MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
José Bautista
AVG HR RBI
.222 15 50
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205 NFBC ADP: 26.44
Position: RFBorn: 10/19/1980 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 20th Round by Pirates (2000)


Latest News
Aug. 10 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Bautista is back on the 15-day disabled list due to a sprained left knee.
Analysis: He was on the DL from June 17-July 24 with a strained left big toe. He hit just .190 with three homers and seven RBIs in 15 games after coming back from the toe injury.
Aug. 8 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Bautista had two hits with three RBIs in Monday's win over the Rays.
Analysis: The struggling slugger had just two RBIs in his previous nine contests.
Aug. 6 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Bautista singled and walked in Friday's win at Kansas City.
Analysis: Bautista, who is batting .163 with three homers, nine walks and 13 strikeouts in 11 games since coming off the DL, is 4 for 8 with four walks lifetime against Danny Duffy, Kansas City's scheduled starter for Saturday.
Aug. 4 6:36 AM PT7:36 AM MT8:36 AM CT9:36 AM ET9:36 ET13:36 GMT21:36 6:36 AM MST8:36 AM EST9:06 AM VEN17:36 UAE8:36 AM CT-Bautista hit a solo homer for the second straight game Wednesday.
Analysis: He seems to be getting his stroke back after spending over a month on the disabled list. Bautista is 3 for 7 over his last two games after going 3 for 28 in his first seven contests after being activated.
Aug. 3 9:54 AM PT10:54 AM MT11:54 AM CT12:54 PM ET12:54 ET16:54 GMT0:54 9:54 AM MST11:54 AM EST12:24 PM VEN20:54 UAE11:54 AM CT-Bautista was 2 for 4 with his 300th career homer in Tuesday's 3-2 win over Houston.
Analysis: The slugger had been 2 for 21 with 10 strikeouts in his previous five games. He didn't strike out once Tuesday.
Aug. 2 7:49 AM PT8:49 AM MT9:49 AM CT10:49 AM ET10:49 ET14:49 GMT22:49 7:49 AM MST9:49 AM EST10:19 AM VEN18:49 UAE9:49 AM CT-Bautista was 0 for 5 with a walk in Monday's 14-inning loss to Houston.
Analysis: In seven games since coming off the DL, Bautista has gone 3 for 28 with a homer, 10 strikeouts and seven walks. He'll get his first look at the Astros' Lance McCullers on Tuesday.
June 16 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Bautista went 1 for 3 with a walk in Monday's 4-2 win over San Diego after he was activated from the disabled list earlier in the day.
Analysis: Bautista, who had been out since June 16 with a toe injury, is 9 for 39 (.231) in his last 11 games.
June 13 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Bautista is back in the lineup at designated hitter for Monday's game against Philadelphia after missing the previous three because of a sore right thigh.
Analysis: Bautista left in the sixth inning against Baltimore on Thursday after reaching base in his first four plate appearances. A six-time All Star, he is hitting .234 with 12 homers and 40 RBIs.
June 10 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Bautista is expected to serve as the designated hitter for Monday's game against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Bautista missed the final three games of Toronto's weekend series with Baltimore after hurting his right quad in Thursday's opener.
May 30 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Bautista stayed hot by delivering a two-run homer in Sunday's loss to Boston.
Analysis: It's the slugger's fourth home run in eight games and he's hit safely in nine straight since moving to the leadoff spot. Bautista has driven in 15 runs over his last 13 contests.
May 29 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Bautista went 2 for 5 with an RBI in Saturday's win over Boston.
Analysis: A move to the leadoff spot is working out well for both Bautista and the Blue Jays. He's batting .333 with three homers and seven RBIs over an eight-game hitting streak since shifting to the top of the order.
May 27 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Bautista's one-game suspension for his involvement with the May 15 brawl with Texas was upheld.
Analysis: He will sit Friday's game.
May 22 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Bautista hit a two-run homer, his ninth of the season, in a 5-3 loss to Minnesota on Saturday.
Analysis: Bautista has 11 of his 33 RBIs and three home runs in his last seven games. He has 13 homers in 20 games at Target Field.
May 21 11:41 AM PT12:41 PM MT1:41 PM CT2:41 PM ET14:41 ET18:41 GMT2:41 11:41 AM MST1:41 PM EST2:11 PM VEN22:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Bautista was sensational Friday.
