MLB Baseball

#72
Garrett Whitlock
ERA W-L K
3.45 4-2 82
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 190
Position: SPBorn: 6/11/1996 Birthplace: Snellville, Georgia
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 18th Round by Yankees (2017)


Latest News
Sep. 21 11:54 AM PT12:54 PM MT1:54 PM CT2:54 PM ET14:54 ET18:54 GMT2:54 11:54 AM MST1:54 PM EST12:54 PM CST2:24 PM VEN22:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Whitlock (right hip impingement) will have season-ending arthroscopic surgery.
Analysis: Whitlock also missed just over a month earlier this season due to inflammation in the hip. He finishes with a 4-2 record, 3.45 ERA and six saves in 31 appearances (nine starts).
Sep. 16 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock improved to 4-2, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Friday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock blew his second save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 7-6 on Tuesday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 1-0 on Sunday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed three runs on four hits in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Wednesday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-8 on Friday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Wednesday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his fifth save, allowing one run on two hits in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 3-0 on Sunday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock improved to 3-2, allowing no hits and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Friday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Tuesday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock fell to 2-2, allowing one run on one hit in 2.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
July 31 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)2:50 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Sunday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 28 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his third save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 4-2 on Thursday. Whitlock struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 25 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 3-1 on Monday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST3:19 PM CST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Sunday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 13-2 on Sunday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Friday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Whitlock (right hip inflammation) has been activated for Friday's series opener at Yankee Stadium after a pair of rehab appearances.
Analysis: Whitlock (2-1, 3.51 ERA) will return to Boston's bullpen after making nine starts before landing on the injured list June 9.
June 8 10:38 PM PT11:38 PM MT12:38 AM CT1:38 AM ET1:38 ET5:38 GMT13:38 10:38 PM MST12:38 AM EST11:38 PM CST1:08 AM VEN9:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed four runs on six hits in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Tuesday. Whitlock struck out five, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 1 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock improved to 2-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-1 on Wednesday. Whitlock did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 27 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 12-8 on Friday. Whitlock struck out four, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed five runs on 10 hits in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-5 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 17 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE10:05 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Monday. Whitlock struck out three, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed three runs on four hits and four walks in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-4 on Tuesday. Whitlock struck out five, ending the game with a 2.19 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed two runs on two hits in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 10-5 on Wednesday. Whitlock struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.25 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST3:55 PM CST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock fell to 1-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Thursday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 0.54 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed one hit without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.66 ERA and 0.51 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Tuesday. Whitlock did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 0.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-0 on Saturday. Whitlock struck out five, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock improved to 1-0, allowing no hits and one walk over 4.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Tuesday. Whitlock struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.47 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Garrett Whitlock blew his first save, allowing one run on two hits in 2.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Friday. Whitlock struck out four, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2021 Bos 8 4 2 - 5 46 0 0 73.1 64 22 16 6 17 2 81 1.10 1.96
2022 Bos 4 2 6 - 8 31 9 0 78.1 65 32 30 10 15 0 82 1.02 3.45
Career 12 6 8 - 13 77 9 0 151.2 129 54 46 16 32 2 163 1.06 2.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 Bos 46 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 77 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 1 5 0 0 8.1 4 2 2 2 2 1 5 2.16
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 9.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 0 0 0 0 1 1 3 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 2 2.25
Career 1 0 0 - 1 5 0 0 8.1 4 2 2 2 2 1 5 2.16


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 724 98 91 95.3 62.15
Slider 210 89 79 83.3 18.03
Changeup 231 88 81 84.7 19.83

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.