MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#61
Josh Beckett
ERA W-L K
2.52 6-5 99
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230 NFBC ADP: 399.93
Position: SPBorn: 5/15/1980 Birthplace: Spring, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Marlins (1999)


Latest News
July 23 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Beckett struggled in Tuesday's 12-7 loss at Pittsburgh, though he wasn't the loser despite giving up four runs in just 3 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Beckett had posted a 1.74 ERA over his previous nine outings.
July 8 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Beckett was activated from the 15-day disabled list by the Los Angeles Dodgers to start Tuesday night's game at the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Beckett had been sidelined since July 7 because of an impingement in his right hip. The right-hander is 6-5 with a 2.26 ERA in 17 starts and pitched a no-hitter May 25 at Philadelphia.
July 7 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Beckett improved to 6-5 Sunday.
Analysis: Beckett allowed three hits before leaving after aggravating his sore left hip while running the bases in the fifth. "It was the start and stop. I just kind of tweaked it," he said. "It's been bothering me for a few weeks."
June 27 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Beckett had another scoreless effort but did not get a decision in a 1-0 win over St. Louis on Thursday night.
Analysis: Beckett (5-4, 2.11 ERA) pitched seven scoreless innings and gave up four hits along with two walks for the second straight outing. He earned the win in a 4-2 victory in San Diego on June 21.
June 22 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Beckett allowed four hits with eight strikeouts over seven shutout innings in Saturday's 4-2 win at San Diego.
Analysis: Beckett has a 1.58 ERA with 38 strikeouts in his last six starts, starting with his no-hitter at Philadelphia on May 25.
June 11 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Beckett allowed two hits in six scoreless innings of Tuesday's win in Cincinnati.
Analysis: He fanned seven and earned his first victory since his no-hitter on May 25 after losing his last two starts.
May 26 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Beckett fired the first no-hitter of his career in Sunday's 6-0 win at Philadelphia. He finished with six strikeouts and three walks while throwing 128 pitches.
Analysis: Beckett has turned back the clock this season, going 3-1 with a 2.43 ERA in nine starts.
May 14 11:26 AM PT12:26 PM MT1:26 PM CT2:26 PM ET14:26 ET18:26 GMT2:26 11:26 AM MST1:26 PM EST1:56 PM VEN22:26 UAE1:26 PM CT-Beckett earned a win while allowing an unearned run on four hits in Tuesday's 7-1 victory over Miami.
Analysis: It was Beckett's first victory since Sept. 30, 2012, overcoming a 14-start drought. He's at least pitched into the seventh inning in each of his last four starts and has a 1.67 ERA and .186 opponent average in his last six.
May 9 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Beckett remained winless for his 14th straight regular-season start Thursday despite a good outing versus San Francisco.
Analysis: Beckett, who gave up a run and five hits over 6 2-3 innings, owns a 4.12 ERA during his 14-start winless stretch. In that span he also owns a paltry 2.40 run-support average.
Apr. 26 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Beckett didn't record a decision despite yielding just two runs and four hits over a season-best eight innings Friday against Colorado.
Analysis: Beckett hadn't thrown more than five innings in any of his first three starts but was much more efficient Friday, needing just 99 pitches to get through eight frames and issuing no walks. He had walked eight batters in his previous 14 innings this season.
Apr. 21 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Beckett was solid again Sunday versus Arizona, yielding just one hit and two walks over five shutout innings while striking out seven.
Analysis: Though he's yet to record a victory - he's received just four runs of support in 14 innings - Beckett owns a 2.57 ERA through three starts.
Apr. 16 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Beckett pitched five scoreless innings Tuesday.
Analysis: Beckett walked five so that's a concern heading into Sunday's matchup with the D-Backs.
Mar. 22 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers placed pitcher Josh Beckett on the 15-day disabled list Friday.
Analysis: Beckett has a bruised thumb.
Mar. 15 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Beckett was limited to three scoreless innings Friday against the Cubs due to a sprained right thumb, which has troubled him for about two weeks.
Analysis: There were no further problems Saturday. "He's fine," manager Don Mattingly said. "He might not be where he wants to be. But he's still progressing."
