MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jake Arrieta
ERA W-L K
2.53 10-5 167
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 560.13
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 25 11:31 AM PT12:31 PM MT1:31 PM CT2:31 PM ET14:31 ET18:31 GMT2:31 11:31 AM MST1:31 PM EST2:01 PM VEN22:31 UAE1:31 PM CT-Arrieta pitched seven strong innings to outduel St. Louis' John Lackey and lead the Chicago Cubs to a 3-1 victory over the Cardinals on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Arrieta (10-5, 2.53 ERA), coming off a one-hit shutout against Cincinnati last week, limited St. Louis to two hits and an unearned run while striking out 10. The right-hander went 3-0 with a 0.95 ERA in his final month of the season and could be a key member of the Cubs' rotation next season. He gave up one run or fewer in 15 of his 25 starts in 2014.
Sep. 17 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Arrieta took a no-hit bid into the eighth inning before giving up a one-out double to Brandon Phillips, the only blemish for the Chicago Cubs pitcher in a 7-0 shutout of the Cincinnati Reds on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Arrieta (9-5) struck out 13 and walked one in his first career complete game. He was five outs from the first no-hitter at Wrigley Field in 42 years when Phillips drove an 0-2 pitch to deep left-center, just beyond the desperate dive of center fielder Matt Szczur on the warning track. Arrieta carried a perfect game into the seventh inning against Cincinnati on June 24 before Billy Hamilton singled. In his next outing, he held Boston hitless until two outs in the eighth.
Aug. 23 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Arrieta pitched well to beat his old team Friday. He allowed one run and four hits over seven innings in a 4-1 win over visiting Baltimore.
Analysis: Arrieta has gotten back on track by going 1-1 with a 1.27 ERA in his last three outings for the Cubs.
Aug. 18 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Arrieta limited the Mets to two hits in seven scoreless innings of Sunday's 2-1 win but again was denied the decision.
Analysis: Arrieta has been great this year, but he's been of little help to fantasy owners in the win column with one victory in his last eight starts.
Aug. 7 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Arrieta was shelled for a career worst-matching nine runs and 13 hits in five innings of a 13-4 defeat to Colorado on Wednesday.
Analysis: The performance saw Arrieta's ERA jump from 2.11 to 2.80. Owners will look for a bounce-back showing from Arrieta against Milwaukee on Monday.
Aug. 1 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Arrieta struck out seven in seven innings, leading the Chicago Cubs to a 3-1 victory over the Colorado Rockies on Thursday.
Analysis: Arrieta allowed one run and three hits in his first victory since June 30 at Boston. The 6-foot-4 right-hander has a 1.73 ERA in his last 11 starts, holding opponents to a .162 batting average.
July 27 12:14 PM PT1:14 PM MT2:14 PM CT3:14 PM ET15:14 ET19:14 GMT3:14 12:14 PM MST2:14 PM EST2:44 PM VEN23:14 UAE2:14 PM CT-Arrieta gave up two runs and five hits over six innings in a 6-3 loss to the Cardinals on Saturday, going without a decision.
Analysis: Arrieta owns a 1.77 ERA over his last nine starts and a 1.96 ERA on the season at Wrigley Field.
July 21 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Arrieta fell to 5-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Arrieta, who had a stomach virus the past few days, allowed three runs and four hits in 6 2-3 innings for the Cubs. He faces the Cards next.
July 1 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Arrieta held the Red Sox hitless until Stephen Drew singled with two outs in the eighth inning, and the Chicago Cubs beat the Boston Red Sox 2-0 on Monday night.
Analysis: Arrieta has now won four straight starts and owns a 0.92 ERA in his his last six. He's turning into one of this year's biggest surprises and should be owned in all formats moving forward.
June 25 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Arrieta retired his first 18 batters and struck out nine in seven impressive innings, leading the Chicago Cubs to a 7-3 victory over the Cincinnati Reds on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Arrieta (4-1, 2.05 ERA) was working on a perfect game before rookie Billy Hamilton started the seventh with a single up the middle. The right-hander allowed two runs and three hits while improving to 3-0 with a 1.14 ERA in five June starts.
June 14 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Arrieta pitched a gem for the Cubs on Friday, allowing two hits with nine strikeouts in a 2-1 win at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Arrieta is 1-0 with an 0.51 ERA with 18 strikeouts in his last three starts.
May 4 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Making his season debut, Arrieta allowed four hits over 5 1-3 innings in Saturday's 3-0 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Arrieta fanned seven and walked just two but didn't factor in the decision. He'll get the White Sox next week.
Mar. 30 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs activated Arrieta from the 15-day disabled list, and he'll makes his season debut Saturday against the St. Louis Cardinals.
Analysis: Fantasy owners should take a wait-and-see approach with Arrieta.
Feb. 28 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Cubs manager Rick Renteria said Arrieta has lengthened his distance and is feeling better.
Analysis: Arrieta, who has been slowed with tightness in his throwing shoulder this spring, is slated to be in the Cubs' starting rotation this season. He is expected to join the team sometime in April.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.