MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
David Ortiz
AVG HR RBI
.256 29 92
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 81.72
Position: DHBorn: 11/18/1975 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (1992)


Latest News
Aug. 17 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Ortiz hit a pair of two-run homers and drove in six runs in Saturday's win over Houston.
Analysis: Ortiz is hitting .348 with two homers and nine RBIs over his last five games.
Aug. 16 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Ortiz has become the third player in Red Sox history to hit 400 home runs with the team.
Analysis: Ortiz connected in the third inning Saturday night against Houston, sending a drive into the first row of the center-field seats at Fenway Park. Ortiz has 458 home runs in his career, which started with the Minnesota Twins.
Aug. 7 5:41 PM PT6:41 PM MT7:41 PM CT8:41 PM ET20:41 ET0:41 GMT8:41 5:41 PM MST7:41 PM EST8:11 PM VEN4:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-The Boston Red Sox have scratched David Ortiz from the lineup against the St. Louis Cardinals because of concerns about wet grounds after daylong rains.
Analysis: Mike Napoli replaced Ortiz at first base and batted fourth Thursday night. Yoenis Cespedes moved up one slot from cleanup to third, where Ortiz had been. The team said the 38-year-old Ortiz was available off the bench.
Aug. 4 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Ortiz hit his 26th homer in an 8-7 loss to New York on Sunday.
Analysis: Ortiz has gone yard six times with 18 RBIs in his last 12 contests.
July 28 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Ortiz provided all the offense with a three-run homer in Sunday's 3-2 win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Ortiz has five homers and 12 RBIs over the last seven games.
July 25 10:59 PM PT11:59 PM MT12:59 AM CT1:59 AM ET1:59 ET5:59 GMT13:59 10:59 PM MST12:59 AM EST1:29 AM VEN9:59 UAE12:59 AM CT-Ortiz is in the starting lineup, a day after leaving a game because of back spasms.
Analysis: Ortiz was set to bat third Friday night at Tampa Bay. David Price is scheduled to start for the Rays. The last time Price faced Boston, he hit Ortiz with a fastball in late May and that led to a verbal skirmish between the stars. Ortiz exited Thursday's game at Toronto during an at-bat in the ninth inning after hurting his back on a swing.
July 24 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Ortiz hit a three-run bomb Wednesday.
Analysis: Ortiz has 24 homers and 72 RBIs.
July 23 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Ortiz homered for the third time in two games in Tuesday's 7-3 loss at Toronto, and he also recorded his 20th double of the season.
Analysis: Big Papi has driven in 17 runs over his last 15 contests, slugging .625 with runners in scoring position in that span.
July 22 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Ortiz hit two towering home runs in Monday's 14-1 win at Toronto.
Analysis: They were the 452nd and 453rd of his career, moving Ortiz past Boston great Carl Yastrzemski into 36th place on the all-time list. It was the third multihomer game of the season for Ortiz and the 44th of his career.
July 12 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Ortiz drove in three runs in Friday's 8-3 win at Houston.
Analysis: Ortiz now has 15 RBIs in his last 14 games.
July 8 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Ortiz went 0 for 3 on Monday.
Analysis: Ortiz also went on a crazed rant about how the media is treating him so it's unclear where his focus really is. The Red Sox are in last place.
July 7 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Ortiz was 4 for 5 with his 15th double in Sunday's 7-6 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: Ortiz is 7 for 12 over his last three games with four RBIs.
June 30 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Ortiz hit his 450th homer to lead the Boston Red Sox over the New York Yankees 8-5 on Sunday night.
Analysis: Ortiz tossed his bat aside and took his time on a wide trot around the bases, saluting fans as he approached third base. The home run put him in sole possession of 37th place on the career list, two behind Adam Dunn and Red Sox Hall of Famer Carl Yastrzemski.
June 26 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Ortiz homered and drove in three runs Wednesday.
Analysis: He next faces the Yankees,who have done a good job in limiting Ortiz to a .227 average in the season series.
