College Football

Oregon QB Herbert wins Campbell Trophy, top scholar-athlete

(AP Photo/Amanda Loman)

NEW YORK (AP) Oregon quarterback Justin Herbert has won the William V. Campbell Trophy, which honors college football's top scholar-athlete.

Herbert was announced as the winner Tuesday night at the National Football Foundation's awards banquet and College Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony at a hotel in midtown Manhattan. The senior was one of 12 finalists from all levels of college football. Each finalist receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Herbert receives an additional $7,000 in scholarship money and the trophy named after former Columbia player and coach William V. Campbell.

Herbert is the first Oregon player to win the award since it started in 1990. He is a general science major with a grade-point average above 4.0 who hopes to attend medical school after his playing days. Herbert passed for 3,333 yards, 32 touchdowns and just five interceptions for the Pac-12 champion Ducks this season.

Last season's winner was Christian Wilkins of Clemson.

The other finalists were: Eastern Washington's Spencer Blackburn; Ohio State's Jordan Fuller; Minnesota State's Alex Goettl; Kansas State's Adam Holtorf; Carnegie Mellon's Michael Lohmeier; Virginia's Jordan Mack; Montana's Dante Olson; Cornell's Jelani Taylor; Stanford's Casey Toohill; and Western Michigan's Jon Wassink.


More AP college football: and

Updated December 10, 2019

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFROM is strictly prohibited.