MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Alex Rodriguez
AVG HR RBI
.277 11 27
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-3 / 225 NFBC ADP: 310.00
Position: 3BBorn: 7/27/1975 Birthplace: New York, New York
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Mariners (1993)


Latest News
May 28 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Rodriguez hit a three-run homer to break Lou Gehrig's American League record for RBIs, and the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 4-2 Wednesday to finish a three-game sweep.
Analysis: With his 665th home run, the three-time MVP increased his career total to 1,995 RBIs. The Yankees said that's two more than Gehrig gets credit for from the Elias Sports Bureau, baseball's official statistician. Records get tricky when it comes to runs batted in, partly because RBIs did not become an official stat until 1920. So while baseball-reference.com lists Gehrig with 1,995 RBIs and Babe Ruth with 2,214, Elias puts A-Rod ahead of both of them.
May 27 11:44 AM PT12:44 PM MT1:44 PM CT2:44 PM ET14:44 ET18:44 GMT2:44 11:44 AM MST1:44 PM EST2:14 PM VEN22:44 UAE1:44 PM CT-Rodriguez was 2 for 4 on Tuesday.
Analysis: The disgraced Rodriguez is no disgrace on this homestand, going 8 for 18 with some hard-hit balls.
May 22 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-A minor league team of the Tampa Bay Rays has canceled an "A-Rod Juice Box" promotion that barbed Rodriguez after a complaint by the New York Yankees.
Analysis: The Class A Charlotte Stone Crabs of the Florida State League had planned the giveaway to the first 500 fans Friday night. The writing on the boxes said ''100% percent juiced'' with side effects that included "tainted records, inflated ego, omission from the Hall of Fame, and more!"
May 19 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Rodriguez was out of the Yankees' lineup against the Nationals because no designated hitter is used in games at NL ballparks. Yankees manager Joe Girardi said before Tuesday night's opener of a two-game series that ''it's easier to play him on a more daily basis when we keep him at DH.''
Analysis: Rodriguez started 34 of New York's 39 games entering Tuesday: 31 at DH, two at third base, one at first base. ''I'm sure he'd much rather be in there than having all this time off. But, I mean, he understands the situation,'' Girardi said. ''That's what happens when you become a DH. It becomes harder to get in games when you're in a National League park.''
May 13 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Barring emergencies, Alex Rodriguez will not play third base or first anymore this season. New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi said Wednesday he prefers using A-Rod solely as a designated hitter going forward.
Analysis: Rodriguez turns 40 in July and has had surgery on both hips. He has played the past week with soreness in his left hamstring.
May 7 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Rodriguez has passed Willie Mays for fourth place on the career homer list, connecting for No. 661 Thursday night one at-bat after he was robbed of the milestone drive by a leaping catch.
Analysis: The New York Yankees star hit a drive off Baltimore's Chris Tillman just to the left of Monument Park in center field in the third inning. A-Rod sent a shot in the first that Delmon Young caught by reaching over the top of the wall in right field. The Yankees, who said they will not pay a $6 million bonus after he matched the Say Hey Kid on Friday in Boston, put a message honoring the milestone that gave New York a 3-2 lead.
May 2 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-New York Yankees general manager Brian Cashman says the team doesn't plan to pay a $6 million bonus to Rodriguez for his 660th home run.
Analysis: Cashman spoke Saturday before the Yankees played at Boston. On Friday night, Rodriguez hit No. 660, tying Willie Mays for fourth on the career list. No payment likely would trigger a grievance on Rodriguez's behalf by the players' union. Without a settlement, the case would be heard by an arbitrator.
May 1 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Rodriguez has matched Willie Mays for fourth on the career homer list by hitting No. 660, possibly setting up a legal showdown with the New York Yankees over a $6 million payment.
Analysis: Manager Joe Girardi decided to rest Rodriguez on Friday night with an afternoon game scheduled for Saturday. He says Rodriguez will be available to come into the game Friday against Boston if needed.