June 24 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Ortiz went 2 for 4 on Monday.
Analysis: Ortiz owns a solid .832 OPS for the BoSox.
May 30 11:07 PM PT12:07 AM MT1:07 AM CT2:07 AM ET2:07 ET6:07 GMT14:07 11:07 PM MST1:07 AM EST1:37 AM VEN10:07 UAE1:07 AM CT-Ortiz drew a walk as a pinch-hitter in the eighth inning of Thursday's 4-3 win over Atlanta after not starting due to a sore right calf.
Analysis: Fantasy owners shouldn't be concerned as manager John Farrell called the decision to not start him a precautionary one.
May 24 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Ortiz and first baseman Mike Napoli were not listed in Saturday's lineup because of injuries.
Analysis: Manager John Farrell said Ortiz has a calf injury.
May 24 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Designated hitter David Ortiz and first baseman Mike Napoli were not listed in Saturday's lineup because of injuries.
Analysis: Manager John Farrell said Ortiz has a calf injury.
May 15 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Ortiz connected on another two home runs in Wednesday's 9-4 win in Minnesota.
Analysis: Ortiz is 10 for 17 with five homers and seven RBIs in four games.
May 14 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Ortiz slugged two home runs in a 4-for-5, four-RBI game Tuesday that resulted in an 8-6 loss in Minnesota.
Analysis: Ortiz is batting .500 with three homers and six RBIs in his last six games.
May 11 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Ortiz made more enemies in Texas on Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz broke up Yu Darvish's no-hitter Friday and arrogantly lobbied for another hit in that game. This time, he went 2 for 4 with his seventh homer. The homer by Ortiz was his 380th with the Red Sox, breaking a tie with Dwight Evans for fourth on the career list.
Apr. 20 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Ortiz had a solo homer and two hits for the World Series champion Red Sox on Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz is 1 for 7 off Ubaldo Jimenez, who he faces Sunday. Maybe you should give 'Big Papi' the fantasy day off.
Apr. 13 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Ortiz's amazing streak continued with one hit Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz has reached safely in 25 straight games against the Yankees, the longest active streak vs. New York.
Apr. 10 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Ortiz hit a three-run homer high over Fenway Park's right-field foul pole on Wednesday, helping the Boston Red Sox rally for a 4-2 victory over the Texas Rangers.
Analysis: Ortiz next faces the Yanks. He had a 1.096 OPS against them last season with a .371 average and 15 runs scored.
Apr. 4 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Ortiz was 3 for 5 and drove in a run Thursday against Baltimore.
Analysis: Ortiz has reached base seven times in 15 plate appearances thus far.
Mar. 24 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Ortiz wants to finish his career with the Boston Red Sox.
Analysis: The World Series MVP said at a news conference Monday that staying in Boston for such a lengthy period is "a huge accomplishment." Due $15 million this year, Ortiz agreed Sunday to a new deal that calls for a $16 million salary in 2015 and could be worth up to $48 million over three years.
Feb. 19 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Ortiz hopes to get a one-year contract extension "pretty soon" and Boston Red Sox owner John Henry would like to fulfill his designated hitter's desire to retire as a member of the team.
