MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Phil Hughes
4.40 11-9 94
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-5 / 250 NFBC ADP: 169.39
Position: SPBorn: 6/24/1986 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2004)

Latest News
Sep. 28 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Hughes has been scratched from his start against the Cleveland Indians because of an illness and will be replaced by left-hander Tommy Milone.
Analysis: Hughes is 11-9 with a 4.43 ERA in 25 starts.
Sep. 24 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Hughes pitched five scoreless innings in his return to the rotation Wednesday and earned his first win since July 30, a 4-2 victory over Cleveland.
Analysis: Hughes (11-9, 4.43 ERA) allowed four hits, walked none and struck out four in his first start since Sept. 15.
Aug. 13 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Hughes allowed two runs in the first off three hits and a walk in his return Tuesday.
Analysis: Hughes was on the 15-day disabled list due to inflammation in his lower back.
July 1 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Hughes wasn't at his sharpest but got his third win in as many starts with an 8-5 victory in Cincinnati on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Hughes (7-6, 4.27 ERA) was charged with four runs and eight hits in 6 2-3 innings to the Reds. He yielded two runs and eight hits in 16 innings in his prior two games.
June 20 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Hughes held the Chicago Cubs to one run and two hits over eight innings as the Twins breezed to a 7-2 victory Friday night.
Analysis: Hughes, who has given up a league-high-tying 16 home runs, has tried to work on incorporating a changeup into his arsenal without worrying about his velocity as much. He allowed a jack to fantasy stud Anthony Rizzo on Friday. Hughes struck out four without a walk for his first win in his last four turns.
June 4 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Hughes had a four-game win streak snapped in a 6-3 loss to Boston.
Analysis: Hughes (4-5, 4.96 ERA) gave up five runs in a season-low 4 1-3 innings against the Red Sox.
Apr. 29 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE2:56 PM CT-Hughes has a mild strain of his left hip flexor muscle.
Analysis: Hughes started for the Twins on Wednesday against Detroit. He finished five innings before being removed, throwing 71 pitches, striking out four while allowing seven hits.
Apr. 13 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Hughes fell to 0-2 Sunday after giving up three runs and eight hits over six innings in a 6-2 loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Hughes is 0-2 with a 5.25 ERA, a surprise particularly with both starts on the road after he posted a 2.78 ERA away from Target Field last year.
Apr. 7 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Hughes was unsurprisingly taken deep twice Monday.
Analysis: Hughes allowed four runs and eight hits in six innings. He struck out six and walked one. Hughes used to allow plenty of homers for the Yankees, though he allowed only 16 a year ago with the Twins.
Feb. 23 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-The Minnesota Twins have slotted Hughes as their opening day starter.
Analysis: Manager Paul Molitor said Monday that Hughes has been "penciled in" to take the mound on April 6 when the Twins play at Detroit, provided the right-hander stays healthy through spring training. Hughes was 16-10 with a 3.52 ERA in 32 starts last year, setting a major league record with an 11.63 strikeout-to-walk ratio. He threw 73 percent of pitches for strikes, tops among pitchers who faced 500 or more batters.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.