MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Mitch Moreland
AVG HR RBI
.250 5 21
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235 NFBC ADP: 331.48
Position: 1BBorn: 9/6/1985 Birthplace: Amory, Mississippi
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 17th Round by Rangers (2007)


Latest News
May 23 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 2 for 4 with two RBIs Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Texas Rangers 11-6. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland remained productive despite having his three-game homer streak come to an end. The first baseman has now knocked in seven runs over his last four games and has hit safely in five straight.
May 21 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Oakland Athletics 12-3. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland has rediscovered his power stroke by homering in all three of the games he played in during the series. The Red Sox now return to Fenway Park, where the first baseman has homered only once in 70 at-bats this season and is hitting .171 for the year.
May 20 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland has left the yard in back-to-back games after homering just twice through his first 39.
May 19 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Oakland Athletics 8-3. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland ended a 20-game home run drought. He's on pace for just 12 homers this season after hitting at least 22 in each of the past two years with Texas.
May 18 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE11:13 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 2 for 6 with a double Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4. Moreland scored twice. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland had gone hitless in 14 at-bats over his previous five games.
May 17 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland isn't making anyone forget David Ortiz with his performance over the past few weeks. The offseason addition is 1 for 19 with zero RBIs over his last seven contests and hasn't homered in 19 straight games since last connecting on April 23.
May 14 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 11-2. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
May 13 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
May 12 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 2 Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 11 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 11 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 10 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-7. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
May 7 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 2 for 5 with a double and four RBIs Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Minnesota Twins 17-6. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland is the only player who has started all 31 games, so manager John Farrell plans to rest him during interleague play this week. Fantasy owners should plan accordingly.
May 6 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Minnesota Twins 11-1. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 6 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 3 Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
May 5 7:52 AM PT8:52 AM MT9:52 AM CT10:52 AM ET10:52 ET14:52 GMT22:52 7:52 AM MST9:52 AM EST10:22 AM VEN18:52 UAE9:52 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 8-3. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
May 3 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 4-2. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
May 2 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 2 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Baltimore Orioles 5-2. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
May 1 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 3 Monday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 5-2. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland is 3 for 30 in his last nine games after going 10 for 23 in his previous six.
May 1 6:37 AM PT7:37 AM MT8:37 AM CT9:37 AM ET9:37 ET13:37 GMT21:37 6:37 AM MST8:37 AM EST9:07 AM VEN17:37 UAE8:37 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Chicago Cubs 6-2. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Apr. 29 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Mitch Moreland went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Chicago Cubs 7-4. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Apr. 29 11:46 PM PT12:46 AM MT1:46 AM CT2:46 AM ET2:46 ET6:46 GMT14:46 11:46 PM MST1:46 AM EST2:16 AM VEN10:46 UAE1:46 AM CT-Mitch Moreland went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Chicago Cubs 5-4. Moreland scored once. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
Apr. 28 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Moreland went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 3-0. He ended the game with a .295 batting average.
Analysis: Moreland is 2 for 17 in his last five games.
Apr. 18 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Moreland hit his league-leading 10th double among his three hits and also had three RBIs in Tuesday's 8-7 win at Toronto.
Analysis: Moreland, who reached based for the 12th straight game, has been red-hot on the road this season, batting .550 with six doubles in five games. He is hitting .325 in his last 10 contests in Toronto.
Apr. 16 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Moreland hit a go-ahead, two-run single in the seventh inning and drove in three runs, helping the Red Sox rally to a 7-5 victory over the Tampa Bay Rays on Sunday.
Analysis: Moreland, signed as a free agent to a $5.5 million, one-year deal, has gone 16 for 33 after opening hitless in 12 at-bats.
Apr. 15 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Moreland went 3 for 4 with his first homer in a Red Sox uniform and scored both of their runs in Friday's 2-1 win over the Rays.
Analysis: Moreland also doubled, giving him at least one in eight of the last nine games. He's batting .424 in that span but isn't coming up with clutch hits, having totaled just two RBIs on the season.
Apr. 13 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Moreland doubled, walked and scored a run in Thursday's win over the Pirates at Fenway Park.
Analysis: The Red Sox newcomer set a club record by hitting a double for the seventh straight game, a span in which he's batted .440. The major league record is eight by Derrek Lee (2007) and Yadier Molina (2016). ''Being at this ballpark and knowing you've got a little help in left there makes you feel little more comfortable,'' Moreland said of the Green Monster.
Apr. 10 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Moreland went 3 for 4 in the Red Sox's 2-1 loss to the Tigers on Monday.
Analysis: Moreland is 8 for 15 with a pair of walks in his last four games after starting 0 for 9 in his first two.
Apr. 7 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Moreland went 2 for 5 with a double and a run scored Friday against the Tigers.
Analysis: He went 0 for 9 with five strikeouts in his first two games with Boston.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Tex 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Tex 47 145 20 37 4 0 9 25 25 36 3 1 .255 .364 .469
2011 Tex 134 464 60 120 22 1 16 51 39 92 2 2 .259 .320 .414
2012 Tex 114 327 41 90 18 0 15 50 23 71 1 1 .275 .321 .468
2013 Tex 147 462 60 107 24 1 23 60 45 117 0 0 .232 .299 .437
2014 Tex 52 167 18 41 9 1 2 23 12 43 0 0 .246 .297 .347
2015 Tex 132 471 51 131 27 0 23 85 32 112 1 0 .278 .330 .482
2016 Tex 147 460 49 107 21 0 22 60 35 118 1 0 .233 .298 .422
2017 Bos 42 152 22 38 16 0 5 21 23 41 0 0 .250 .352 .454
Career 815 2648 321 671 141 3 115 375 234 630 8 4 .253 .318 .439

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Tex Total 15 46 5 16 4 0 1 7 4 9 0 0 .348 .400 .500
    LDS 4 15 1 3 3 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .400
    LCS 6 18 3 7 0 0 0 3 2 2 0 0 .389 .450 .389
    WS 5 13 1 6 1 0 1 3 2 4 0 0 .462 .533 .769
2011 Tex Total 9 29 2 3 0 0 2 3 2 8 0 0 .103 .188 .310
    LDS 3 10 1 1 0 0 1 2 1 1 0 0 .100 .250 .400
    LCS 3 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .111 .200 .111
    WS 3 10 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .100 .400
2012 Tex Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Tex Total 5 13 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 .000 .133 .000
    LDS 5 13 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 .000 .133 .000
2016 Tex Total 3 8 1 2 2 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 .250 .333 .500
    LDS 3 8 1 2 2 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 .250 .333 .500
Career 33 97 8 21 6 0 3 13 9 22 0 0 .216 .290 .371


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.