MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#15
A.J. Pierzynski
AVG HR RBI
.333 2 4
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235 NFBC ADP: 457.21
Position: CBorn: 12/30/1976 Birthplace: Bridgehampton, New York
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 3rd Round by Twins (1994)


Latest News
Jan. 7 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-The Braves finalized a $2 million, one-year deal with Pierzynski on Wednesday.
Analysis: Pierzynski, 38, likely will play behind Christian Bethancourt. Evan Gattis is moving from catcher to left field. Pierzynski hit .251 for Boston and St. Louis last year. He can earn $700,000 based on starts at catcher: $50,000 for 55 and each additional five through 80, and $100,000 for 85 and each additional five through 100.
Jan. 5 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)2:11 PM CT-A person with direct knowledge of the deal tells The Associated Press the Atlanta Braves have reached an agreement on a one-year contract with catcher A.J. Pierzynski. The person spoke on condition of anonymity Monday because the deal would not become official until after Pierzynski successfully completes a physical exam, scheduled for this week.
Analysis: The 38-year-old Pierzynski likely will play behind 23-year-old Christian Bethancourt. Evan Gattis is expected to move from catcher to left field following the trade of Justin Upton to San Diego. That cleared a path for Bethancourt, one of the Braves' top prospects. Pierzynski hit .259 with five homers and 37 RBIs for the St. Louis Cardinals and Boston Red Sox in 2014.
Oct. 14 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Pierzynski will start at catcher in place of the injured Yadier Molina for the St. Louis Cardinals in the third game of the NL Championship Series against the San Francisco Giants on Tuesday.
Analysis: Pierzynski has experience catching Game 3 starter John Lackey when the two were teammates in Boston.
Oct. 10 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-The San Francisco Giants expect to add Michael Morse to the roster for the NL Championship Series, while the St. Louis Cardinals strengthened their bench by including catcher A.J. Pierzynski.
Analysis: The 37-year-old Pierzynski replaces lefty reliever Sam Freeman on the Cardinals roster. Manager Mike Matheny said Pierzynski gave the team an experienced bat off the bench, and a third catcher that allows for use of backup Tony Cruz. ''It's more so what A.J. brings more than anything else,'' Matheny said.
Oct. 2 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Veterans Jason Motte, Mark Ellis and A.J. Pierzynski have been left off the St. Louis Cardinals' 25-player roster for the NL Division Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: The team announced its roster Thursday, when the Cardinals worked out in 95-degree heat at Dodger Stadium.
July 26 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-The St. Louis Cardinals have signed Pierzynski and he was in the starting lineup batting sixth for Saturday's game against the Cubs. The Cardinals have been looking for a steady presence behind the plate since All-Star Yadier Molina went down with a torn ligament in his right thumb on July 9. Molina underwent surgery on July 11 and is expected to miss 8-12 weeks.
Analysis: The left-handed hitting Pierzynski played 72 games this year with the Boston Red Sox, hitting .254 with four home runs before being released on July 16. He has a career average of .282 over 17 seasons with six teams.
July 9 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-The Red Sox have designated Pierzynski for assignment and called up catching prospect Christian Vazquez from Triple-A Pawtucket.
Analysis: The 37-year-old Pierzynski hit .254 with four home runs and 31 RBIs in 72 this season. He signed an $8.25 million, one-year contract with the Red Sox as a free agent in December.
May 8 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Pierzynski was 2 for 3 with his 16th RBI Wednesday versus Cincinnati.
Analysis: Pierzynski has five multihit performances over his last 10 games. He's hitting .361 during that stretch with nine RBIs.
May 3 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Pierzynski was solid Friday.
Analysis: Pierzynski went 2 for 4 with two runs scored.
Apr. 27 11:40 AM PT12:40 PM MT1:40 PM CT2:40 PM ET14:40 ET18:40 GMT2:40 11:40 AM MST1:40 PM EST2:10 PM VEN22:40 UAE1:40 PM CT-Pierzynski hit his eighth career grand slam Saturday.
Analysis: Pierzynski has half of his 12 RBIs in his last three games.
Apr. 26 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Pierzynski went 3 for 4 with two runs and an RBI in Friday's 8-1 win at Toronto.
Analysis: Pierzynski is hitting .327 in his last 12 games north of the border.
Apr. 13 11:15 AM PT12:15 PM MT1:15 PM CT2:15 PM ET14:15 ET18:15 GMT2:15 11:15 AM MST1:15 PM EST1:45 PM VEN22:15 UAE1:15 PM CT-Pierzynski had two hits with his first BoSox homer Saturday.
Analysis: Pierzynski is hitting .344 although he has yet to buy into the Boston hitting philosophy with no walks. That won't fly playing for a top-notch organization like the Red Sox unlike previous employers of the catcher.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.