Analysis: Ortiz, 38, is in the final year of a $26 million, two-year contract as he enters his 12th season with the Red Sox. He began last spring training with a heel injury that hobbled him early in the season. But he finished with a .309 batting average, 30 homers and 103 RBIs. In the six-game World Series victory over the St. Louis Cardinals, he batted .688 and was the MVP.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1997 Min 15 49 10 16 3 0 1 6 2 19 0 0 .327 .353 .449
1998 Min 86 278 47 77 20 0 9 46 39 72 1 0 .277 .371 .446
1999 Min 10 20 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 12 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2000 Min 130 415 59 117 36 1 10 63 57 81 1 0 .282 .364 .446
2001 Min 89 303 46 71 17 1 18 48 40 68 1 0 .234 .324 .475
2002 Min 125 412 52 112 32 1 20 75 43 87 1 2 .272 .339 .500
2003 Bos 128 448 79 129 39 2 31 101 58 83 0 0 .288 .369 .592
2004 Bos 150 582 94 175 47 3 41 139 75 133 0 0 .301 .380 .603
2005 Bos 159 601 119 180 40 1 47 148 102 124 1 0 .300 .397 .604
2006 Bos 151 558 115 160 29 2 54 137 119 117 1 0 .287 .413 .636
2007 Bos 149 549 116 182 52 1 35 117 111 103 3 1 .332 .445 .621
2008 Bos 109 416 74 110 30 1 23 89 70 74 1 0 .264 .369 .507
2009 Bos 150 541 77 129 35 1 28 99 74 134 0 2 .238 .332 .462
2010 Bos 145 518 86 140 36 1 32 102 82 145 0 1 .270 .370 .529
2011 Bos 146 525 84 162 40 1 29 96 78 83 1 1 .309 .398 .554
2012 Bos 90 324 65 103 26 0 23 60 56 51 0 1 .318 .415 .611
2013 Bos 137 518 84 160 38 2 30 103 76 88 4 0 .309 .395 .564
2014 Bos 119 434 48 111 24 0 29 92 64 77 0 0 .256 .350 .512
Career 2088 7491 1256 2134 544 18 460 1521 1151 1551 15 8 .285 .379 .547

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2002 Min Total 9 29 0 8 3 0 0 4 0 10 0 0 .276 .276 .379
    LDS 4 13 0 3 2 0 0 2 0 5 0 0 .231 .231 .385
    LCS 5 16 0 5 1 0 0 2 0 5 0 0 .313 .313 .375
2003 Bos Total 12 47 4 9 2 0 2 8 5 15 0 0 .191 .283 .362
    LDS 5 21 0 2 1 0 0 2 2 7 0 0 .095 .174 .143
    LCS 7 26 4 7 1 0 2 6 3 8 0 0 .269 .367 .538
2004 Bos Total 14 55 13 22 3 1 5 19 13 10 0 1 .400 .515 .764
    LDS 3 11 4 6 2 0 1 4 5 2 0 0 .545 .688 1.000
    LCS 7 31 6 12 0 1 3 11 4 7 0 1 .387 .457 .742
    WS 4 13 3 4 1 0 1 4 4 1 0 0 .308 .471 .615
2005 Bos Total 3 12 2 4 2 0 1 1 0 3 0 0 .333 .333 .750
    LDS 3 12 2 4 2 0 1 1 0 3 0 0 .333 .333 .750
2007 Bos Total 14 46 16 17 6 0 3 10 14 9 0 0 .370 .508 .696
    LDS 3 7 5 5 0 0 2 3 6 1 0 0 .714 .846 1.571
    LCS 7 24 7 7 3 0 1 3 6 5 0 0 .292 .424 .542
    WS 4 15 4 5 3 0 0 4 2 3 0 0 .333 .412 .533
2008 Bos Total 11 43 4 8 2 1 1 5 9 13 0 0 .186 .327 .349
    LDS 4 17 1 4 1 0 0 1 3 4 0 0 .235 .350 .294
    LCS 7 26 3 4 1 1 1 4 6 9 0 0 .154 .313 .385
2009 Bos Total 3 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .083 .083 .083
    LDS 3 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .083 .083 .083
2013 Bos Total 16 51 12 18 3 0 5 13 16 7 0 0 .353 .500 .706
    LDS 4 13 4 5 1 0 2 3 5 2 0 0 .385 .556 .923
    LCS 6 22 1 2 0 0 1 4 3 4 0 0 .091 .200 .227
    WS 6 16 7 11 2 0 2 6 8 1 0 0 .688 .760 1.188
Career 82 295 51 87 21 2 17 60 57 71 0 1 .295 .409 .553


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.