MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Felix Hernandez
3.53 18-9 191
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-3 / 225 NFBC ADP: 13.68
Position: SPBorn: 4/8/1986 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2002)

Latest News
Oct. 1 11:11 PM PT12:11 AM MT1:11 AM CT2:11 AM ET2:11 ET6:11 GMT14:11 11:11 PM MST1:11 AM EST1:41 AM VEN10:11 UAE1:11 AM CT-Manager Lloyd McClendon announced Wednesday that Hernandez won't pitch in Seattle's final series this weekend against Oakland, saying it wasn't worth the stress on Hernandez's arm to have him make one more start in a game lacking meaning aside from personal statistics.
Analysis: McClendon said he would have changed his thinking if the Mariners were facing a team that was in a playoff chase or Hernandez had a chance for a career-best 20th victory. Hernandez missed out on win No. 19 last Saturday against the Los Angeles Angels. Hernandez will finish the season with an 18-9 record and 3.53 ERA. Hernandez said his pitching arm is fine.
Sep. 30 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Hernandez will not pitch again this season, manager Lloyd McClendon announced Wednesday.
Analysis: The Mariners won't make their ace make a meaningless start with nothing to play for in this weekend's final series. Hernandez finishes another strong season 18-9 with a 3.53 ERA and 191 strikeouts in 31 starts.
Sep. 27 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE2:05 PM CT-Hernandez wasn't able to get his 19th win Saturday.
Analysis: He was solid in Seattle's extra-inning loss to the Angels, allowing two runs and striking out six in six innings. Hernandez has been good down the stretch, posting a 4-1 record with a 2.74 ERA over his last six starts.
Sep. 16 10:39 AM PT11:39 AM MT12:39 PM CT1:39 PM ET13:39 ET17:39 GMT1:39 10:39 AM MST12:39 PM EST1:09 PM VEN21:39 UAE12:39 PM CT-Hernandez fell to 17-9 on Tuesday as his three-start win streak ended.
Analysis: Hernandez went seven innings, allowing four runs and five hits, striking out five and walking two.
Sep. 11 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Hernandez won his third straight start Thursday, striking out eight while yielding three hits over eight innings in a 5-0 victory against Texas.
Analysis: Hernandez is back on track, posting a 1.88 ERA during his three-start winning streak.
Sep. 6 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Hernandez picked up his 16th win after allowing three runs and striking out nine over eight innings Saturday against Oakland.
Analysis: The Seattle ace was coming off a 10-day layoff, having had his last turn skipped for rest purposes. Hernandez has posted a 2.81 ERA in winning his last two starts and is tied with Dallas Keuchel for the AL wins lead.
Aug. 30 11:43 AM PT12:43 PM MT1:43 PM CT2:43 PM ET14:43 ET18:43 GMT2:43 11:43 AM MST1:43 PM EST2:13 PM VEN22:43 UAE1:43 PM CT-Felix Hernandez will be skipped in the Mariners' pitching rotation this coming week, manager Lloyd McClendon said Saturday.
Analysis: Hernandez had been slotted to pitch Monday in Houston, but McClendon said Vidal Nuno will instead get the start.
Aug. 22 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Hernandez dropped a second straight start for the first time since September 2013, yielding four runs over six innings in an 11-4 loss to the White Sox on Friday.
Analysis: King Felix has simply not been right lately, going 2-3 with an 8.48 ERA in his last five games.
July 10 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Hernandez had his third scoreless outing in five starts Thursday, allowing five hits over seven innings in a 7-2 win over the Angels.
Analysis: Hernandez is 2-2 with a 1.56 ERA in his last five starts while getting just eight runs of support from the offense.
June 23 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Hernandez suffered his fourth loss Monday after allowing four runs, nine hits and a walk in 6 2/3 innings. He struck out five.
Analysis: Hernandez was facing the Royals for the first time in two years in a matchup between the 'King' and the current kings of the AL.
June 18 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Hernandez tied Gerrit Cole for the major league lead with his 10th victory Wednesday versus San Francisco.
Analysis: Hernandez, who gave up four hits over eight innings in a 2-0 victory, provided fantasy owners with some relief after giving up eight runs and recording one out in his previous start.
June 13 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-The Houston Astros chased Hernandez in an eight-run first inning to snap a season-high, seven-game skid with a 10-0 win over the Seattle Mariners on Friday night.
