 178 40 0 12 103 46 51 1 0 .330 .380 .470
2013 Det 159 605 68 182 36 0 14 83 54 62 0 2 .301 .355 .430
2014 Det 151 561 87 188 33 0 32 103 70 42 3 2 .335 .409 .565
2015 Det 120 440 39 108 20 0 11 64 31 52 0 0 .245 .301 .366
2016 Det 148 536 62 156 22 0 26 82 49 88 0 0 .291 .353 .478
Career 1727 6421 841 1932 386 3 226 1073 661 777 7 7 .301 .366 .468

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Cle Total 11 44 6 14 2 0 2 7 4 8 0 0 .318 .388 .500
    LDS 4 17 2 6 1 0 1 4 1 3 0 0 .353 .421 .588
    LCS 7 27 4 8 1 0 1 3 3 5 0 0 .296 .367 .444
2009 Bos Total 3 11 0 2 0 0 0 2 1 2 0 0 .182 .250 .182
    LDS 3 11 0 2 0 0 0 2 1 2 0 0 .182 .250 .182
2011 Det Total 11 40 4 10 0 1 2 5 5 6 0 0 .250 .348 .450
    LDS 5 18 1 4 0 0 1 3 2 5 0 0 .222 .300 .389
    LCS 6 22 3 6 0 1 1 2 3 1 0 0 .273 .385 .500
2013 Det Total 11 42 9 17 4 0 1 5 1 3 0 0 .405 .432 .571
    LDS 5 20 5 9 2 0 1 2 0 2 0 0 .450 .450 .700
    LCS 6 22 4 8 2 0 0 3 1 1 0 0 .364 .417 .455
2014 Det Total 3 12 3 4 2 0 1 3 0 4 0 0 .333 .333 .750
    LDS 3 12 3 4 2 0 1 3 0 4 0 0 .333 .333 .750
Career 39 149 22 47 8 1 6 22 11 23 0 0 .315 .374 .503


w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.