MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Martín Pérez
ERA W-L K
5.26 8-10 87
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200 NFBC ADP: 553.18
Position: SPBorn: 4/4/1991 Birthplace: Guanare, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Rangers (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 20 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Perez improved to 8-10, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Chicago White Sox 17-7 on Saturday. Perez struck out four, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez needed 40 pitches in the first as Chicago went ahead 5-0, but made it through six innings to win his third straight start. The lefty needed only 56 more pitches and gave up only one more run after the first.
Aug. 14 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Martin Perez improved to 7-10, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-2 on Monday. Perez struck out two, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Martin Perez improved to 6-10, allowing one run on three hits in 8.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the New York Mets 5-1 on Wednesday. Perez struck out five, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He had a 9.41 ERA in losing his previous four starts, but Perez looked sharp against the Mets in completing eight innings for the first time since 2015.
Aug. 5 10:09 AM PT11:09 AM MT12:09 PM CT1:09 PM ET13:09 ET17:09 GMT1:09 10:09 AM MST12:09 PM EST12:39 PM VEN21:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Martin Perez fell to 5-10, allowing seven runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-4 on Friday. Perez struck out two, ending the game with a 5.46 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez dropped to 0-4 with a 9.41 ERA in his last four starts. ''They don't swing at bad pitches so I think I was doing something wrong with my delivery tonight,'' he said. Since coming off the disabled list July 3, Perez has a 7.27 ERA and one win in six starts.
Aug. 4 7:39 AM PT8:39 AM MT9:39 AM CT10:39 AM ET10:39 ET14:39 GMT22:39 7:39 AM MST9:39 AM EST10:09 AM VEN18:39 UAE9:39 AM CT-Perez (5-9, 5.13 ERA) pitches Friday night, after a season-most eight runs allowed over 4 1/3 innings against Baltimore in his last turn.
Analysis: He has lost three straight starts.
July 30 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Martin Perez fell to 5-9, allowing eight runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 10-6 on Sunday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez allowed 13 runs and 16 hits over 10 1/3 innings in two starts this month against the Orioles.
July 24 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Martin Perez fell to 5-8, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Monday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 19 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Martin Perez fell to 5-7, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 10-2 on Wednesday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Martin Perez improved to 5-6, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-3 on Friday. Perez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 4 7:11 AM PT8:11 AM MT9:11 AM CT10:11 AM ET10:11 ET14:11 GMT22:11 7:11 AM MST9:11 AM EST9:41 AM VEN18:11 UAE9:11 AM CT-Martin Perez allowed five runs - two earned - on seven hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-5 on Monday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez has allowed 26 runs - 21 earned - in his last 30 2/3 innings. Lefties (.319) and righties (.313) are equally crushing him.
June 24 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Perez (broken right thumb) was taken off the DL on Monday to start against the Red Sox.
Analysis: The left-hander reportedly tore the nail off the thumb after catching it in a door in his hotel room as the Rangers arrived in New York for their series with the Yankees that began June 23.
June 22 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Martin Perez improved to 4-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on nine hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-4 on Thursday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez has won his last two starts despite posting a 5.56 ERA. He's received an average of 9.53 runs in those outings.
June 18 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Martin Perez improved to 3-6, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Seattle Mariners 10-4 on Saturday. Perez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez has a 7.58 ERA during his last five starts and hasn't once made it through six innings.
June 10 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Martin Perez allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Washington Nationals 6-3 on Saturday. Perez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez has failed to get past the fifth inning in three straight starts, a span in which he's given up a whopping 23 hits and 13 runs.
June 4 6:15 PM PT7:15 PM MT8:15 PM CT9:15 PM ET21:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Perez fell to 2-6, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Houston Astros 7-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Perez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Martin Perez allowed five runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-8 on Monday. Perez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez hasn't been great lately, but he has cut down on his walks. He's only issued five over his last five starts.
May 25 7:39 AM PT8:39 AM MT9:39 AM CT10:39 AM ET10:39 ET14:39 GMT22:39 7:39 AM MST9:39 AM EST10:09 AM VEN18:39 UAE9:39 AM CT-Martin Perez allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-4 on Wednesday. Perez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Load up on lefties if they're facing Perez. Right-handers are hitting just .271 against him, but lefties are at a crisp .381.
May 18 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Martin Perez improved to 2-5, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-4 on Thursday. Perez struck out eight to match a career high, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Perez now has a 2.79 ERA and 1.14 WHIP in three starts this month after going 1-4 with a 4.26 ERA and 1.83 WHIP in six April outings. He next takes the ball Wednesday at Boston, and in his last start there on July 6, Perez was tagged for a career-worst 11 runs - seven earned - and nine hits in four innings of an 11-6 loss.
May 12 8:58 AM PT9:58 AM MT10:58 AM CT11:58 AM ET11:58 ET15:58 GMT23:58 8:58 AM MST10:58 AM EST11:28 AM VEN19:58 UAE10:58 AM CT-Martin Perez allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the San Diego Padres 5-2 on Thursday. Perez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the second straight quality start for Perez, who is 0-4 in his last six starts and has received just 11 runs of support through eight outings.
May 7 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Martin Perez fell to 1-5, allowing three runs - two earned - on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-2 on Saturday. Perez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It's amazing that Perez has an ERA as relatively low as he does given his inability to keep people off the bases.
Apr. 30 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Martin Perez fell to 1-4, allowing four runs on eight hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-2 on Sunday. Perez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Perez (1-2) gave up four runs and seven hits in 3 2/3 innings, allowing all his runs with two outs, in a 9-1 loss at Oakland on Wednesday.
Analysis: He had given up one run in his previous two starts over 10 1/3 innings.
Apr. 15 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Perez gave up six hits and walked four in five innings Friday against the Mariners, but only allowed one run in Texas' 2-1 loss.
Analysis: Perez has a 2.20 ERA in three starts but has walked 11 and has a 1.78 WHIP in 16 1/3 innings. That is not sustainable for success.
Apr. 9 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Perez (1-1) allowed six hits and three walks with six strikeouts in 5 1/3 scoreless innings in Sunday's 8-1 win over the A's to improve to 7-0 with a 1.48 ERA in eight home daytime starts since the beginning of 2014.
Analysis: Perez allowed three runs in six innings on the way to losing his first start.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 1 4 0 - 0 12 6 0 38.0 47 26 23 3 15 1 25 1.63 5.45
2013 Tex 10 6 0 - 0 20 20 1 124.1 129 55 50 15 37 0 84 1.34 3.62
2014 Tex 4 3 0 - 0 8 8 2 51.1 50 25 25 3 19 1 35 1.34 4.38
2015 Tex 3 6 0 - 0 14 14 0 78.2 88 45 39 3 24 1 48 1.42 4.46
2016 Tex 10 11 0 - 0 33 33 0 198.2 205 110 97 18 76 0 103 1.41 4.39
2017 Tex 8 10 0 - 0 24 24 0 137.0 167 86 80 18 48 3 87 1.57 5.26
Career 36 40 0 - 0 111 105 3 628.0 686 347 314 60 219 6 382 1.44 4.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Tex 20 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tex 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Tex 14 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Tex 33 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2017 Tex 24 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 111 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 14 0 0 .059 .059 .059

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 0 3 1 2 7.20
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 0 3 1 2 7.20
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 0 3 1 2 7.20


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1314 97 89 93.4 57.51
Curveball 273 83 76 79.5 11.95
Slider 224 89 80 84.5 9.8
Changeup 474 88 81 84.8 20.74

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.