MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#59
Joe Musgrove
ERA W-L K
4.44 11-12 157
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 12/4/1992 Birthplace: El Cajon, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Blue Jays (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 26 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 11-12, allowing three runs - two earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 9-5 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed four runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-5 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST4:47 PM CST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 10-12, allowing four hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-2 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST12:56 PM CST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Musgrove threw on flat ground Wednesday and the Pirates determined he would be fine to start Thursday against the Giants after he was scratched last Friday because of pain in his right foot.
Analysis: Musgrove hasn't been very good lately, having gone 1-3 with a 6.27 ERA over his last six starts.
Aug. 31 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 9-12, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Colorado Rockies 11-4 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Monday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-12, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 11-1 on Wednesday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed two runs on four hits in 7.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Friday. Musgrove struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-11, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-10, allowing eight runs on 10 hits in 3.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 13-2 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 8-9, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 11-4 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 25 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST1:28 PM CST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 7-9, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out two, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 7-8, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 6-8, allowing five runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-0 on Monday. Musgrove struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 7 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 3 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one hit without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 27 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 6-7, allowing nine hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Houston Astros 10-0 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 5-7, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Friday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 13 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST1:46 PM CST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 4-7, allowing six runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out three, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-7 on Monday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 4-6, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Wednesday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 3-6, allowing five runs on 11 hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-5 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 26 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST10:19 PM CST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 3-5, allowing six runs on 10 hits in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 19 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST5:35 PM CST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 3-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 6-4 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 15 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 2-4, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 9 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 1-4, allowing eight runs on six hits and five walks in 3.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 17-4 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 1-3, allowing seven runs - five earned - on six hits and two walks in 2.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Oakland Athletics 14-1 on Friday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST10:11 PM CST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 2.06 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 12-4 on Monday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 0.81 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 1-1, allowing two runs - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 2-0 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 on Friday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.44 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Joe Musgrove did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-0 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Hou 4 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 62.0 59 28 28 9 16 0 55 1.21 4.06
2017 Hou 7 8 2 - 4 38 15 0 109.1 117 59 58 18 28 1 98 1.33 4.77
2018 Pit 6 9 0 - 0 19 19 0 115.1 113 56 52 12 23 3 100 1.18 4.06
2019 Pit 11 12 0 - 0 32 31 0 170.1 168 98 84 21 39 1 157 1.22 4.44
Career 28 33 2 - 4 100 75 0 457.0 457 241 222 60 106 5 410 1.23 4.37

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Hou 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2017 Hou 38 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Pit 20 31 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .161 .161 .194
2019 Pit 46 51 8 8 2 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .157 .189 .235
Career 115 87 10 13 3 1 0 3 2 32 0 0 .149 .169 .207

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Hou Total 2 0 0 - 0 14 0 0 13.1 12 12 12 6 2 2 6 8.10
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 2 2 2 0 0 0 0 27.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 3 3 2 1 1 2 6.75
Career 1 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.2 6 6 6 3 1 1 3 8.10


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1311 97 87 92.5 49.34
Curveball 243 84 79 82 9.15
Slider 599 86 81 83.3 22.54
Changeup 275 89 82 85.4 10.35
Cut Fastball 229 92 85 88.8 8.62

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.