MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#56
Joe Blanton
ERA S K
7.03 0 30
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 221 NFBC ADP: 651.20
Position: RPBorn: 12/11/1980 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Wednesday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.03 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 10-1 on Wednesday. Blanton struck out two, ending the game with a 7.11 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:37 AM PT9:37 AM MT10:37 AM CT11:37 AM ET11:37 ET15:37 GMT23:37 8:37 AM MST10:37 AM EST11:07 AM VEN19:37 UAE10:37 AM CT-Joe Blanton allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-3 on Tuesday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.34 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 30 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-6 on Sunday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.31 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
July 25 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-0 on Tuesday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.24 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:27 AM PT8:27 AM MT9:27 AM CT10:27 AM ET10:27 ET14:27 GMT22:27 7:27 AM MST9:27 AM EST9:57 AM VEN18:27 UAE9:27 AM CT-Joe Blanton improved to 1-2, allowing no hits over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Sunday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.46 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Friday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.66 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 20 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Joe Blanton allowed three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-0 on Wednesday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.77 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 17 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Joe Blanton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-1 on Monday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 16 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 14-4 on Sunday. Blanton struck out three, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 9 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-5 on Sunday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 8 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Joe Blanton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-0 on Saturday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
July 7 11:05 PM PT12:05 AM MT1:05 AM CT2:05 AM ET2:05 ET6:05 GMT14:05 11:05 PM MST1:05 AM EST1:35 AM VEN10:05 UAE1:05 AM CT-Joe Blanton allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Thursday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.97 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
July 3 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Monday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
June 29 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Thursday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.84 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
June 25 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Sunday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
June 24 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 18-3 on Saturday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.72 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one run on one hit in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 8-3 on Thursday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with an 8.22 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-Joe Blanton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 5-1 on Sunday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with an 8.78 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 17 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Blanton (shoulder inflammation) was removed from the DL on Sunday.
Analysis: Blanton had been struggling mightily with a 9.49 ERA, and this may have been the reason why.
May 8 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed three hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Monday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.75 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
May 4 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Thursday. Blanton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.64 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
May 3 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3 on Tuesday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with a 9.82 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Joe Blanton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 23-5 on Sunday. Blanton struck out two, ending the game with a 9.90 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Joe Blanton allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 16-5 on Thursday. Blanton struck out one, ending the game with an 11.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 28 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET17:05 GMT1:05 10:05 AM MST12:05 PM EST12:35 PM VEN21:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-A person with knowledge of the deal tells The Associated Press that Blanton and the Washington Nationals have agreed to a $4 million, one-year contract. The person spoke to the AP on condition of anonymity on Tuesday because the agreement had not been announced.
Analysis: The 36-year-old Blanton was a free agent after pitching for the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2016, when the right-hander went 7-2 with a 2.48 ERA and 80 strikeouts in 80 innings across 75 regular-season appearances. He then went 1-0 and allowed only one hit in five scoreless innings in four games for LA during an NL Division Series victory over Washington.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.