MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#4
John Buck
AVG HR RBI
.182 0 0
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 537.62
Position: CBorn: 7/7/1980 Birthplace: Kemmerer, Wyoming
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Astros (1998)


Latest News
Jan. 16 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 CST4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-The Seattle Mariners have signed catcher John Buck to a one-year deal, adding another veteran option behind the plate. The Mariners announced the signing Thursday. The team designated for assignment outfielder Carlos Peguero to clear a spot on the 40-man roster for Buck.
Analysis: Buck, 33, appeared in 110 games last season with the New York Mets and Pittsburgh. Buck played in 101 games for the Mets and was a backup for the Pirates after being traded to Pittsburgh on Aug. 27. Buck hit .215 with 15 homers and 60 RBIs for the Mets before the trade. He has hit 63 homers over the last four seasons, fifth-most among all catchers.
Aug. 30 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 CST2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Making his Pirates debut, John Buck went 3 for 3 while subbing for starting catcher Russell Martin in Thursday's 4-0 loss to the Brewers.
Analysis: Pittsburgh acquired Buck and outfielder Marlon Byrd from the New York Mets on Tuesday. "It kind of gets you into the flow to have a game like this," Buck said.
Aug. 27 12:06 PM PT1:06 PM MT2:06 PM CT3:06 PM ET15:06 ET19:06 GMT3:06 CST12:06 PM MST2:06 PM EST2:36 PM VEN23:06 UAE2:06 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates have acquired outfielder Marlon Byrd and Buck from the New York Mets.
Analysis: Pittsburgh general manager Neal Huntington announced the deal on Tuesday afternoon. Buck, 33, is batting .215 with 15 home runs and 60 RBIs. Since the beginning of the 2010 season, Buck's 63 home runs as a catcher rank third in the majors.
Aug. 16 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 CST12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Buck belted his 15th homer in Thursday's 4-1 win at San Diego.
Analysis: With 60 RBIs, Buck is six away from matching his career high set in 2010 while with Toronto.
July 31 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 CST1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Buck hit a tiebreaking two-run single that lifted the New York Mets to a 4-2 win in Miami on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Buck, hitting .221 this season, is 16 for 53 (.302) with five doubles, a home run and 15 RBIs in his last 14 games.
May 4 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 CST3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Buck belted a two-run homer Friday in a 7-5, 10-inning win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Buck has driven in two runs in each of his last three games. He leads the NL with 29 RBIs.
May 2 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 CST3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Buck had a season-high three hits and drove in two runs in the New York Mets' 7-6 win over Miami on Wednesday.
Analysis: Buck was hitting .160 in his previous 13 games. Before that slump, he had homered in four straight contests. His performance Wednesday gave him an NL-best 27 RBIs.
Apr. 30 11:38 AM PT12:38 PM MT1:38 PM CT2:38 PM ET14:38 ET18:38 GMT2:38 CST11:38 AM MST1:38 PM EST2:08 PM VEN22:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Buck went deep in Monday's 4-3, 15-inning loss at Miami, tying a team record with his ninth home run in April.
Analysis: Buck is tied for fourth in the majors and leads his position with 25 RBIs.
Apr. 22 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 CST3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Buck smashed his seventh homer to help the Mets beat the Nationals 2-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: While it was his first homer since April 12, Buck has seven with 22 RBIs on the season.
Apr. 13 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 CST9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Buck kept up his powerful start with a grand slam, his fourth home run in the last four games, as the Mets beat the Twins 16-5 on Friday.
Analysis: Buck became only the fourth major league player in at least 92 years to reach 19 RBIs in the first 10 games of a season, dating to 1921. Chris Davis did it for Baltimore this year, Manny Ramirez for Cleveland in 1999 and Lou Gehrig for the Yankees in 1927. In his first two weeks with the Mets after being traded twice during the offseason, Buck already has six homers. His career high is 20.
Apr. 11 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 CST2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Buck homered in his third straight game, Wednesday's 7-3 loss to the Phillies.
Analysis: Buck leads the team with five homers and 15 RBIs.
Apr. 4 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 CST3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Buck went 2 for 4 with three RBIs in an 8-4 win over San Diego on Wednesday.
Analysis: Buck also homered and has gone 4 for 8 in two games.
Apr. 1 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 CST3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Buck went 2 for 4 with an RBI single in Monday's 11-2 win over the Padres.
Analysis: It was Buck's first game as a Met after being acquired in the R.A. Dickey trade.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2004 KC 71 238 36 56 9 0 12 30 15 79 1 1 .235 .280 .424
2005 KC 118 401 40 97 21 1 12 47 23 94 2 2 .242 .287 .389
2006 KC 114 371 37 91 21 1 11 50 26 84 0 2 .245 .306 .396
2007 KC 113 347 41 77 18 0 18 48 36 92 0 1 .222 .308 .429
2008 KC 109 370 48 83 23 1 9 48 38 96 0 3 .224 .304 .365
2009 KC 59 186 16 46 12 4 8 36 13 55 1 1 .247 .299 .484
2010 Tor 118 409 53 115 25 0 20 66 16 111 0 0 .281 .314 .489
2011 Fla 140 466 41 106 15 1 16 57 54 115 0 1 .227 .316 .367
2012 Mia 106 343 29 66 15 1 12 41 49 103 0 0 .192 .297 .347
2013 NYM 101 368 38 79 11 0 15 60 29 99 2 1 .215 .285 .367
2013 Pit 9 24 1 8 0 0 0 2 0 5 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2013 Tot 110 392 39 87 11 0 15 62 29 104 2 1 .222 .288 .365
2014 Sea 3 11 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .182 .250 .182
Career 1061 3534 381 826 170 9 133 485 300 935 6 12 .234 .301 .400

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.