Analysis: Bautista was 2 for 5 with a three-run jack. Bautista is 5 for 15 since he was socked in the jaw by the Rangers' Rougned Odor in a good, old-fashioned fistfight that finally got the young kids talking about baseball. Maybe that punch jolted Bautista into hitting again.
May 20 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Bautista was 1 for 4 Thursday.
Analysis: Bautista is 3 for 10 since he was punched in the face by the Rangers' Rougned Odor in an incident that will be notorious in baseball infamy.
May 19 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Bautista was 0 for 3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Bautista is hitting .222, although he is best known for being punched out by the Rangers' Rougned Odor in an incident that will live on in baseball infamy.
May 18 11:28 PM PT12:28 AM MT1:28 AM CT2:28 AM ET2:28 ET6:28 GMT14:28 11:28 PM MST1:28 AM EST1:58 AM VEN10:28 UAE1:28 AM CT-Bautista hit a two-run jack Tuesday.
Analysis: Bautista jacked one out of the yard two days after he was jacked in a fight with Rougned Odor, who punched his lights out.
May 17 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Bautista has been suspended one game by Major League Baseball for Sunday's fight with Texas' Rougned Odor.
Analysis: Bautista has appealed the decision, so he'll be available for Tuesday's game against Tampa Bay.
May 7 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Bautista had a two-run homer in Friday's win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: The Toronto slugger is hitting just .217 thus far but continues to be productive, ranking second among Blue Jays players with six home runs and 22 RBIs.
Apr. 25 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Bautista cracked a two-run homer in Sunday's win over Oakland.
Analysis: The slugger had gone six straight without a home run and was 3 for 22 during the drought.
Apr. 18 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Bautista hit his third home run on Sunday, a first-inning solo shot.
Analysis: He also added a run-scoring double for his 10th RBI in 13 games.
Apr. 10 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Bautista hit a pair of two-run homers in Saturday's loss to Boston.
Analysis: Those are his only two blasts over his first seven games.
Apr. 6 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Bautista hit a triple and walked three times on Tuesday.
Analysis: He also scored a run in Toronto's 3-2 loss at Tampa Bay.
Feb. 23 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-New Blue Jays general manager Ross Atkins wouldn't publicly address Bautista's stance on what it would take for Toronto to sign him to a deal beyond 2016.
Analysis: A day after Bautista said he and his agent had told Toronto two weeks ago what kind of agreement he wanted, Atkins said "it doesn't need to be public and it won't be from our end." Bautista is earning $14 million this year after the Blue Jays exercised the 2016 option in the outfielder's current deal, and he can become a free agent after the World Series. The 35-year-old had 40 homers and 114 RBIs last season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2004 Bal 16 11 3 3 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .273 .333 .273
2004 TB 12 12 1 2 0 0 0 1 3 7 0 1 .167 .333 .167
2004 KC 13 25 1 5 1 0 0 1 1 12 0 0 .200 .231 .240
2004 Pit 23 40 1 8 2 0 0 0 2 18 0 0 .200 .238 .250
2004 Tot 64 88 6 18 3 0 0 2 7 40 0 1 .205 .263 .239
2005 Pit 11 28 3 4 1 0 0 1 3 7 1 0 .143 .226 .179
2006 Pit 117 400 58 94 20 3 16 51 46 110 2 4 .235 .335 .420
2007 Pit 142 532 75 135 36 2 15 63 68 101 6 3 .254 .339 .414
2008 Pit 107 314 38 76 15 0 12 44 38 77 1 1 .242 .325 .404
2008 Tor 21 56 7 12 2 0 3 10 2 14 0 0 .214 .237 .411
2008 Tot 128 370 45 88 17 0 15 54 40 91 1 1 .238 .313 .405
2009 Tor 113 336 54 79 13 3 13 40 56 85 4 0 .235 .349 .408
2010 Tor 161 569 109 148 35 3 54 124 100 116 9 2 .260 .378 .617
2011 Tor 149 513 105 155 24 2 43 103 132 111 9 5 .302 .447 .608
2012 Tor 92 332 64 80 14 0 27 65 59 63 5 2 .241 .358 .527
2013 Tor 118 452 82 117 24 0 28 73 69 84 7 2 .259 .358 .498
2014 Tor 155 553 101 158 27 0 35 103 104 96 6 2 .286 .403 .524
2015 Tor 153 543 108 136 29 3 40 114 110 106 8 2 .250 .377 .536
2016 Tor 81 297 46 66 19 1 15 50 58 64 1 1 .222 .347 .444
Career 1484 5013 856 1278 262 17 301 843 852 1074 59 25 .255 .367 .494

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Tor Total 11 41 7 12 3 0 4 11 8 7 0 0 .293 .408 .659
    LDS 5 22 3 6 2 0 2 5 1 2 0 0 .273 .304 .636
    LCS 6 19 4 6 1 0 2 6 7 5 0 0 .316 .500 .684
Career 11 41 7 12 3 0 4 11 8 7 0 0 .293 .408 .659


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.