MLB Baseball

#21
Tanner Rainey
ERA S K
3.30 12 36
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 235
Position: RPBorn: 12/25/1992 Birthplace: Folsom, Louisiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 200th Round by Reds (2015)


Latest News
July 13 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-Rainey (UCL sprain) has been placed on the 60-day injured list and will likely miss the remainder of the season. It's uncertain if he will undergo Tommy John surgery.
Analysis: Rainey had a team-high 12 saves before landing on the IL. Victor Arano, Steve Cishek and Kyle Finnegan were the only other Nationals pitchers to record a save - and they each had one.
July 10 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 4 11:04 AM PT12:04 PM MT1:04 PM CT2:04 PM ET14:04 ET18:04 GMT2:04 11:04 AM MST1:04 PM EST12:04 PM CST1:34 PM VEN22:04 UAE12:04 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 1-3, allowing two runs - one earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Monday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 3 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Tanner Rainey blew his fourth save, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-4 on Sunday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Texas Rangers 6-4 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 24 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Friday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one run on one hit in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Friday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST9:59 PM CST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-5 on Monday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 11 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-6 on Saturday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 1-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 4 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his seventh save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 10-8 on Saturday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-5 on Friday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 29 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)2:54 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Sunday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 26 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-3 on Thursday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST5:04 PM CST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 22 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST3:18 PM CST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-2 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Tanner Rainey improved to 1-1, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two runs - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Houston Astros 13-6 on Saturday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 8 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST5:42 PM CST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Sunday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST10:14 PM CST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE10:14 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-3 on Saturday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
May 1 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST5:47 PM CST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 11-5 on Sunday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-2 on Saturday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his third save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 1-0 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST1:23 PM CST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST2:42 PM CST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)2:42 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 4-2 on Sunday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-0 on Saturday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Cin 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 7.0 13 19 19 4 12 1 7 3.57 24.43
2019 Was 2 3 0 - 3 52 0 0 48.1 32 22 21 6 38 2 74 1.45 3.91
2020 Was 1 1 0 - 0 20 0 0 20.1 8 6 6 4 7 1 32 0.74 2.66
2021 Was 1 3 3 - 6 38 0 0 31.2 29 27 26 6 25 1 42 1.71 7.39
2022 Was 1 3 12 - 16 29 0 0 30.0 26 16 11 5 13 0 36 1.30 3.30
Career 5 10 15 - 25 147 0 0 137.1 108 90 83 25 95 5 191 1.48 5.44

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Was 52 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 147 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 6.2 3 5 5 1 5 0 6 6.75
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 2 2 2 0 1 0 1 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 1 3 3 1 4 0 2 10.13
Career 0 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 6.2 3 5 5 1 5 0 6 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 367 100 93 97 70.44
Slider 150 92 85 88.4 28.79
Changeup 4 90 88 89.3 .77

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.