MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
David Ortiz
AVG HR RBI
.250 25 77
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 81.72
Position: DHBorn: 11/18/1975 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (1992)


Latest News
July 28 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Ortiz provided all the offense with a three-run homer in Sunday's 3-2 win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Ortiz has five homers and 12 RBIs over the last seven games.
July 25 10:59 PM PT11:59 PM MT12:59 AM CT1:59 AM ET1:59 ET5:59 GMT13:59 10:59 PM MST12:59 AM EST1:29 AM VEN9:59 UAE12:59 AM CT-Ortiz is in the starting lineup, a day after leaving a game because of back spasms.
Analysis: Ortiz was set to bat third Friday night at Tampa Bay. David Price is scheduled to start for the Rays. The last time Price faced Boston, he hit Ortiz with a fastball in late May and that led to a verbal skirmish between the stars. Ortiz exited Thursday's game at Toronto during an at-bat in the ninth inning after hurting his back on a swing.
July 24 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Ortiz hit a three-run bomb Wednesday.
Analysis: Ortiz has 24 homers and 72 RBIs.
July 23 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Ortiz homered for the third time in two games in Tuesday's 7-3 loss at Toronto, and he also recorded his 20th double of the season.
Analysis: Big Papi has driven in 17 runs over his last 15 contests, slugging .625 with runners in scoring position in that span.
July 22 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Ortiz hit two towering home runs in Monday's 14-1 win at Toronto.
Analysis: They were the 452nd and 453rd of his career, moving Ortiz past Boston great Carl Yastrzemski into 36th place on the all-time list. It was the third multihomer game of the season for Ortiz and the 44th of his career.
July 12 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Ortiz drove in three runs in Friday's 8-3 win at Houston.
Analysis: Ortiz now has 15 RBIs in his last 14 games.
July 8 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Ortiz went 0 for 3 on Monday.
Analysis: Ortiz also went on a crazed rant about how the media is treating him so it's unclear where his focus really is. The Red Sox are in last place.
July 7 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Ortiz was 4 for 5 with his 15th double in Sunday's 7-6 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: Ortiz is 7 for 12 over his last three games with four RBIs.
June 30 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Ortiz hit his 450th homer to lead the Boston Red Sox over the New York Yankees 8-5 on Sunday night.
Analysis: Ortiz tossed his bat aside and took his time on a wide trot around the bases, saluting fans as he approached third base. The home run put him in sole possession of 37th place on the career list, two behind Adam Dunn and Red Sox Hall of Famer Carl Yastrzemski.
June 26 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Ortiz homered and drove in three runs Wednesday.
Analysis: He next faces the Yankees,who have done a good job in limiting Ortiz to a .227 average in the season series.
June 24 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Ortiz went 2 for 4 on Monday.
Analysis: Ortiz owns a solid .832 OPS for the BoSox.
May 30 11:07 PM PT12:07 AM MT1:07 AM CT2:07 AM ET2:07 ET6:07 GMT14:07 11:07 PM MST1:07 AM EST1:37 AM VEN10:07 UAE1:07 AM CT-Ortiz drew a walk as a pinch-hitter in the eighth inning of Thursday's 4-3 win over Atlanta after not starting due to a sore right calf.
Analysis: Fantasy owners shouldn't be concerned as manager John Farrell called the decision to not start him a precautionary one.
May 24 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Ortiz and first baseman Mike Napoli were not listed in Saturday's lineup because of injuries.
Analysis: Manager John Farrell said Ortiz has a calf injury.
May 24 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Designated hitter David Ortiz and first baseman Mike Napoli were not listed in Saturday's lineup because of injuries.
Analysis: Manager John Farrell said Ortiz has a calf injury.
May 15 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Ortiz connected on another two home runs in Wednesday's 9-4 win in Minnesota.
Analysis: Ortiz is 10 for 17 with five homers and seven RBIs in four games.
May 14 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Ortiz slugged two home runs in a 4-for-5, four-RBI game Tuesday that resulted in an 8-6 loss in Minnesota.
Analysis: Ortiz is batting .500 with three homers and six RBIs in his last six games.
May 11 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Ortiz made more enemies in Texas on Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz broke up Yu Darvish's no-hitter Friday and arrogantly lobbied for another hit in that game. This time, he went 2 for 4 with his seventh homer. The homer by Ortiz was his 380th with the Red Sox, breaking a tie with Dwight Evans for fourth on the career list.
Apr. 20 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Ortiz had a solo homer and two hits for the World Series champion Red Sox on Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz is 1 for 7 off Ubaldo Jimenez, who he faces Sunday. Maybe you should give 'Big Papi' the fantasy day off.
Apr. 13 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Ortiz's amazing streak continued with one hit Saturday.
Analysis: Ortiz has reached safely in 25 straight games against the Yankees, the longest active streak vs. New York.
Apr. 10 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Ortiz hit a three-run homer high over Fenway Park's right-field foul pole on Wednesday, helping the Boston Red Sox rally for a 4-2 victory over the Texas Rangers.
Analysis: Ortiz next faces the Yanks. He had a 1.096 OPS against them last season with a .371 average and 15 runs scored.
Apr. 4 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Ortiz was 3 for 5 and drove in a run Thursday against Baltimore.
Analysis: Ortiz has reached base seven times in 15 plate appearances thus far.
Mar. 24 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Ortiz wants to finish his career with the Boston Red Sox.
Analysis: The World Series MVP said at a news conference Monday that staying in Boston for such a lengthy period is "a huge accomplishment." Due $15 million this year, Ortiz agreed Sunday to a new deal that calls for a $16 million salary in 2015 and could be worth up to $48 million over three years.
Feb. 19 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Ortiz hopes to get a one-year contract extension "pretty soon" and Boston Red Sox owner John Henry would like to fulfill his designated hitter's desire to retire as a member of the team.
Analysis: Ortiz, 38, is in the final year of a $26 million, two-year contract as he enters his 12th season with the Red Sox. He began last spring training with a heel injury that hobbled him early in the season. But he finished with a .309 batting average, 30 homers and 103 RBIs. In the six-game World Series victory over the St. Louis Cardinals, he batted .688 and was the MVP.

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.