Apr. 28 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Rodriguez is not in the New York Yankees' starting lineup against Tampa Bay, putting on hold his pursuit of tying Willie Mays at 660 home runs. Rodriguez is one homer away from matching Mays for fourth on the career home run list.
Analysis: Manager Joe Girardi said Tuesday he was giving the slugger a day off after A-Rod played third base the night before. The Yankees play a day game Wednesday.
Apr. 26 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Rodriguez has hit his 659th home run, putting him one behind Willie Mays for fourth place on the career list.
Analysis: The three-time MVP connected off New York Mets left-hander Jonathon Niese in the first inning of the Subway Series finale Sunday night at Yankee Stadium. Rodriguez drove a 2-2 curve to right-center, with the ball bouncing off the top of the fence for a solo shot.
Apr. 17 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Rodriguez hit two home runs Friday, moving within two of tying Willie Mays for fourth place on the career list.
Analysis: Rodriguez hit his 657th and 658th homers for the New York Yankees against Tampa Bay. Rodriguez posted his 61st multihomer game and first since May 23, 2012. He missed all of last season because of a drug suspension.
Apr. 16 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Rodriguez was 2 for 3 with a home run in Wednesday's loss in Baltimore.
Analysis: He hasn't yet settled into a specific spot in the lineup, but it might not take much for him to find consistent work in the top five in the order given how the team is hitting as a whole.
Apr. 13 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Rodriguez is back at the hot corner for the New York Yankees. A-Rod was suspended for all last season for violations of baseball's drug program and collective bargaining agreement. Thus far this year, he was designated hitter in five games and played first base against Boston on Saturday. On Monday night against the Baltimore Orioles, however, Rodriguez was in the starting lineup at third base, where he has played most of his career.
Analysis: The move was designed to provide New York third baseman Chase Headley a break. Manager Joe Girardi said of Headley: ''He hasn't had a day and he could use it.''
Apr. 12 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Rodriguez was sloppy Saturday in his major league debut at first base.
Analysis: Subbing for Mark Teixeira in the field, Rodriguez dropped an easy throw for an error in the second inning that led to an unearned run. He later pulled his foot off the bag while catching a toss and the Red Sox challenged the call, resulting in a replay reversal and three more unearned runs.
Apr. 10 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Rodriguez hit his first home run Thursday since serving a yearlong drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez led off the sixth by launching a high fastball deep into the left-field seats for his 655th career homer. Rodriguez, moved up to second in the lineup against a lefty, tossed his bat aside and rounded the bases without any fanfare, though the drive invigorated a sparse crowd announced at 32,152. "I felt like I needed a Google map to run the bases, it's been so long," Rodriguez said.
Apr. 6 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Rodriguez received a loud ovation and walked in the first plate appearance of his return to the major leagues following a season-long drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez was the New York Yankees' designated hitter and batted seventh against Toronto on Monday, his first time that low in the order at the start of a regular-season game since May 7, 1996.
Apr. 3 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Manager Joe Girardi is pleased with the disgraced Rodriguez.
Analysis: A-Rod has had a strong spring after returning from a one-year drug suspension, hitting .286 (12 for 42) with three homers. "Really pleased with what Alex did," Girardi said.
Mar. 29 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Rodriguez played first base for the first time in his professional career Sunday, handling three chances in three innings during the New York Yankees' 7-0 win over the Houston Astros.
Analysis: The 39-year-old, who lost his third-base job to Chase Headley during a season-long drug suspension, caught Headley's throw following Jose Altuve's grounder leading off the bottom of the first. A-Rod has played 1,272 games at shortstop and 1,189 at third in his big league career.
Mar. 15 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Union head Tony Clark says the baseball players' association has no issues with Alex Rodriguez.
Analysis: Rodriguez rejoined the Yankees this spring after serving a one-year drug suspension. During his appeal of the ban A-Rod filed - and later dropped - lawsuits against his own union, Major League Baseball and New York's team physician. The three-time AL MVP, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because of the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Mar. 14 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Rodriguez drew a mix of cheers and boos in his first road game this spring, and a New York Yankees split squad lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0.
