MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Joe Nathan
0.00 1 1
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 228.83
Position: RPBorn: 11/22/1974 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Giants (1995)

Latest News
Nov. 3 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)3:49 PM CT-The Tigers have declined their $10 million option on Nathan, making the 40-year-old closer eligible for free agency.
Analysis: Detroit's decision to decline the option, which costs the team a $1 million buyout, was not a surprise. Nathan faced only one batter this year and missed the rest of the season with a torn ligament in his pitching elbow. Nathan signed with the Tigers before the 2014 season. He had 35 saves that year but posted a 4.81 ERA. The injury cost him any chance to rebound in 2015.
Apr. 22 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Nathan underwent season-ending Tommy John and flexor repair surgery Wednesday.
Analysis: Nathan, who is in the final season of a two-year $20 million contract with the Tigers, confirmed the surgery Thursday. He logged 35 saves in 2014 for the Tigers. With Nathan out, Joakim Soria has an American League-leading nine saves in as many opportunities. The nine saves is a Tigers' record for April.
Apr. 8 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Nathan is headed to the disabled list with a strained right elbow.
Analysis: The Detroit closer struck out the only batter he faced in Monday's opener, getting the save in a 4-0 victory over Minnesota, but general manager Dave Dombrowski said after Wednesday's game a flexor problem has bothered Nathan since around the end of last week. The Tigers will recall left-hander Blaine Hardy from Triple-A Toledo for Thursday's game against the Twins. Joakim Soria will take over as Detroit's closer in Nathan's absence.
Apr. 7 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Nathan got credit for a cheap save Monday.
Analysis: Nathan threw four pitches and retired one hitter to once again show how ridiculous the save statistic is, though it remains worthwhile for fantasy players.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.