MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Jason Hammel
ERA W-L K
3.55 7-6 148
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-6 / 225 NFBC ADP: 290.60
Position: SPBorn: 9/2/1982 Birthplace: Greenville, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 10th Round by Devil Rays (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 24 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Hammel earned his first win in four starts this month Sunday with a 9-3 victory over Atlanta.
Analysis: Hammel (7-5, 3.35 ERA) yielded two runs in 6 1-3 innings while fanning eight and contributed a run-scoring single in the fourth.
July 10 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs do not expect Hammel to miss a turn in the rotation because of a hamstring problem.
Analysis: Hammel, 5-4 with a 2.86 ERA in 17 starts, left Wednesday's game against St. Louis because of tightness in his left hamstring. An MRI showed no major structural damage, and manager Joe Maddon has the right-hander penciled in to start at Cincinnati on July 21.
June 29 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Hammel took his third loss of the year Sunday, giving up four runs in four innings of a 4-1 loss at St. Louis.
Analysis: Hammel has now failed to complete more than five innings in three of his last four outings.
June 19 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Hammel had his shortest start of the season Thursday at Cleveland, giving up three runs - two earned - and three hits with two walks over four innings in the Cubs' 4-3 loss. He wasn't charged with the defeat, though, keeping his record at 5-2.
Analysis: Hammel has failed to throw seven innings now in three of his last four starts after doing so in five of his previous six.
June 7 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Hammel added to his dominance over the Washington Nationals in the Cubs' 4-2 victory Saturday.
Analysis: Hammel (5-2, 2.76 ERA) gave up two runs in eight innings while stike out seven, and he improved to 9-0 with a 3.01 ERA in 11 starts against the Nationals.
June 2 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Hammel won his fourth decision Monday at Miami, striking out a career-high 11 while limiting the Marlins to one run and five hits over 6 2-3 innings in a 5-1 victory.
Analysis: Hammel has been extremely impressive this year, compiling a 0.90 WHIP that ranks fourth in baseball.
May 25 10:56 AM PT11:56 AM MT12:56 PM CT1:56 PM ET13:56 ET17:56 GMT1:56 10:56 AM MST12:56 PM EST1:26 PM VEN21:56 UAE12:56 PM CT-Hammel went seven innings Sunday, allowing four runs on five hits with nine strikeouts and an intentional walk.
Analysis: Hammel is winless in three starts.
May 14 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Hammel was excellent Wednesday against the New York Mets.
Analysis: Hammel allowed one run over eight innings and struck out six, lowering his ERA to 3.11.
Apr. 12 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Hammel opened his season with a solid outing and had two hits in a 9-5 victory Saturday against his former team, the Colorado Rockies.
Analysis: Hammel allowed three runs and eight hits in six innings while striking out six.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.