Analysis: The troubled star, returning from a season-long drug suspension, started at third base. The sellout crowd of 5,510 perked up when he walked to the batter's box in the second inning, and he struck out on three pitches.
Mar. 11 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-Rodriguez has hit his first home run since returning to the New York Yankees following a one-season drug suspension.
Analysis: Rodriguez hit a long drive to left-center on a 3-1 pitch from Boston right-hander Brandon Workman leading off the fourth inning Wednesday. Rodriguez has five hits in 11 at-bats (.455) this spring training. The three-time AL MVP, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Mar. 4 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Rodriguez returned to the New York Yankees after an absence of more than 17 months, lining a single into short left field in his first at-bat and going 1 for 2 with a walk in a 3-1 spring-training loss to the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday.
Analysis: Rodriguez swung at the first four of 10 pitches he saw in three plate appearances. He was greeted by a 10-second mix of boos and cheers from the crowd. "Once you hit rock bottom, any time you hear a few cheers these days is a pleasant surprise," he said.
Mar. 2 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-A-Rod is listed as the designated hitter in Monday's intrasquad game. Suspended for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract, Rodriguez missed all of last season and is trying to return as his 40th birthday approaches in July.
Analysis: Rodriguez was not on the travel roster for Tuesday's exhibition opener, though. He could make his spring debut on Wednesday, when the Yankees are at home. Yankees manager Joe Girardi and general manager Brian Cashman say Chase Headley will be their starting third baseman and Rodriguez will compete for at-bats at designated hitter.
Mar. 1 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Rodriguez feels fine after his first week of workouts, and will leave the decision of when he makes his spring training debut to New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi.
Analysis: Girardi said he'll announce Monday whether Rodriguez will be in the lineup for the spring opener.
Feb. 27 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Stripped of his job at third base, Rodriguez moved across the diamond and worked out at first base for the initial time with the New York Yankees.
Analysis: Rodriguez fielded grounders and took part in various drills including bunt defense Friday during New York's second full-squad workout.
Feb. 23 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET18:07 GMT2:07 11:07 AM MST1:07 PM EST1:37 PM VEN22:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Rodriguez has reported to the New York Yankees following a season-long suspension, arriving three days ahead of schedule.
Analysis: New York's position players start workouts Thursday. Suspended for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract, Rodriguez apologized to team officials during a meeting on Feb. 10 and to fans in a statement last week. The three-time AL MVP has not spoken publicly about his actions that led to the suspension.Rodriguez, who turns 40 in July, has not played a full season since 2007 because the suspension, operations on both hips and other injuries.
Feb. 6 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Rodriguez has issued a handwritten apology "for the mistakes that led to my suspension" but has turned down New York's offer to use Yankee Stadium for a news conference and has failed to detail any specifics about his use of performance-enhancing drugs. The five-paragraph statement issued Tuesday, three days before the team opens spring training, was addressed "to the fans."
