MLB Baseball

#47
Griffin Canning
ERA W-L K
3.99 2-3 56
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 180
Position: SPBorn: 5/11/1996 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Angels (2017)


Latest News
Sep. 23 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 2-3, allowing one run on two hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Tuesday. Canning struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 1-3, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3 on Thursday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-4 on Friday. Canning struck out five, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Houston Astros 10-9 on Saturday. Canning struck out four, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 8.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Sunday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Saturday. Canning struck out three, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed three runs on six hits in 4.2 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-6 on Monday. Canning struck out two, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 0-3, allowing four runs on six hits in 4.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-4 on Wednesday. Canning struck out two, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 0-2, allowing four runs - one earned - on three hits and six walks in 3.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Friday. Canning struck out four, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Saturday. Canning struck out five, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
July 27 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-0 on Monday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 1 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST6:43 PM CST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)6:43 PM CT-Canning (elbow) will be able to play when the MLB season gets underway.
Analysis: The right-hander missed part of his 2019 rookie season with elbow issues, though the good news is he's not dealing with a torn ulnar collateral ligament. After striking out 96 batters in 90 1/3 innings last season, Canning is expected to be a key part of the Angels' rotation.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 LAA 5 6 0 - 0 18 17 0 90.1 80 46 46 14 30 0 96 1.22 4.58
2020 LAA 2 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 56.1 54 29 25 8 23 0 56 1.37 3.99
Career 7 9 0 - 0 29 28 0 146.2 134 75 71 22 53 0 152 1.28 4.36

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 LAA 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 391 96 90 92.8 40.52
Curveball 224 90 79 86.3 23.21
Slider 202 91 85 88.6 20.93
Changeup 148 90 84 88 15.34

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.