MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#48
Torii Hunter
AVG HR RBI
.282 15 73
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225 NFBC ADP: 191.60
Position: RFBorn: 7/18/1975 Birthplace: Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (1993)


Latest News
Aug. 11 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Hunter broke out of his slump with four hits in nine at-bats in a 6-5, 19-inning loss at Toronto on Sunday.
Analysis: Hunter had been 1 for 19 with seven strikeouts over his prior five games.
Aug. 5 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Hunter left Tuesday night's game with a bruised left hand after being hit by a pitch from New York Yankees reliever Dellin Betances.
Analysis: Hunter was struck in the ninth inning of a tie game Tuesday night. A trainer came out for a check, and Hunter exited. The Tigers said X-rays were negative.
Aug. 1 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Hunter had another big game in Thursday's loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Hunter went 2 for 3 with a homer and a walk. He finished July with six long balls, a .364 average and 24 RBIs - tied for the second-most in baseball over that time.
July 22 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET14:48 ET18:48 GMT2:48 11:48 AM MST1:48 PM EST2:18 PM VEN22:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-Hunter went deep again in Monday's 4-3 win at Arizona.
Analysis: Hunter is batting .383 with five homers and 18 RBIs over a 15-game stretch.
July 21 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Hunter hit a two-run homer in Sunday's 5-1 win over Cleveland.
Analysis: Hunter is batting .393 with four homers and 16 RBIs in his last 14 games.
July 11 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Hunter had three hits, including a solo homer, and three RBIs in a 16-4 rout of Kansas City on Thursday.
Analysis: Hunter, now batting .276, is 16 for 33 (.485) in his last eight games with three homers and 13 RBIs.
July 9 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Hunter was 3 for 4 with his 16th double and two RBIs in Tuesday's 14-5 victory over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Hunter is 13 for 24 during a six-game hitting streak with nine RBIs.
July 7 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Hunter was 2 for 4 with his 11th home run of the season in Sunday's 7-3 loss to Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Hunter is 10 for 20 with seven RBIs during a five-game hitting streak.
July 3 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Hunter went 3 for 4 with three RBIs Wednesday.
Analysis: Hunter entered in a pathetic 2-for-24 slump.
June 16 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Hunter is out of the lineup with a cramp in his right hamstring.
Analysis: The 38-year-old Hunter hit a single Monday night in the fourth inning, grabbed behind his right leg when he got to first base and left the game. He was grimacing in pain as he ran toward first base and was angry that he was ailing enough that he had to leave the field.
June 7 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Hunter went 3 for 4 with a home run in Friday's win over Boston.
Analysis: He'd been hitless in 11 at-bats over his previous three games.
May 7 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Hunter extended his hitting streak to 13 games in Tuesday's 11-4 win over Houston.
Analysis: Hunter, who went 2 for 4 with a double, is batting .421 (24 for 57) with six doubles, one home run and 10 RBIs during his streak. He's boosted his average from .222 to .333 in the past 13 games.
May 5 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Hunter stayed red hot with three hits and three RBIs in a 9-4 win over Kansas City on Sunday.
Analysis: Hunter, batting .319, has gone 20 for 49 (.408) during an 11-game hit streak. He has six of his 19 RBIs in the past two contests.
May 4 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Hunter hit a three-run bomb in a 9-2 rout over Kansas City on Saturday.
Analysis: Hunter is kicking fantasy butt with a .386 average in a 10-game hit streak.
May 3 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Hunter went 2 for 5 with two runs Friday.
Analysis: Hunter is hitting a robust .364 on the road.
Apr. 27 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Hunter had three hits Saturday.
Analysis: Hunter continues to torment his first big league team, going 6 for 9 with three doubles in the series.
Apr. 9 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE11:50 PM CT-Hunter went 1 for 5 with two RBIs in his return after missing two games because of a bruised left knee.
Analysis: Hunter, who turns 39 years old in July, is off to a 7 for 27 start with three homers and nine RBIs.
Apr. 6 10:50 AM PT11:50 AM MT12:50 PM CT1:50 PM ET13:50 ET17:50 GMT1:50 10:50 AM MST12:50 PM EST1:20 PM VEN21:50 UAE12:50 PM CT-Hunter homered and drove in five runs, and the Detroit Tigers withstood a five-run ninth inning by Baltimore to beat the Orioles 7-6 on Saturday.
Analysis: Hunter hit a three-run double in the third, then added a two-run drive in the fifth for his second homer of the year. He's 5 for 8 with six RBIs and three runs scored in his last two games.

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.