Analysis: Hernandez (9-3, 3.38 ERA), who had allowed just seven runs on the road all season, was tagged for five hits and eight runs with two walks. He got only one out, tying the shortest start of his career.
June 7 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Hernandez allowed just one run on two hits in seven innings for his ninth win Saturday.
Analysis: Hernandez recovered from an uncharacteristic outing last time out when he allowed seven runs and lasted just 4 2/3 innings as he struggled with command in last Monday's loss to the New York Yankees.
June 2 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Hernandez surrendered seven runs - his most since 2013 - and six hits over 4 2-3 innings of a 7-2 loss to the New York Yankees on Monday. His five walks were one shy of a career high.
Analysis: Even with Monday's uncharacteristic showing, King Felix is still 8-2 with a 2.63 ERA. Owners shouldn't be too concerned about the bad outing.
May 28 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Hernandez pitched a four-hitter to become the major's first eight-game winner, and the Seattle Mariners completed a three-game sweep by beating the Tampa Bay Rays 3-0 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Hernandez (8-1, 1.91 ERA) got four double plays in his second shutout this season. It was his first win at Tropicana Field after going 0-2 in four previous starts.
May 11 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Hernandez became the fourth-youngest player to reach 2,000 strikeouts in a 4-3 win against the Oakland Athletics on Sunday with a fifth-inning strikeout of leadoff hitter Sam Fuld.
Analysis: Hernandez started Sunday's game against the Oakland Athletics with 1,995 strikeouts. He fell behind Fuld 3-1 before striking him out looking at a fastball for No. 2,000. As the accomplishment was noted on the stadium video board, the fans rose for a standing ovation and Hernandez stepped off the mound to acknowledge the moment.
May 5 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-King Felix allowed one run and six hits with eight strikeouts over seven innings in Monday's 3-2 win over the Angels.
Analysis: Hernandez became the first Seattle starter since 2001 to win his first five decisions. That year, Aaron Sele started 8-0, Freddy Garcia 6-0 and Jamie Moyer 5-0.
Apr. 25 6:09 PM PT7:09 PM MT8:09 PM CT9:09 PM ET21:09 ET1:09 GMT9:09 6:09 PM MST8:09 PM EST8:39 PM VEN5:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Hernandez allowed five hits and struck out nine in a complete-game gem in Friday's 2-0 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Hernandez is 3-0 with a 1.61 ERA with 32 strikeouts in four starts.
Apr. 19 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Hernandez allowed one run and two hits in seven innings Saturday, striking out 12.
Analysis: King Felix was in fine form over the weekend. He has reached double digit strikout totals in two of his three starts this season, and his ERA now sits at 2.37.
Apr. 13 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Hernandez was mediocre Sunday at Oakland, giving up three runs and eight hits over five innings in the 8-7 win, though he didn't earn the victory.
Analysis: Hernandez only struck out one batter, marking just the fifth time in 305 starts he's failed to strike out at least two.
Apr. 12 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Hernandez was removed from his Sunday start at Oakland after five innings as a precaution because of tightness in his right quadriceps muscle.
Analysis: After falling behind 3-0, Seattle rallied with a four-run sixth to take the lead and keep Hernandez in position to win - and keep intact his unbeaten streak at the Coliseum dating to 2009. In the bottom of the fifth, athletic trainer Rick Griffin and manager Lloyd McClendon came to the mound to check on Hernandez. The right-hander stayed in the game. He was trying for his 20th victory against the A's, which would pass John Lackey for most among active pitchers.
Apr. 7 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Hernandez struck out 10 and allowed only two hits over seven innings as the Mariners beat the Los Angeles Angels 4-1 on Monday.
Analysis: Hernandez is now 4-0 with a 0.88 ERA in his last six starts against the Angels.
Mar. 28 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Hernandez is all set to start on opening day for the seventh straight year. Mariners manager Lloyd McClendon made it official on Saturday. Hernandez will pitch April 6 in Seattle against the AL West champion Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: This will be the eighth career opening-day start for Hernandez. He is 5-0 with a 1.52 ERA in previous openers. McClendon had previously said he was ''99.999 percent'' sure Hernandez would be the starter, and now has made it 100 percent certain.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.