Mar. 14 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Beckett left his start Friday against the Chicago Cubs after three innings because of a sore thumb on his pitching hand.
Analysis: Expected to be the Dodgers' No. 5 starter, Beckett allowed only an infield single to Emilio Bonifacio while walking two and striking out one.
Feb. 10 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Beckett said he will be ready for the start of the Dodgers' season after having a rib removed last July in a surgery to alleviate a nerve condition that was affecting his right arm.
Analysis: The right-hander is expected to battle newly acquired Paul Maholm for the fifth spot in the Dodgers' starting rotation this spring. Beckett, the fifth starter before last year's mid-season surgery, breezed through his first bullpen session Monday in Arizona. He threw 30 pitches with no sign of trouble.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2001 Fla 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 14 9 4 3 11 0 24 1.04 1.50
2002 Fla 6 7 0 - 0 23 21 0 107.2 93 56 49 13 44 2 113 1.27 4.10
2003 Fla 9 8 0 - 0 24 23 0 142.0 132 54 48 9 56 4 152 1.32 3.04
2004 Fla 9 9 0 - 0 26 26 1 156.2 137 72 66 16 54 3 152 1.22 3.79
2005 Fla 15 8 0 - 0 29 29 2 178.2 153 75 67 14 58 2 166 1.18 3.38
2006 Bos 16 11 0 - 0 33 33 0 204.2 191 120 114 36 74 1 158 1.29 5.01
2007 Bos 20 7 0 - 0 30 30 1 200.2 189 76 73 17 40 0 194 1.14 3.27
2008 Bos 12 10 0 - 0 27 27 1 174.1 173 80 78 18 34 1 172 1.19 4.03
2009 Bos 17 6 0 - 0 32 32 4 212.1 198 99 91 25 55 1 199 1.19 3.86
2010 Bos 6 6 0 - 0 21 21 0 127.2 151 89 82 20 45 3 116 1.54 5.78
2011 Bos 13 7 0 - 0 30 30 1 193.0 146 65 62 21 52 1 175 1.03 2.89
2012 Bos 5 11 0 - 0 21 21 0 127.1 131 75 74 16 38 2 94 1.33 5.23
2012 LAD 2 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 43.0 43 16 14 5 14 4 38 1.33 2.93
2012 Tot 7 14 0 - 0 28 28 0 170.1 174 91 88 21 52 6 132 1.33 4.65
2013 LAD 0 5 0 - 0 8 8 1 43.1 50 30 25 8 15 2 41 1.50 5.19
2014 LAD 6 5 0 - 0 19 19 1 111.2 90 38 34 16 36 2 101 1.13 2.74
Career 138 105 0 - 0 334 331 12 2047.0 1891 954 881 237 626 28 1895 1.23 3.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2001 Fla 4 7 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .429
2002 Fla 23 31 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 21 0 0 .032 .032 .065
2003 Fla 24 46 3 7 2 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .152 .170 .196
2004 Fla 26 44 2 7 1 0 0 2 2 18 0 0 .159 .196 .182
2005 Fla 29 59 5 9 3 0 1 6 7 17 0 0 .153 .239 .254
2006 Bos 33 7 2 3 0 0 1 3 0 2 0 0 .429 .429 .857
2007 Bos 30 11 1 2 1 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .182 .182 .273
2008 Bos 27 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Bos 32 5 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .800
2011 Bos 30 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Bos 21 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2012 LAD 7 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Tot 28 21 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .048 .048 .048
2013 LAD 8 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .125 .222 .125
2014 LAD 19 38 4 7 3 0 0 2 1 14 0 0 .184 .205 .263
Career 334 288 19 41 12 0 3 18 12 110 0 0 .142 .176 .215

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2003 Fla Total 2 2 0 - 0 6 5 2 42.2 21 10 10 3 12 1 47 2.11
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 2 1 1 0 5 1 9 1.29
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 3 2 1 19.1 11 7 7 3 2 0 19 3.26
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 1 16.1 8 2 2 0 5 0 19 1.10
2007 Bos Total 4 0 0 - 0 4 4 1 30.0 19 4 4 1 2 0 35 1.20
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 8 0.00
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 9 3 3 1 1 0 18 1.93
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 1 1 0 1 0 9 1.29
2008 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.1 22 14 14 7 6 0 14 8.79
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 9 4 4 2 4 0 6 7.20
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 13 10 10 5 2 0 8 9.64
2009 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 4 4 0 1 0 3 5.40
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 4 4 0 1 0 3 5.40
Career 7 3 0 - 0 14 13 3 93.2 67 32 32 11 21 1 99 3.07

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2003 Fla Total 6 11 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .182 .250 .182
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 3 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .250 .333 .250
    WS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 14 11 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .182 .250 .182


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 648 94 89 91.9 35.86
Curveball 560 80 65 73.1 30.99
Changeup 304 89 81 85.5 16.82
Cut Fastball 295 92 87 89.8 16.33

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.