MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Shin-Soo Choo
AVG HR RBI
.286 0 3
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 5-11 / 205 NFBC ADP: 39.23
Position: LFBorn: 7/13/1982 Birthplace: Busan, South Korea
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2000)


Latest News
Dec. 27 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 CST2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Choo has officially joined the Texas Rangers, a team that went into this offseason looking to remake its offense.
Analysis: The 31-year-old South Korean was introduced Friday, and general manager Jon Daniels called him a "right fit" for the club. Choo received a $130 million, seven-year contract. That deal was agreed upon last weekend, pending the completion of a physical. He has a .288 career average and .389 on-base percentage in 853 major league games for Seattle (2005-06), Cleveland (2006-12) and Cincinnati.
Dec. 26 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 CST9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE10:14 PM CT-A person familiar with the situation tells The Associated Press that Choo has passed his physical and will be formally introduced by the Texas Rangers on Friday.
Analysis: The person spoke on condition of anonymity Thursday night because there was no official announcement from the team about Choo, whose agreement last weekend to a $130 million, seven-year contract was pending the physical. The Rangers scheduled a press conference Friday to ''announce a major free agent signing.'' The team provided no other details.
Dec. 21 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 CST3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Choo agreed to a $130 million, seven-year contract with the Rangers, a person familiar with the deal told The Associated Press on Saturday.
Analysis: Choo could be at the top or in the middle of the Texas lineup. He was Cincinnati's leadoff hitter for 143 games last season, when he had a .423 on-base percentage with 20 stolen bases and 21 home runs.
Nov. 4 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 CST3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-The Reds made a $14.1 million qualifying offer to leadoff hitter Shin-Soo Choo.
Analysis: Choo was one of the top leadoff hitters in the majors with a .423 on-base percentage, a .285 batting average, 21 homers, 54 RBIs, 20 steals and 107 runs scored. He avoided arbitration last season by agreeing to a one-year, $7,375,000 deal. If Choo declines the offer and signs with another team, the Reds will get compensation in next June's amateur draft.
Sep. 24 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 CST2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Choo went 3 for 6 with a double and two RBIs in a 3-2, 10-inning victory over the Mets on Monday.
Analysis: Choo had been 3 for 26 over his previous eight games.
Sep. 2 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 CST12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Choo went 3 for 5 with a two-run homer in Sunday's 7-4 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: Choo has gone 10 for 22 with two homers, four RBIs and six runs during a modest five-game hitting streak.
Sep. 1 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 CST1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Choo had three hits and drove in a run in the Reds' 8-3 win over Colorado on Saturday night.
Analysis: Choo is 7 for 17 in his last four games after going 1 for 15 in his previous four.
Aug. 22 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 CST2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Choo was 4 for 5, hitting his 16th homer in Cincinnati's 10-7 win over Arizona on Wednesday.
Analysis: Choo's four-hit game was his second of the season and ninth of his career.
July 23 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 CST1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Choo was 2 for 4 with his 16th home run in Cincinnati's 11-0 win at San Francisco on Monday, extending the majors' longest active hitting streak to 16 games.
Analysis: Choo is hitting .431 during the streak with 15 runs scored.
July 22 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 CST2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Choo went 2 for 3 in Sunday's 3-2 loss to the Bucs.
Analysis: Choo is sizzling with a .426 average during a 15-game hitting streak.
July 14 8:58 AM PT9:58 AM MT10:58 AM CT11:58 AM ET11:58 ET15:58 GMT23:58 CST8:58 AM MST10:58 AM EST11:28 AM VEN19:58 UAE10:58 AM CT-Choo went 2 for 4 in Saturday's 5-2 loss to Atlanta to extend his hitting streak to 11.
Analysis: Choo is batting .413 in that stretch.
July 11 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 CST2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Choo had three hits, including a double, and scored two runs to help the Reds beat Milwaukee 6-2 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Choo is batting .396 over an eight-game hitting streak.
June 30 12:10 PM PT1:10 PM MT2:10 PM CT3:10 PM ET15:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 CST12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE2:10 PM CT-Choo had three hits, including a homer, and two runs scored Saturday in a 6-4, 11-inning win over Texas.
Analysis: Choo had been 1 for 19 over his previous six games.
June 9 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 CST2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Choo had two hits Saturday in a 4-2 win over the Cards.
Analysis: Choo is 9 for 30 against St. Louis.
June 5 12:12 PM PT1:12 PM MT2:12 PM CT3:12 PM ET15:12 ET19:12 GMT3:12 CST12:12 PM MST2:12 PM EST2:42 PM VEN23:12 UAE2:12 PM CT-Choo was 2 for 5 with a double in Cincinnati's 5-4 loss to Colorado on Tuessday.
Analysis: Choo has fallen off significantly from the pace he was on to start the season. He's just 12 for 64 (.188) over his last 17 games, lowering his season batting average from .322 to .282.
May 16 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 CST1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Choo was 4 for 5 with two home runs in Cincinnati's 4-0 win at Miami on Wednesday.
Analysis: A multi-homer game is a big boost for anyone, but it seems particularly true for Choo, who had been 1 for 15 with six strikeouts over his previous five contests.
May 8 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 CST8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Devin Mesoraco homered on a full-count pitch from Craig Kimbrel with two outs in the ninth inning on Tuesday night, and Choo followed with his second homer of the game, rallying the Cincinnati Reds to a 5-4 victory over the Atlanta Braves.
Analysis: Choo is batting .381 with three homers, seven runs scored and four RBIs over his last five games. He's hitting .333 on the season.
Apr. 26 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 CST1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Choo walked in the ninth inning of Thursday's 8-1 loss to Washington and has now reached base safely in his first 22 games this season.
Analysis: Choo's OBP is a MLB-best .523.
Apr. 24 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 CST1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Choo had three hits Tuesday in a 4-2, 10-inning loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Choo is batting .387 with a .535 OBP.
Apr. 21 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 CST12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Choo went 3 for 4 in a 3-2, 13-inning victory over Miami on Saturday.
Analysis: Choo is 6 for 12 with two doubles and a triple over his last three games.
Feb. 11 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 CST3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Choo and the Reds have agreed on a one-year contract for $7,375,000 leaving two Cincinnati players in salary arbitration.
Analysis: Choo made $4.9 million last season with Cleveland, which traded him to the Reds as part of a three-team deal in December. The Reds plan to start him in center field in place of Drew Stubbs - who went to the Indians - and bat him leadoff. He had asked for $8 million in arbitration, and the Reds had offered $6.75 million. Choo filed for the highest figure among the six Reds in arbitration.

w2 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.