MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#53
Bobby Abreu
AVG HR RBI
.248 1 14
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 220
Position: RFBorn: 3/11/1974 Birthplace: Aragua, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Astros (1990)


Latest News
July 21 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Abreu started on Sunday to prepare him for the DH role in Seattle.
Analysis: Abreu will start at DH this week in Seattle.
June 14 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Abreu went 4 for 4 with a double and two RBIs in Friday's 6-2 win over San Diego.
Analysis: Abreu had been 2 for 14 without an extra-base hit over his previous seven games. It was his first four-hit game since May 30, 2011 at Kansas City.
Apr. 21 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-New York Mets have called up 40-year-old outfielder Bobby Abreu from the minors, hoping he can still provide a few big hits. The Mets promoted Abreu from Triple-A Las Vegas before Monday night's game against St. Louis and optioned outfielder Andrew Brown to the same minor league club. Abreu wasn't in the starting lineup against the Cardinals. With the callup to the majors, Abreu's salary increases from $108,000 to $800,000.
Analysis: Abreu has not been in the majors since 2012, when he played a combined 100 games for the Dodgers and Angels. He began spring training this year with Philadelphia, was released in late March and signed a few days later with the Mets. Abreu hit .395 with one homer and nine RBIs in 15 games at Las Vegas. He is a two-time All-Star and a Gold Glove winner. Mets manager Terry Collins says Abreu will mostly come off the bench but could get some starts in the outfield.
Feb. 21 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Abreu is getting a chance to prove himself as a non-roster player with the Philadelphia Phillies. He was out of the big leagues last season after hitting .242 in 100 games with the Los Angeles Dodgers and Angels in 2012.
Analysis: Abreu began his comeback this offseason by playing winter ball in his native Venezuela.

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.