MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#53
Joaquín Benoit
ERA S K
2.81 1 52
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 250 NFBC ADP: 332.59
Position: RPBorn: 7/26/1977 Birthplace: Santiago, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rangers (1996)


Latest News
Sep. 26 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Benoit will miss the rest of the regular season after tearing his left calf muscle when he tripped and fell while running in from the bullpen during one of two benches-clearing incidents Monday against the Yankees. He expects to be out for at least two to three weeks, meaning he likely won't pitch again unless the Blue Jays make a deep playoff run.
Analysis: Benoit has pitched extremely well since Toronto acquired him from the Mariners on July 26, going 2-0 with a 0.38 ERA and one save in 25 appearances.
Sep. 12 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Benoit got back on track Monday retiring two batters in a 3-2 win over the Rays.
Analysis: Benoit allowed a run against Boston on Sunday after working 18 1/3 scoreless innings. He is 2-0 with a 0.48 ERA and a save in 20 appearances since joining the Blue Jays.
Sep. 5 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Benoit pitched a scoreless eighth inning Monday.
Analysis: He has thrown 16 1/3 shutout innings with 16 strikeouts since Toronto acquired him from Seattle on July 26.
Aug. 31 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Benoit has quietly been one of the best acquisitions of the season. He worked another scoreless inning Wednesday in a 5-3 win at Baltimore and has thrown 14 1/3 scoreless innings since joining Toronto.
Analysis: Benoit's success is a big surprise after he had a 5.18 ERA in 26 games for the Mariners.
July 27 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Seattle traded Benoit to Toronto on Tuesday in exchange for fellow reliever Drew Storen.
Analysis: Benoit, 39, had a 1-1 record with a 5.18 ERA in 26 appearances this season for the Mariners. He has pitched for 15 years in the major leagues and has a 55-43 record and a 3.87 ERA in 687 games.
Apr. 25 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Benoit has been activated from the 15-day disabled list.
Analysis: The 38-year-old reliever, sidelined since April 22 by inflammation in his right shoulder, got through a simulated game without any major setbacks Saturday. Benoit was 1-0 with two holds and a 3.60 ERA in five appearances prior to being shelved.

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.