MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
R.A. Dickey
ERA W-L K
3.98 8-8 105
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 444.12
Position: SPBorn: 10/29/1974 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Rangers (1996)


Latest News
Aug. 18 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)10:43 PM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 8-8, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Friday. Dickey struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey yielded three home runs in the sixth inning alone.
Aug. 13 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 8-7, allowing one run on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Sunday. Dickey struck out three, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey shut down one of baseball's hottest offenses as his knuckleball was working, as has been the case for much of the past two months. The 42-year-old owns an excellent 2.12 ERA and a 1.16 WHIP while delivering nine quality starts over his last 10 outings.
Aug. 5 10:53 PM PT11:53 PM MT12:53 AM CT1:53 AM ET1:53 ET5:53 GMT13:53 10:53 PM MST12:53 AM EST1:23 AM VEN9:53 UAE12:53 AM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 7-7, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Friday. Dickey struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The 42-year-old continues to be effective with his knuckleball, as he's now registered eight quality starts in his last nine assignments. Dickey is 3-2 with a 2.22 ERA during that strength and perhaps most impressively, he's only given up four homers in 56 2/3 innings.
July 30 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Dickey allowed one run - zero earned - on six hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Sunday. Dickey struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey tied his season high by going seven innings for the eighth time.
July 25 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 6-7, allowing four runs on five hits and five walks in 3.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-2 on Monday. Dickey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey began July with three straight very good starts but wound up with a no-decision in each. He's since dropped two in a row while permitting eight runs across 10 2/3 innings. The 42-year-old knuckleballer next faces a Phillies team he held to one run and three hits over seven sharp innings in a win on June 8.
July 19 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 6-6, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-2 on Wednesday. Dickey struck out five, ending the game with a 4.14 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Wednesday's outing snapped a five-start stretch in which Dickey allowed one or no runs. The knuckleballer was 2-0 with a 1.09 ERA and 1.00 WHIP in those games. In his previous start Friday, Dickey gave up one run and eight hits over six innings against the Diamondbacks. He'll make his next start against those same D-backs on Monday in Arizona.
July 14 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed one run on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Friday. Dickey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 7 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Friday. Dickey struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey retired his first 10 batters and took a no-hitter into the sixth before allowing a leadoff double. In four starts since yielding eight runs in five innings on June 13 during a loss at Washington, he is 2-0 with a 1.00 ERA.
July 1 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed one run on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Saturday. Dickey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since allowing a season-high eight runs in a loss at Washington, Dickey is 2-0 with a 0.90 ERA in his last three starts.
June 24 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)7:26 PM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 6-5, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1 on Saturday. Dickey struck out six, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey improved to 5-1 at SunTrust Park. He has won three straight home starts.
June 19 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 5-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the San Francisco Giants 9-0 on Monday. Dickey struck out six, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey had his best start of the season, matching a season best with seven innings and holding an opponent scoreless for the first time in 14 outings.
June 13 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 4-5, allowing eight runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 10-5 on Tuesday. Dickey struck out six, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey's road struggles continued as he dropped to 1-4 with a 6.88 ERA in six starts.
June 9 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 4-4, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Thursday. Dickey struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey's Ks were a season high, and he didn't not walk a batter for the first time in 12 starts as he won for the first time in six outings since May 2. "For whatever reason in my career, I've started slowly, and hopefully this is the beginning of the next four months of it being nice and tight," the knuckleballer said. Since he became a full-time starter in 2010, Dickey has a 4.54 ERA through May compared to 3.20 after that.
June 3 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed five runs on six hits and five walks in 5.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Saturday. Dickey struck out two, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey is 0-2 with a 6.31 ERA in his last six starts. He's walked 21 in 35 2/3 innings over that span.
May 29 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 3-4, allowing seven runs - six earned - on six hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-1 on Sunday. Dickey struck out two, ending the game with a 4.65 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey has walked 29 in 60 innings, but at least he didn't allow a homer for the first time in eight starts.
May 24 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed three runs on 11 hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Tuesday. Dickey struck out two, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed four runs - two earned - on eight hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 7-4 on Friday. Dickey struck out four, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-R.A. Dickey fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Sunday. Dickey struck out one, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 7 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-R.A. Dickey allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Sunday. Dickey struck out two, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Dickey has now allowed eight homers in 35 2/3 innings this season.
May 2 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 3-2, allowing three runs on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 9-7 on Tuesday. Dickey struck out three, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-R.A. Dickey improved to 2-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 7-5 on Thursday. Dickey struck out three.
Analysis: He has a 3.80 ERA and 1.39 WHIP in his first four starts.
Apr. 16 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Dickey gave up two runs and seven hits in six-plus innings with six strikeouts in a 4-2 win over the Padres on Saturday.
Analysis: That's much better than his first start, when he allowed 13 baserunners in 5 2/3 innings at Pittsburgh.
Apr. 16 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Dickey gave up two runs and seven hits in six-plus innings with six strikeouts in a 4-2 win over the Padres on Saturday.
Analysis: That's much better than his first start, when he allowed 13 baserunners in 5 2/3 innings at Pittsburgh.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.