MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Alex Rodriguez
AVG HR RBI
.267 5 13
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-3 / 225 NFBC ADP: 310.00
Position: 3BBorn: 7/27/1975 Birthplace: New York, New York
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Mariners (1993)


Latest News
Apr. 26 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Rodriguez has hit his 659th home run, putting him one behind Willie Mays for fourth place on the career list.
Analysis: The three-time MVP connected off New York Mets left-hander Jonathon Niese in the first inning of the Subway Series finale Sunday night at Yankee Stadium. Rodriguez drove a 2-2 curve to right-center, with the ball bouncing off the top of the fence for a solo shot.
Apr. 17 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Rodriguez hit two home runs Friday, moving within two of tying Willie Mays for fourth place on the career list.
Analysis: Rodriguez hit his 657th and 658th homers for the New York Yankees against Tampa Bay. Rodriguez posted his 61st multihomer game and first since May 23, 2012. He missed all of last season because of a drug suspension.
Apr. 16 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Rodriguez was 2 for 3 with a home run in Wednesday's loss in Baltimore.
Analysis: He hasn't yet settled into a specific spot in the lineup, but it might not take much for him to find consistent work in the top five in the order given how the team is hitting as a whole.
Apr. 13 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Rodriguez is back at the hot corner for the New York Yankees. A-Rod was suspended for all last season for violations of baseball's drug program and collective bargaining agreement. Thus far this year, he was designated hitter in five games and played first base against Boston on Saturday. On Monday night against the Baltimore Orioles, however, Rodriguez was in the starting lineup at third base, where he has played most of his career.
Analysis: The move was designed to provide New York third baseman Chase Headley a break. Manager Joe Girardi said of Headley: ''He hasn't had a day and he could use it.''
Apr. 12 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Rodriguez was sloppy Saturday in his major league debut at first base.
Analysis: Subbing for Mark Teixeira in the field, Rodriguez dropped an easy throw for an error in the second inning that led to an unearned run. He later pulled his foot off the bag while catching a toss and the Red Sox challenged the call, resulting in a replay reversal and three more unearned runs.
Apr. 10 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Rodriguez hit his first home run Thursday since serving a yearlong drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez led off the sixth by launching a high fastball deep into the left-field seats for his 655th career homer. Rodriguez, moved up to second in the lineup against a lefty, tossed his bat aside and rounded the bases without any fanfare, though the drive invigorated a sparse crowd announced at 32,152. "I felt like I needed a Google map to run the bases, it's been so long," Rodriguez said.
Apr. 6 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Rodriguez received a loud ovation and walked in the first plate appearance of his return to the major leagues following a season-long drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez was the New York Yankees' designated hitter and batted seventh against Toronto on Monday, his first time that low in the order at the start of a regular-season game since May 7, 1996.
Apr. 3 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Manager Joe Girardi is pleased with the disgraced Rodriguez.
Analysis: A-Rod has had a strong spring after returning from a one-year drug suspension, hitting .286 (12 for 42) with three homers. "Really pleased with what Alex did," Girardi said.
Mar. 29 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Rodriguez played first base for the first time in his professional career Sunday, handling three chances in three innings during the New York Yankees' 7-0 win over the Houston Astros.
Analysis: The 39-year-old, who lost his third-base job to Chase Headley during a season-long drug suspension, caught Headley's throw following Jose Altuve's grounder leading off the bottom of the first. A-Rod has played 1,272 games at shortstop and 1,189 at third in his big league career.
Mar. 15 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Union head Tony Clark says the baseball players' association has no issues with Alex Rodriguez.
Analysis: Rodriguez rejoined the Yankees this spring after serving a one-year drug suspension. During his appeal of the ban A-Rod filed - and later dropped - lawsuits against his own union, Major League Baseball and New York's team physician. The three-time AL MVP, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because of the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Mar. 14 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Rodriguez drew a mix of cheers and boos in his first road game this spring, and a New York Yankees split squad lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0.
Analysis: The troubled star, returning from a season-long drug suspension, started at third base. The sellout crowd of 5,510 perked up when he walked to the batter's box in the second inning, and he struck out on three pitches.
Mar. 11 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-Rodriguez has hit his first home run since returning to the New York Yankees following a one-season drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez hit a long drive to left-center on a 3-1 pitch from Boston right-hander Brandon Workman leading off the fourth inning Wednesday. Rodriguez has five hits in 11 at-bats (.455) this spring training. The three-time AL MVP, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Mar. 4 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Rodriguez returned to the New York Yankees after an absence of more than 17 months, lining a single into short left field in his first at-bat and going 1 for 2 with a walk in a 3-1 spring-training loss to the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday.
Analysis: Rodriguez swung at the first four of 10 pitches he saw in three plate appearances. He was greeted by a 10-second mix of boos and cheers from the crowd. "Once you hit rock bottom, any time you hear a few cheers these days is a pleasant surprise," he said.
Mar. 2 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-A-Rod is listed as the designated hitter in Monday's intrasquad game. Suspended for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract, Rodriguez missed all of last season and is trying to return as his 40th birthday approaches in July.
Analysis: Rodriguez was not on the travel roster for Tuesday's exhibition opener, though. He could make his spring debut on Wednesday, when the Yankees are at home. Yankees manager Joe Girardi and general manager Brian Cashman say Chase Headley will be their starting third baseman and Rodriguez will compete for at-bats at designated hitter.
Mar. 1 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Rodriguez feels fine after his first week of workouts, and will leave the decision of when he makes his spring training debut to New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi.
Analysis: Girardi said he'll announce Monday whether Rodriguez will be in the lineup for the spring opener.
Feb. 27 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Stripped of his job at third base, Rodriguez moved across the diamond and worked out at first base for the initial time with the New York Yankees.
Analysis: Rodriguez fielded grounders and took part in various drills including bunt defense Friday during New York's second full-squad workout.
Feb. 23 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET18:07 GMT2:07 11:07 AM MST1:07 PM EST1:37 PM VEN22:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Rodriguez has reported to the New York Yankees following a season-long suspension, arriving three days ahead of schedule.
Analysis: New York's position players start workouts Thursday. Suspended for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract, Rodriguez apologized to team officials during a meeting on Feb. 10 and to fans in a statement last week. The three-time AL MVP has not spoken publicly about his actions that led to the suspension.Rodriguez, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Feb. 6 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Rodriguez has issued a handwritten apology "for the mistakes that led to my suspension" but has turned down New York's offer to use Yankee Stadium for a news conference and has failed to detail any specifics about his use of performance-enhancing drugs. The five-paragraph statement issued Tuesday, three days before the team opens spring training, was addressed "to the fans."
Analysis: The 39-year-old, a three-time AL MVP, was suspended last season for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract. An arbitrator found "clear and convincing evidence" Rodriguez used three banned substances and twice tried to obstruct the baseball's drug investigation.

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.