College Football

FCS Awards banquet Friday night


STATS FCS Senior Editor

FRISCO, Texas (STATS) - The FCS stars are set to come out and shine.

The top individual awards in college football's Division I subdivision will be handed out Friday night during the STATS FCS Banquet and Presentation at the Embassy Suites Dallas-Frisco Hotel, Convention Center & Spa. Highlighting the night are the announcements of the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan awards for the 2018 national offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively.

The Payton Award, in its 32nd year and often called the Heisman of the FCS level, is down to senior quarterbacks Chandler Burks of Kennesaw State, Devlin Hodges of Samford and Easton Stick of North Dakota State.

Junior linebackers Zach Hall of Southeast Missouri and Dante Olson of Montana and senior defensive end Derick Roberson of Sam Houston State are up for the Buchanan Award, in its 24th year.

The winners of the three other awards were announced previously - UC Davis coach Dan Hawkins (STATS FCS Eddie Robinson Award for national coach of the year), Weber State running back Josh Davis (STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award for national freshman player of the year) and Stony Brook offensive lineman Chris Infantino (STATS FCS Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award).

Former Northwestern State and NFL linebacker Gary Reasons will serve as the master of ceremonies. Scheduled awards presenters are former NFL running back Jarrett Payton, the son of Walter Payton; two-time Buchanan Award winner and former NFL linebacker Dexter Coakley; Jada Rice, the daughter of Jerry Rice; Southwestern Athletic Conference commissioner Dr. Charles McClelland; and Grambling State assistant coach Quentin Burrell, great-grandson of Eddie and Doris Robinson.

A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the four longstanding FCS awards. The Doris Robinson Award, in its fourth year, is selected from nominations by the 13 FCS conferences.

Updated January 3, 2019

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.