MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
A.J. Ellis
AVG HR RBI
.219 3 7
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 232 NFBC ADP: 688.40
Position: CBorn: 4/9/1981 Birthplace: Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 18th Round by Dodgers (2003)


Latest News
Aug. 16 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 2 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 9-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .219 batting average.
Aug. 6 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Miami Marlins beat the Atlanta Braves 4-1. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
July 30 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Miami Marlins fell to the Cincinnati Reds 6-4. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
July 26 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Miami Marlins fell to the Texas Rangers 10-4. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
July 23 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-3. The homer was his second of the season. Ellis scored twice. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
July 19 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-3. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
July 17 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 1 Monday as the Miami Marlins beat the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
July 16 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 2 for 4 with two doubles Sunday as the Miami Marlins fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
July 10 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 1 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Miami Marlins beat the San Francisco Giants 10-8. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .212 batting average.
July 6 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Miami Marlins fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
July 4 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Miami Marlins topped the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
July 3 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 1 Monday as the Miami Marlins fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 14-6. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
June 29 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-0. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
June 23 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 11-1. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
June 21 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Miami Marlins beat the Washington Nationals 2-1. He ended the game with a .204 batting average.
Analysis: Max Scherzer had his attempt at a third career no-hitter broken up by Ellis, who hit a comebacker for an infield single with one out in the eighth inning. Ellis didn't hit the ball particularly hard, but the ball bounced off Scherzer's glove, and shortstop Trea Turner couldn't make the play in time.
June 9 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 4 Friday as the Miami Marlins topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-7. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
June 5 8:47 AM PT9:47 AM MT10:47 AM CT11:47 AM ET11:47 ET15:47 GMT23:47 8:47 AM MST10:47 AM EST11:17 AM VEN19:47 UAE10:47 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 2 for 3 with an RBI Sunday as the Miami Marlins topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: Ellis hit a tiebreaking single on the 14th pitch of an at-bat against Archie Bradley in the seventh inning, lifting the Marlins to their seventh win in eight games.
May 31 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Ellis went 2 for 3 Wednesday as the Miami Marlins beat the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .175 batting average.
Analysis: This is Ellis' first multi-hit game of the season.
May 22 7:14 AM PT8:14 AM MT9:14 AM CT10:14 AM ET10:14 ET14:14 GMT22:14 7:14 AM MST9:14 AM EST9:44 AM VEN18:14 UAE9:14 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Miami Marlins fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3. He ended the game with a .135 batting average.
May 17 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Miami Marlins lost to the Houston Astros 3-0. He ended the game with a .121 batting average.
May 14 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Miami Marlins topped the Atlanta Braves 3-1. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .138 batting average.
May 7 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Miami Marlins topped the New York Mets 7-0. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
Apr. 30 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-A.J. Ellis went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Miami Marlins beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-3. Ellis scored once. He ended the game with a .136 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-A.J. Ellis went 0 for 1 Friday as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-2. He ended the game with a .111 batting average.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 LAD 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 LAD 8 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .100 .100 .100
2010 LAD 44 108 6 30 5 0 0 16 14 18 0 0 .278 .363 .324
2011 LAD 31 85 8 23 1 1 2 11 14 16 0 1 .271 .392 .376
2012 LAD 133 423 44 114 20 1 13 52 65 107 0 0 .270 .373 .414
2013 LAD 115 390 43 93 17 1 10 52 45 78 0 2 .238 .318 .364
2014 LAD 93 283 21 54 9 0 3 25 53 57 0 0 .191 .323 .254
2015 LAD 63 181 24 43 9 0 7 21 32 38 0 0 .238 .355 .403
2016 LAD 53 139 8 27 5 0 1 13 16 24 1 1 .194 .285 .252
2016 Phi 11 32 3 10 3 0 1 9 3 7 1 0 .313 .371 .500
2016 Tot 64 171 11 37 8 0 2 22 19 31 2 1 .216 .301 .298
2017 Mia 33 96 12 21 4 0 3 7 7 20 0 0 .219 .299 .354
Career 588 1750 170 416 73 3 40 207 249 368 2 4 .238 .338 .351

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 10 31 3 10 4 1 1 3 3 6 0 0 .323 .400 .613
    LDS 4 12 2 4 2 0 0 1 2 4 0 0 .333 .467 .500
    LCS 6 19 1 6 2 1 1 2 1 2 0 0 .316 .350 .684
2014 LAD Total 4 13 4 7 1 0 1 2 4 1 0 0 .538 .647 .846
    LDS 4 13 4 7 1 0 1 2 4 1 0 0 .538 .647 .846
2015 LAD Total 3 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 3 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 17 52 7 19 5 1 2 5 7 9 0 0 .365 .450 .615


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.