MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#14
George Kottaras
AVG HR RBI
.269 3 5
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 202 NFBC ADP: 650.39
Position: CBorn: 5/10/1983 Birthplace: Toronto, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 20th Round by Padres (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 7 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-The Blue Jays signed Kottaras to a minor-league contract.
Analysis: He will report to Buffalo.
July 11 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-The St. Louis Cardinals have claimed Kottaras off waivers from the Cleveland Indians, bolstering their catching position following the injury to Yadier Molina.
Analysis: The team says Kottaras likely will be added to the 25-man roster Saturday in Milwaukee. St. Louis begins a three-game series Friday against the Brewers. Kottaras was batting .286 with three homers and four RBIs in 10 games for Cleveland.
July 7 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-After acquiring Chris Dickerson from Pittsburgh for a player to be named for cash, Cleveland designated Kottaras for assignment to clear a roster spot.
Analysis: Kottaras was hitting .286 in 10 games with three homers and four RBIs.
May 27 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-The Indians selected the contract of Kottaras and recalled infielder Jesus Aguilar from Triple-A Columbus.
Analysis: This is his second stint with the Indians this season. The 31-year-old appeared in one game during his previous time (May 3-6). He became the first player in franchise history to hit a home run in each of his first two plate appearances with the club on May 4 against the White Sox.
May 6 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Kottaras was designated for assignment Tuesday.
Analysis: On Sunday, he became the first player in club history to homer in his first two plate appearances with the team. How is that for gratitude?
May 5 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Kottaras became the first player to homer in his first two plate appearances for Cleveland on Sunday in a 4-3 loss to the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: The catcher was brought up from the minors Saturday.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.