MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#8
Ian Happ
AVG HR RBI
.246 10 21
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205 NFBC ADP: 638.29
Position: 2BBorn: 8/12/1994 Birthplace: West Chester, Pennsylvania
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 1st Round by Cubs (2015)


Latest News
June 23 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Happ went 4 for 5 with a double and two RBIs Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Miami Marlins 11-1. Happ scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: He has five RBIs in three games.
June 21 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2. The homer was his 10th of the season. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Analysis: Happ has homered in back-to-back games and has gone deep five times in his last eight contests while driving in nine runs.
June 20 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Diego Padres 4-0. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
Analysis: Happ is hitting .250 with four home runs and seven RBIs over his last seven games.
June 20 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Diego Padres 3-2. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
June 18 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
Analysis: The former first-round pick is starting to make his presence felt after struggling to a .207 average through his first 26 major league games. Happ has now homered three times during a five-game hitting streak in which he's 6 for 21 (.286) with six RBIs.
June 18 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
June 16 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Happ went 2 for 5 with a double Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5. Happ scored once. He ended the game with a .219 batting average.
Analysis: Happ grew up in Pittsburgh and was playing his first game at PNC Park.
June 15 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 9-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: Happ, who hit a grand slam Tuesday, has homered in back-to-back games after not even recording a hit in his previous four. He's only 5 for 28 (.179) since June 4, but every hit has left the yard.
June 14 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 5 with a home run and four RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the New York Mets 14-3. The homer was his sixth of the season.
Analysis: Happ hit a grand slam, but also struck out four times, dropping his average to .207. After a fast start, he could be ticketed for the minors soon.
June 10 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 9-1. He ended the game with a .210 batting average.
June 9 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-3. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
June 9 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 4-1. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
June 8 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 6-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. Happ scored twice. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Analysis: After a rough stretch, Happ has gone 4 for 12 with three home runs and five RBIs over his last four games.
June 5 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Ian Happ went 2 for 5 with two home runs and four RBIs Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6. The homers were his third and fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: Happ broke out of a 4-for-32 slump by staking Chicago to a 6-4 lead with his solo drive in the third and a three-run shot in the fourth against Michael Wacha.
June 3 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
June 2 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
May 31 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 2-1. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Analysis: After a hot start, Happ is just 2 for 28 with 13 strikeouts over his last nine games. He should have been dropped in your league a while ago.
May 31 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
May 30 11:14 AM PT12:14 PM MT1:14 PM CT2:14 PM ET14:14 ET18:14 GMT2:14 11:14 AM MST1:14 PM EST1:44 PM VEN22:14 UAE1:14 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 1 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 5-2. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
Analysis: Happ is struggling mightily, going 2 for 22 with 13 strikeouts in his last seven games after batting .357 with seven extra-base hits and five walks in his first eight major league contests.
May 28 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 5 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Analysis: Happ has cooled after a fast start, going 2 for 21 with 12 strikeouts in his last six games.
May 28 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
May 27 8:21 AM PT9:21 AM MT10:21 AM CT11:21 AM ET11:21 ET15:21 GMT23:21 8:21 AM MST10:21 AM EST10:51 AM VEN19:21 UAE10:21 AM CT-Happ went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Analysis: The bloom might be off Happ's rose now that he's 1 for 13 with seven strikeouts in his last four games.
May 25 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-1. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
May 25 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
May 24 6:30 AM PT7:30 AM MT8:30 AM CT9:30 AM ET9:30 ET13:30 GMT21:30 6:30 AM MST8:30 AM EST9:00 AM VEN17:30 UAE8:30 AM CT-Happ went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 4-1. He ended the game with a .323 batting average.
Analysis: Happ has fanned 10 times in nine career games.
May 23 7:18 AM PT8:18 AM MT9:18 AM CT10:18 AM ET10:18 ET14:18 GMT22:18 7:18 AM MST9:18 AM EST9:48 AM VEN18:18 UAE9:18 AM CT-Happ went 1 for 2 with a triple Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Francisco Giants 6-4. Happ scored once. He ended the game with a .357 batting average.
Analysis: He's scored eight runs in his eight games, and also fanned nine times.
May 21 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Ian Happ went 2 for 5 with two doubles and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6. Happ scored once. He ended the game with a .346 batting average.
Analysis: In seven games since being called up from the minors, Happ is batting .346 with two home runs, four doubles, five walks, five RBIs and seven runs.
May 19 5:29 PM PT6:29 PM MT7:29 PM CT8:29 PM ET20:29 ET0:29 GMT8:29 5:29 PM MST7:29 PM EST7:59 PM VEN4:29 UAE (+1)7:29 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. Happ scored once.
Analysis: Happ is 7 for 21 with two homers, two doubles, four RBIs, six runs and five walks in six games since making his major league debut Saturday.
May 18 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Ian Happ went 2 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. Happ scored once. He ended the game with a .353 batting average.
Analysis: Happ, who got the start in left field and batted cleanup, now has six hits, four RBIs, five walks and five runs in his first five games.
May 18 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Ian Happ went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. Happ scored once. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 17 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Happ hit his second homer in his third major league game as Chicago returned to .500 after a lackluster road trip.
Analysis: Happ has gone 4 for 10 with three extra-base hits and four RBIs in his three games. He's certainly making a strong case to remain up with the Cubs.
May 14 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Ian Happ went 2 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0. He ended the game with a .429 batting average.
Analysis: Happ has gone 3 for 7 with a home run and a double in his first two career games. It should be interesting to see whether the Cubs allow him to stick in the majors when Kris Bryant returns from an illness.
May 13 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Ian Happ went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Analysis: Happ, a top Cubs prospect, homered off Martinez in the seventh for his first hit in his major league debut. ''He's very calm and a confident young man,'' Maddon said. ''What you saw today was not a surprise to any of us. He's obviously an interesting young player. In 26 games for Triple-A Iowa this season, Happ hit .298 with nine homers, six doubles, 25 RBIs and 21 runs with a .977 OPS.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 ChC 36 122 20 31 9 1 10 21 14 44 1 0 .254 .336 .590
Career 36 122 20 31 9 1 10 21 14 44 1 0 .254 .336 .590


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.