Analysis: The 39-year-old, a three-time AL MVP, was suspended last season for violations of baseball's drug agreement and labor contract. An arbitrator found "clear and convincing evidence" Rodriguez used three banned substances and twice tried to obstruct the baseball's drug investigation.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1994 Sea 17 54 4 11 0 0 0 2 3 20 3 0 .204 .241 .204
1995 Sea 48 142 15 33 6 2 5 19 6 42 4 2 .232 .264 .408
1996 Sea 146 601 141 215 54 1 36 123 59 104 15 4 .358 .414 .631
1997 Sea 141 587 100 176 40 3 23 84 41 99 29 6 .300 .350 .496
1998 Sea 161 686 123 213 35 5 42 124 45 121 46 13 .310 .360 .560
1999 Sea 129 502 110 143 25 0 42 111 56 109 21 7 .285 .357 .586
2000 Sea 148 554 134 175 34 2 41 132 100 121 15 4 .316 .420 .606
2001 Tex 162 632 133 201 34 1 52 135 75 131 18 3 .318 .399 .622
2002 Tex 162 624 125 187 27 2 57 142 87 122 9 4 .300 .392 .623
2003 Tex 161 607 124 181 30 6 47 118 87 126 17 3 .298 .396 .600
2004 NYY 155 601 112 172 24 2 36 106 80 131 28 4 .286 .375 .512
2005 NYY 162 605 124 194 29 1 48 130 91 139 21 6 .321 .421 .610
2006 NYY 154 572 113 166 26 1 35 121 90 139 15 4 .290 .392 .523
2007 NYY 158 583 143 183 31 0 54 156 95 120 24 4 .314 .422 .645
2008 NYY 138 510 104 154 33 0 35 103 65 117 18 3 .302 .392 .573
2009 NYY 124 444 78 127 17 1 30 100 80 97 14 2 .286 .402 .532
2010 NYY 137 522 74 141 29 2 30 125 59 98 4 3 .270 .341 .506
2011 NYY 99 373 67 103 21 0 16 62 47 80 4 1 .276 .362 .461
2012 NYY 122 463 74 126 17 1 18 57 51 116 13 1 .272 .353 .430
2013 NYY 44 156 21 38 7 0 7 19 23 43 4 2 .244 .348 .423
2015 NYY 45 155 28 43 9 1 11 27 22 42 0 0 .277 .372 .561
Career 2613 9973 1947 2982 528 31 665 1996 1262 2117 322 76 .299 .384 .558

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1995 Sea Total 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
1997 Sea Total 4 16 1 5 1 0 1 1 0 5 0 0 .313 .313 .563
    LDS 4 16 1 5 1 0 1 1 0 5 0 0 .313 .313 .563
2000 Sea Total 9 35 4 13 2 0 2 7 3 10 1 1 .371 .421 .600
    LDS 3 13 0 4 0 0 0 2 0 2 0 1 .308 .308 .308
    LCS 6 22 4 9 2 0 2 5 3 8 1 0 .409 .480 .773
2004 NYY Total 11 50 11 16 5 0 3 8 6 7 2 1 .320 .414 .600
    LDS 4 19 3 8 3 0 1 3 2 1 2 1 .421 .476 .737
    LCS 7 31 8 8 2 0 2 5 4 6 0 0 .258 .378 .516
2005 NYY Total 5 15 2 2 1 0 0 0 6 5 1 1 .133 .435 .200
    LDS 5 15 2 2 1 0 0 0 6 5 1 1 .133 .435 .200
2006 NYY Total 4 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .071 .133 .071
    LDS 4 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .071 .133 .071
2007 NYY Total 4 15 2 4 0 0 1 1 2 6 0 0 .267 .353 .467
    LDS 4 15 2 4 0 0 1 1 2 6 0 0 .267 .353 .467
2009 NYY Total 15 52 15 19 5 0 6 18 12 13 2 0 .365 .500 .808
    LDS 3 11 4 5 0 0 2 6 1 2 0 0 .455 .500 1.000
    LCS 6 21 6 9 2 0 3 6 8 3 1 0 .429 .567 .952
    WS 6 20 5 5 3 0 1 6 3 8 1 0 .250 .423 .550
2010 NYY Total 9 32 5 7 2 0 0 3 4 6 2 0 .219 .316 .281
    LDS 3 11 1 3 0 0 0 1 1 2 1 0 .273 .308 .273
    LCS 6 21 4 4 2 0 0 2 3 4 1 0 .190 .320 .286
2011 NYY Total 5 18 1 2 0 0 0 3 4 6 0 0 .111 .261 .111
    LDS 5 18 1 2 0 0 0 3 4 6 0 0 .111 .261 .111
2012 NYY Total 7 25 1 3 0 0 0 0 2 12 0 0 .120 .185 .120
    LDS 4 16 1 2 0 0 0 0 2 9 0 0 .125 .222 .125
    LCS 3 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .111 .111 .111
Career 75 274 43 72 16 0 13 41 39 75 8 3 .263 .369 .464


w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.