MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Matt Garza
ERA W-L K
3.84 4-4 52
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215 NFBC ADP: 670.97
Position: SPBorn: 11/26/1983 Birthplace: Selma, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2005)


Latest News
July 5 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Garza improved to 4-4, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-0 on Wednesday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 1-1 with a 2.60 ERA in his last three starts.
July 1 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Matt Garza allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Friday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 24 5:28 PM PT6:28 PM MT7:28 PM CT8:28 PM ET20:28 ET0:28 GMT8:28 5:28 PM MST7:28 PM EST7:58 PM VEN4:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Saturday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Monday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Matt Garza improved to 3-2, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Wednesday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza next faces the Pirates on Monday, and in Pittsburgh on May 6, the veteran right-hander tossed seven innings of one-run ball.
June 5 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Garza (chest contusion) is coming off the DL on Wednesday to start in St. Louis
Analysis: Garza left his start on June 3 after four innings following a collision on a play at first base with teammate Jesus Aguilar. The veteran right-hander is winless over his last four starts and owns a 6.60 ERA in his past three.
June 4 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Matt Garza allowed two runs - one earned - on three hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-8 on Saturday. Garza struck out two, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza left the game with a bruised chest. He collided near first with Aguilar after the first baseman fielded Bellinger's leadoff grounder in the fourth, was checked by head athletic trainer Dan Wright and remained in the game, then was pinch hit for in the bottom half. His status is uncertain.
May 30 10:04 AM PT11:04 AM MT12:04 PM CT1:04 PM ET13:04 ET17:04 GMT1:04 10:04 AM MST12:04 PM EST12:34 PM VEN21:04 UAE12:04 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 2-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Monday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 24 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Matt Garza fell to 2-1, allowing six runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Wednesday. Garza struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:28 AM PT8:28 AM MT9:28 AM CT10:28 AM ET10:28 ET14:28 GMT22:28 7:28 AM MST9:28 AM EST9:58 AM VEN18:28 UAE9:28 AM CT-Matt Garza allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Wednesday. Garza struck out three, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza has a 1.89 ERA over his last three starts. Don't expect this apparent renaissance to last, though, as his peripherals suggest a little regression is in order.
May 12 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Matt Garza improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the New York Mets 7-4 on Friday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza has allowed three earned runs or fewer in each of his four starts.
May 6 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Matt Garza allowed one run on eight hits in 7.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1 on Saturday. Garza struck out four, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Garza improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Garza struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garza earned his first victory in his third start after missing the first two weeks of the season with a strained groin.
Mar. 30 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Garza is slated to be activated off the DL (right groin strain) and make his first start of the season to open the three-game series at home on Monday against the Reds.
Analysis: Garza is 4-5 with a 4.84 ERA in 14 career starts vs. Cincinnati, including 0-2 last season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.