MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#51
Jason Vargas
ERA W-L K
3.31 8-4 82
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-0 / 215 NFBC ADP: 430.94
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1983 Birthplace: Apple Valley, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Marlins (2004)


Latest News
July 10 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-The Royals placed Vargas on the disabled list after an appendectomy and recalled reliever Louis Coleman from Triple-A Omaha before Thursday night's game against Detroit. Vargas began experiencing pain early Wednesday in Tampa, and underwent the procedure later in the day. He remained in Florida after the Royals beat the Rays to wrap up their series.
Analysis: Vargas is off to the best start of his nine-year big league career. He's 8-4 with 3.31 ERA in 19 starts, solidifying a rotation that lost Ervin Santana to free agency last season.
July 9 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Vargas has been taken to the hospital and will have an appendectomy. Royals manager Ned Yost announced the news before Wednesday game against Tampa Bay and said surgery was planned for Wednesday night.
Analysis: There was no timetable given for how long Vargas will be out. Bruce Chen could replace Vargas in Sunday's game against Detroit.
July 9 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Vargas took his fourth loss of the season in Tuesday's 4-3 defeat at Tampa Bay, giving up two runs and six hits over 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Vargas, who was backed by one run of support, has received one run of support or fewer in three of his four losses this year.
July 3 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Vargas fired a gem Wednesday.
Analysis: Vargas threw seven scoreless innings as he allowed four singles and two walks while striking out five, allowing only two runners from a diluted Twins lineup to reach second base. Only five of their 21 outs against him were outfield flies. He'll face the Rays next.
June 22 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Vargas was a tough-luck loser Saturday.
Analysis: Vargas gave up 10 hits and two runs in 8 2-3 innings, losing for the first time since May 19. He's a fantasy player on the rise.
May 10 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Vargas allowed three hits over seven innings and the Kansas Royals had 16 hits - all singles - in a 6-1 victory over the Seattle Mariners on Friday night.
Analysis: Vargas (3-1, 3.04 ERA), who pitched for the Mariners for four seasons (2009-12), struck out six without a walk. He is 3-1 with a 1.59 ERA in four career starts against his former team. It also was the first road victory for Vargas, who signed a four-year, free-agent deal with the Royals in November.
May 5 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Vargas was tagged for a season-high seven runs and 11 hits in five innings Sunday in a 9-4 loss to Detroit.
Analysis: Vargas (2-1, 3.50 ERA) allowed 12 runs and 21 hits over 11 1-3 innings in his last two starts. He was 2-0 with a 1.54 ERA in his first five games this season.
Apr. 24 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET14:08 ET18:08 GMT2:08 11:08 AM MST1:08 PM EST1:38 PM VEN22:08 UAE1:08 PM CT-Vargas did not receive a decision Wednesday.
Analysis: Vargas gave up three runs in six innings. He will face the Jays next.
Apr. 19 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Vargas was strong again in his second victory of the season Friday against Minnesota, yielding seven hits over seven shutout innings.
Analysis: Vargas has been one of the most pleasant surprises in baseball thus far with a 1.24 ERA through four outings.
Apr. 14 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Vargas limited Minnesota to two runs and five hits over seven innings on Sunday.
Analysis: Vargas continues to look like a solid pickup for Kansas City with a 1.64 ERA through his first three outings.
Apr. 8 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Vargas allowed one run and four hits in eight innings, earning the win in Monday's 4-2 victory over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: It was an impressive showing for Vargas, who now owns a 1.20 ERA through his first two starts.

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.