MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Eric Hosmer
AVG HR RBI
.286 0 3
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-4 / 226 NFBC ADP: 49.83
Position: 1BBorn: 10/24/1989 Birthplace: South Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Royals (2008)


Latest News
Jan. 17 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 CST3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-The Kansas City Royals have agreed to one-year deals with first baseman Eric Hosmer, right-hander Luke Hochevar and utility man Emilio Bonifacio to avoid going to arbitration.
Analysis: Hosmer, who made just $528,250 last season, received the biggest bump to $3.6 million with a $50,000 bonus if he makes his first All-Star team. He's coming off a bounce-back year in which he hit .302 with 17 homers and 79 RBIs while playing in 159 games.
Sep. 9 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 CST3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Hosmer had three hits and drove in three runs as Kansas City topped Detroit 5-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Hosmer is hitting .417 with nine RBIs over his last 10 games.
Sep. 1 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 CST11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Hosmer went 2 for 3 with a walk and an RBI in his 50th multihit game of the season Saturday in a 4-2 loss to the Jays.
Analysis: Among AL players, only Mike Trout and Adrian Beltre have more.
Aug. 24 11:59 AM PT12:59 PM MT1:59 PM CT2:59 PM ET14:59 ET18:59 GMT2:59 CST11:59 AM MST1:59 PM EST2:29 PM VEN22:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 3 with a homer, three RBIs and three runs scored in Friday's 11-10 loss to Washington.
Analysis: Hosmer has come up especially big for fantasy owners over the last week-plus, going 15 for 39 (.385) with three homers and six RBIs.
Aug. 21 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 CST11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Hosmer recorded his fourth two-hit game in a span of seven contests, going 2-4 in 2-0 loss to the White Sox on Tuesday.
Analysis: Hosmer is hitting .370 over his last seven games.
Aug. 17 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 CST4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Hosmer went a combined 3 for 8 with two homers and three RBIs as Kansas City swept Friday's doubleheader against Detroit.
Analysis: Hosmer is batting .339 with 10 homers and 30 RBIs in his last 45 games.
Aug. 8 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 CST12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Hosmer went 2 for 4 in Wednesday's 5-2 win over the Twins.
Analysis: Hosmer is 4 for 13 against Boston, the Royals' next foe.
Aug. 6 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 CST9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 5 with his 12th homer and a double in Kansas City's 13-0 win over Minnesota on Monday.
Analysis: Hosmer owns an OPS of .930 over his last 13 games with 12 RBIs.
Aug. 5 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 CST2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Hosmer was 2 for 4 in Kansas City's 6-2 road win over the New York Mets on Sunday.
Analysis: Hosmer is hitting .333 over his last 32 games with 19 RBIs.
Aug. 4 10:52 AM PT11:52 AM MT12:52 PM CT1:52 PM ET13:52 ET17:52 GMT1:52 CST10:52 AM MST12:52 PM EST1:22 PM VEN21:52 UAE12:52 PM CT-Hosmer went 2 for 5 in Saturday's 4-3, 12-inning win over the Mets.
Analysis: Hosmer is up to .298 on the road for KC.
Aug. 1 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 CST3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Hosmer was 2 for 5 with his 20th double in a 4-3 win at Minnesota on Wednesday.
Analysis: Hosmer is slugging .573 over his last 28 games compared to a .430 mark on the season.
July 31 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 CST2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Hosmer had three hits and drove in a run in Kansas City's 7-2 win over Minnesota on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Hosmer is hitting .339 with seven homers and 17 RBIs in the last 27 games.
July 28 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 CST11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Hosmer went 2 for 4 on Saturday in a 1-0 win over the ChiSox.
Analysis: Hosmer is enjoying a strong July with a .315 average.
July 25 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 CST5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Hosmer homered twice in Kansas City's 4-3 win over Baltimore on Wednesday, his second multi-homer game of the season and the third of his career.
Analysis: Hosmer is batting .348 with 15 RBIs over his last 22 games dating back to June 28, when he hit two home runs at Minnesota.
June 29 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 CST5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs in Friday's 9-3 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Hosmer was 1 for 17 in his previous four games.
June 23 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 CST8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Hosmer has been one of the few bright spots for the struggling Royals, going 2 for 4 in a 3-2 loss to the White Sox on Saturday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 12 with four extra-base hits over his last three games.
June 14 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 CST1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Hosmer hit his second homer of the season in a 10-1 win at Tampa Bay on Thursday.
Analysis: Hosmer hadn't homered since May 19. He hit 33 homers over the previous two seasons.
June 9 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 CST4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Hosmer was 2 for 2 and walked twice in Kansas City's 7-2 win over Houston on Saturday.
Analysis: Hosmer's season has been a struggle - he's batting .277 with only one home run in 57 games - but he's 12 for 34 (.353) with six RBIs over his last nine games.
June 8 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 CST2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Hosmer had two hits and scored twice in Friday's 4-2 win over Houston.
Analysis: Hosmer's .663 OPS matches his mark from 2012 so he is consistent if nondescript.
June 2 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 CST2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 5 in Kansas City's 4-1, 10-inning win over Texas on Saturday.
Analysis: Hosmer is hitting .310 against lefties so use him against southpaws for optimal fantasy results.
May 21 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 CST8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Monday's 6-5 loss at Houston.
Analysis: Hosmer, batting just .266 with one homer on the season, doesn't have much fantasy value right now. Fantasy owners, though, should keep a close on him going forward.
May 10 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 CST1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Hosmer went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer Thursday in a 6-2 win at Baltimore.
Analysis: Hosmer's long ball was his first of the season. Hopefully Thursday's effort is a sign of things to come.
May 8 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET18:32 GMT2:32 CST11:32 AM MST1:32 PM EST2:02 PM VEN22:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Hosmer had two hits Tuesday night in a 4-3 loss at Baltimore.
Analysis: Hosmer is only a career .227 hitter at Camden Yards so this was surprising.
May 5 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 CST4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Hosmer went 3 for 4 with his first triple of the season in Kansas City's 2-0 win over Chicago on Saturday.
Analysis: Hosmer has still yet to homer but he was hitting .326 in his last 11 games including Saturday's performance.
Apr. 6 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 CST3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Hosmer went 4 for 5 with three RBIs in a 13-4 victory over the Phillies on Friday.
Analysis: Hosmer had gone 1 for 9 over his first three games.
Mar. 6 7:45 AM PT8:45 AM MT9:45 AM CT10:45 AM ET10:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 CST8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE9:45 AM CT-Hosmer will replace the injured Mark Teixeira on the United States team at the World Baseball Classic.
Analysis: Teixeira strained his forearm while swinging off a tee on Tuesday. Hosmer will leave the Royals' spring training complex and meet up with the USA before its exhibition game against the Colorado Rockies on Wednesday night in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 KC 128 523 66 153 27 3 19 78 34 82 11 5 .293 .334 .465
2012 KC 152 535 65 124 22 2 14 60 56 95 16 1 .232 .304 .359
2013 KC 159 623 86 188 34 3 17 79 51 100 11 4 .302 .353 .448
2014 KC 13 49 4 14 4 0 0 3 5 6 0 1 .286 .364 .367
Career 452 1730 221 479 87 8 50 220 146 283 38 11 .277 .332 .423

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.