MLB Baseball

#35
Justin Steele
ERA W-L K
3.18 4-7 126
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 7/11/1995 Birthplace: Lucedale, Mississippi
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 5th Round by Cubs (2014)


Latest News
Aug. 29 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Steele will not travel with the Cubs to Toronto due to Canada's COVID-19 vaccination requirements.
Analysis: Steele's next turn in the rotation was scheduled for Wednesday, but he'll instead start Sunday in St. Louis. The left-hander has posted a 0.85 ERA in his last six starts but is 0-1 over that stretch as Chicago has handed him six total runs of support.
Aug. 26 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Friday. Steele struck out six, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST3:33 PM CST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-2 on Sunday. Steele struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed one run - zero earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Tuesday. Steele struck out five, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed two runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 4-2 on Wednesday. Steele struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed four hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Friday. Steele struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 29 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE10:51 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 4-7, allowing four runs - zero earned - on five hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-2 on Thursday. Steele struck out six, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Justin Steele improved to 4-6, allowing one run on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 15-2 on Friday. Steele struck out two, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 3-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-1 on Wednesday. Steele struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 4 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST5:46 PM CST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed one run on two hits and four walks in 6.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-2 on Monday. Steele struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 29 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Justin Steele improved to 3-5, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-3 on Wednesday. Steele struck out six, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 23 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed six runs - five earned - on seven hits in 5.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Thursday. Steele struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 18 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Justin Steele improved to 2-5, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-3 on Saturday. Steele struck out three, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 14 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE10:24 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed one run on six hits in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Monday. Steele struck out three, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed two runs - one earned - on seven hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Steele struck out one, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST9:45 PM CST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-7 on Tuesday. Steele struck out six, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 26 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)2:53 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 1-5, allowing seven runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 20-5 on Thursday. Steele struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST5:42 PM CST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-6 on Saturday. Steele struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 15 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed two runs - one earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Sunday. Steele struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 1-4, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-1 on Sunday. Steele struck out three, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 1-3, allowing four runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-1 on Saturday. Steele struck out four, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on four hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Steele struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Justin Steele fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on three hits and three walks in 2.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Tuesday. Steele struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Justin Steele allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-2 on Thursday. Steele struck out four, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST3:54 PM CST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Justin Steele improved to 1-0, allowing four hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-0 on Saturday. Steele struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2021 ChC 4 4 0 - 0 20 9 0 57.0 50 29 27 12 27 2 59 1.35 4.26
2022 ChC 4 7 0 - 0 24 24 0 119.0 111 53 42 8 50 0 126 1.35 3.18
Career 8 11 0 - 0 44 33 0 176.0 161 82 69 20 77 2 185 1.35 3.53

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 ChC 20 13 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .154 .154 .154
Career 44 13 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .154 .154 .154


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1307 96 87 92.2 64.42
Curveball 69 82 75 78.7 3.4
Slider 616 86 77 82.2 30.36
Changeup 37 90 84 87.8 1.82

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.